We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Spot”
Review of Blue Peaks Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Blue Peaks Lodge
Ranked #33 of 57 Hotels in Queenstown
Reviewed June 30, 2012

Spent a weekend here in May and were very happy. Our unit was most spacious, spotlessly clean,warm, well furnished and comfortable bed.Location was perfect, as easy walk into town, plus just elevated enough to get a nice view.Friendly managers and staff.Will return!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carolyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (340)
There are newer reviews for Blue Peaks Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

267 - 273 of 340 reviews

Reviewed May 19, 2012

Stayed six nights here in room 206. Excellent accommodation and would stay here again. We would recommend the Blue Peaks. We spent this time with our son and daughter who are staying in Queenstown on gap years-location was ideal. We had very good weather whilst we were there so cannot comment on how it would be in the middle of winter.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alex S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2012

I stayed at Blue Peaks for several nights in early 2011 with a group of travelers. The accommodation was clean and very nice, and the view is fantastic. The hotel is in prime location for being away from crowds, but definitely within safe and easy walking distance of the gardens and downtown. Minutes from the gardens, and very close to the road, but very quiet. The 2-bedroom unit had more than enough room and a very useful kitchen. I cannot comment on the food or staff, as I had no contact with either, but I'm sure they were wonderful as well.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank KC042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2012

We recently spent two nights here and was most impressed with all aspects of the motel. Starting with the reception staff who were most helpful and friendly and extending to the room which was a single bedroom unit and very spacious. It contained everything that we required and the bathroom was also well appointed and clean. Location wise, it was easy to find and only a short walk to the town center. We travelled New Zealand for three weeks with another couple and all agreed that this was the best accommodation of the entire trip. We recommend it highly .

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AllanAdelaide3112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 29, 2012

I booked here for 6 nights and it was a great place to stay only 4 minutes walk to town.Great vies of the city.Staff were very friendly and helpful.The rooms were nicely set out.

Room Tip: I had a corner room and floor room
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Claire071972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2012

Peremptory treatment by a rude manager;
Negative answers from the staff to every request;
Consignment to a basement room facing an ugly carport;
Rooms reeking of liquid toilet bowl cleaner left in the scrubber container for your "convenience";
Barebones room improvements with last remodel's furniture and bed covers.

Yes, it's a short walk to the action in Queenstown but this in no way justifies the second rate accommodations or the attitude. Our two night stay at Blue Peaks was the absolute low point of our three week stay in New Zealand. Fortunately, the remainder of our lodgings were much, much better.

Room Tip: Insist on a room with a view--if you don't you'll wish you had. Better yet, book elsewhere.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank axisstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluepeaks, Front Office Manager at Blue Peaks Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2012

We are really sad that you feel you had a negative experience at Blue Peaks Lodge.
Our staff members are often noted on this site for their warmth and willingness to help our guests enjoy their stay.
We also pride ourselves on the cleanliness of our rooms and are currently completing refurbishments of the majority of our guest rooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2012

We booked two apartments for two nights 20/01/12. On arrival we found that the apartments were not near together but the smell in each one was sickening. It was difficult to determine what was causing the smell but it was so strong that we decided to move to another hotel. The apartments did not have a balcony and are not four star by any stretch of the imagination, resembling a prison block with each doorway located along walkways. We moved to a far superior four star hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lynneandrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluepeaks, Front Office Manager at Blue Peaks Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2012

We have reviewed our cleaning practices with regards to the issue raised in this review. The majority of our trip advisor reviews comment on the cleanliness of the guest rooms and we work hard to ensure high standards of housekeeping at Blue Peaks Lodge.

We understand that sometimes there is a confusion between our 2 properties: Blue Peaks Lodge & Blue Peaks Apartments, and that there can sometimes be a misunderstanding about what type of ‘unit’ or ‘apartment’ has been booked with an agent.

Should a room not be what was expected, we are always more than happy to offer our guests the option of upgrading to our sister property, Blue Peaks Apartments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.1 mi away
Heartland Hotel Queenstown
Heartland Hotel Queenstown
#37 of 57 in Queenstown
634 reviews
0.5 mi away
Whistler, The Chancellor - Queenstown
0.0 mi away
Four Seasons Motel
Four Seasons Motel
#43 of 57 in Queenstown
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#20 of 57 in Queenstown
3,169 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hurley's of Queenstown
Hurley's of Queenstown
#31 of 57 in Queenstown
416 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bella Vista Queenstown
Bella Vista Queenstown
#9 of 57 in Queenstown
549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Peaks Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Peaks Lodge

Address: 11 Sydney Street | Cnr Stanley & Sydney Streets, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#31 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range: $114 - $245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Blue Peaks Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bright, modern motel accommodation in 1 & 2 bedroom or studio units, most with kitchen facilities. All of our clean and comfortable guest rooms have ensuite bathroom, tea and coffee making facilities, Sky Digital TV and complimentary 500mb WiFi internet. Ideal family accommodation and one child under 5 years stays free. Two bedroom wheelchair accessible unit (sleeps up to 4). Blue Peaks has an on-site guest laundry and a friendly reception team available from 07:30 - 22:00 hours. We also offer free off-street parking, free DVD hire, luggage and cycle storage and daily room servicing. We can serve a continental breakfast to your room. Blue Peaks Lodge is conveniently located an easy 5 minutes walk from the centre of Queenstown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Blue Peaks Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Peaks Hotel Queenstown
Blue Peaks Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing