We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best B&B we stayed in! Great hosts, great property!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Twin Peaks Bed and Breakfast,

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Queenstown
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Twin Peaks Bed and Breakfast,
Ranked #11 of 47 Queenstown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Best B&B we stayed in! Great hosts, great property!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2012

We spent 5 nights with the most wonderful hosts, Derek and Margaret, who couldn't do enough to help us. Derek organised all our trips using his knowledge of local tour companies and the weather and they were all great. The property itself is stunning with uninterrupted views over the lake. It is a pleasant 40 minute stroll to the centre of Queenstown, there is a frequent bus service right outside the driveway, a $16NZ taxi ride and Derek also dropped us in town too.
Having relied heavily on Trip Advisor to book our accommodation from the Uk, which comprised a mixture of hotels, B&B's and motels, we so nearly didn't book this property as it was ranked 27 of 43 B&Bs, having found it in a hand picked B&B guide. However, all 9 reviews were excellent although if the review posted in December 2011 had not been posted, we would have assumed Derek and Margaret were no longer doing B&B as the previous review was in May 2011. It turns out that unlike so many of the properties we stayed in where we were actively encouraged to post reviews, Derek and Margaret were refreshingly unaware of its importance. When that changes this property will find itself as the #1 in Queenstown. Could not recommend Twin Peaks highly enough-great hosts in a great property!

Room Tip: We stayed in The Lakeview Room which had great views over the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank happydoingthisnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
65
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2011

Thank you to the warm and hospitable hosts Derek and Margaret for a wonderful experience. I greatly admired the modern yet warm-cream Mediterranean-style architecture and decor, open plan living area where guests can relax looking straight out over Lake Wakatipu and the mountains as if you could almost step out of the full length windows and dive into the Lake! The garden was also very enjoyable and relaxing with many flowers and a calming fountain.The bed was extremely comfortable with glorious linen and the bathroom was spacious and fully equipped with toiletries and a good water pressure large hot shower. I thoroughly enjoyed the breakfast Margaret made - perfect omelette and poached pears with cardamom and orange for the cereal for example and so many other touches too numerous to name here. I would certainly go back. Jackie Cooke (Wellington, NZ)

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2011

Tired and exhausted after two weeks of hard driving we finally arrived at Twin Peaks. This was to be the most expensive accommodation so far on the trip and we had booked three nights. We were a little nervous but hoped that we had made the right decision. The moment we entered the accommodation our concerns disappeared. Twin Peaks is an awesome home set in the most spectacular location. We were so well looked after by our hosts, we were given every assistance to make our short stay a truely memorable one. The standard of catering and presentation of food was fabulous (five star). The bedroom en suite so luxurious with the most incredible view of the Remarkables. Worth every dollar!!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nurse38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2011

Twin Peaks is the most beautiful architect designed home situated on the edge of Queenstown (within walking distance and on a frequent bus route) overlooking the Remarkables and the Lake. With walls for the best part made of glass the views throughout the day are simply stunning. The bedrooms are very comfortable, tastefully and beautifully appointed and Margaret's cake and cookies a welcome addition with tea or coffee after a day's sight seeing. Fresh flowers from their charming garden were in abundance throughout during our stay and breakfasts were superb for Margaret is an accomplished cook.
Margaret and Derek are the perfect hosts - helpful, friendly, warm, generous, informative and lots of fun. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would recommend Twin Peaks to friends and family who might visit Queenstown in the future. We only wish we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DiscerningNEEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2010

We have just returned from a month touring New Zealand, staying in hotels, luxury lodges, bed and breakfast and homestays. Twin Peaks stands out as the best of all and we would recommend it to everyone. As you climb the steps to the large wooden gate you have no idea what a wonderful home lies beyond. The house and garden have been designed to take full advantage of the fantastic setting high on the banks of the lake. It is a house that is full of light and the large picture windows give wonderful views in every direction without being overlooked. I could not stop taking photographs from every angle. Ask for the room with views of the lake if possible, although the other room has views of the beautiful garden and you can watch the stars through the rooflights at night. Derek and Margaret are wonderful hosts and fun to be with. We really enjoyed their warm welcome, chats, helpful advice and sense of humour. They invite guests to join them for drinks before dinner and Margaret provides wonderful nibbles. There was fresh fruit in the bedrooms and the breakfasts were delicious. We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CJ&SA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis MN
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2010

We spent three weeks in New Zealand staying mostly at B&Bs, and Twin Peaks ranks right at the top of our memories. The house was breathtaking, the owners were extraordinarily gracious and helpful, and the bedroom was superb. (We lay in bed looking at the stars through the two long skylights and at the Southern Cross over the lake through the floor-to-ceiling window.) Two nights were not nearly long enough to appreciate this fine B&B. These were the last two days of our vacation, and staying at Twin Peaks made it even harder to leave New Zealand. We highly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MNTwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2009

Twin Peaks homestay (Bed and Breakfast) is the absolute best accommodation in all the world!!! It is an exquisite home built on a rock overhanging Lake Wakatipu. It is gorgeous. The owners and hosts are Derek and Margaret Bulman. They are warm, wonderful people with a terrific sense of humor. Their home is stunning. Most walls are of glass, so there are astounding views in every direction. Lake views are on one side of the house, their lovely gardens on the other. The 2 guest bedrooms are luxurious, comfortable, and each has its own marble bathroom. Margaret bakes gourmet treats and places them in each room along with tea and coffee, fresh fruit, and fresh flowers every day. Laundry is done daily. The breakfasts are full and plentiful, with the whiff of fresh baked muffins each morning drifting into the bedrooms. They are helpful and will plan your activities and make reservations if you wish. Twin Peaks became our home away from home, but is even better than home for all the conversation, amenities and hospitality offered lovingly by the Bulmans. Check out their website: www.twinpeaks.co.nz . I could live in their home, with them, in Queenstown forever and be happy.

  • Stayed January 2009
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eyesee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.8 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
2.6 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
1.3 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#22 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,994 reviews
1.7 mi away
Pounamu Apartments
Pounamu Apartments
#14 of 57 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,332 reviews
3.3 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#26 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Twin Peaks Bed and Breakfast,? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Twin Peaks Bed and Breakfast,

Property: Twin Peaks Bed and Breakfast,
Address: 661 Frankton Road, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Queenstown
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An architecturally designed contemporary homestay bed and breakfast, two en-suite guestrooms, beautifully appointed for comfort and relaxation. Built on the waterfront of the Frankton arm of Lake Wakatipu. Twin Peaks provides unobstructed panoramic lake and mountain views. Twin Peaks bed and breakfast accommodation Queenstown New Zealand. Twin Peaks bedrooms open north facing onto a courtyard garden to capture the all-day sun. Both queen bedrooms are tastefully decorated, open on to the garden courtyard and offer views of surrounding mountains.Continental or cooked breakfast is served at Twin Peaks. Our dining room window is elevated over the lake and from its rocky ledge you have a bird's eye view of Lake Wakatipu and a 280 degree panorama of surrounding mountains.Close to the town centre and central to the local ski fields. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing