We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Whistler, The Chancellor - Queenstown
Ranked #28 of 57 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 8, 2009

nothing special, but nice, clean, comfortable and in walking distance to the town.
large appartment with balcony

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank austrokiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (283)
There are newer reviews for Whistler, The Chancellor - Queenstown
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

265 - 271 of 283 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2009

My wife and I stayed at the Whistler in July 07 and found both the apartment and Queenstown a fantastic place to be for the snow season so we booked again in 08.

Given we were in Queenstown for the Winter Festival we decided we didn't need anything to $$$$$ as we were going to spend most of our holiday either on the slopes or in town during the evening. Even when we had the odd day off from snowboarding we could easily spend a lazy morning/afternoon in the apartment without feeling too cramped. While the one bed apartment we stayed in isn't massive, it certainly isn't too small. In fact, with a heater switched on and a glass of wine, it felt really cosy.

The resident manager Garry is a top bloke, and makes you feel at home. All the equipment (washing machine, cooker, TV, etc) worked faultlessly and we found the apartment really quiet despite our balcony overlooking the main street out of town.

It's a perfect 2 minute walk into town or to the shuttle bus stop to take you to the mountains with parking spaces also available.

Queenstown is too beautiful to spend your holiday cooped up inside, so The Whistler apartments don't need to be overtly grand or spacious. They are great value for money and clean and I know we'll be staying there again on our next trip to NZ.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aussies30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2009

My family stayed at the Whistler apartments for 3 nights in April 2009. We had a 2 bedroom apartment for 5 people (2 adults and 3 children).

We found the apartment to be too small for the 5 of us. There was nowhere inside for 5 of us to sit and eat a meal together. The only table (with 4 chairs) was outside on the balcony and early in the morning and later at night it was far too cold to even contemplate sitting outside.

The bathroom was dirty when we arrived and the shower screen needed a good scrub. The dishwasher still had dirty dishes in it, I assume left by the previous occupants of the unit. The carpets were filthy and in desperate need of a steam clean. There was considerable noise from the road throughout the night and very early morning. We were also offput by management entering our apartment both in and out of our presence to empty the bin in the bathroom - we were only there for 3 nights and I am sure the bins could have waited till we checked out.

Though the proximity to town was excellent, I would not contemplate staying here again.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fireflye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2009

Whistler is a modern and clean motel near to the center of Queenstown. We stayed in an apartment on the upper floor which had a balcony from which there were pretty good views of the town and surrounding hills. The apartment is very well equipped with washing machine, dishwasher, microwave, DVD player, TV, hi-fi etc. The balcony gets the afternoon and evening sun, which we enjoyed, though it is right next to a main road which meant that it was a bit noisy at times. Although it was more expensive than some of the other motels we stayed in in New Zealand, it was not bad value for money given how well-equipped it was.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mactoki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2009

Really nice place, very close to town. Decor just getting a little tired and the washing machine was useless. It is on a busy road but our bedroom was at the back so it didn't bother us.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank c~~k~~Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2008

We stayed at the apartments in Queenstown over the December 2007 holiday. We were greeted by an enthusiastic staff member who was very helpful in getting us to our room and providing us information about activities in Queenstown. The apartments are modern and the kitchen and bedroom are spaced far apart so while someone is sleeping the other can cook or watch TV in peace. There was a washing machine in the unit and since we had been camping this was fantastic for us. They didn’t service the apartment but that wasn’t a worry for us. We usually camp or stay at youth hostels so we’re not real fussy when it comes to accommodation, so staying here was a real treat. We considered this place excellent value for money, especially when you can walk out of the apartment and make it to downtown or the store within minutes.

Stayed: December 2007
Thank JayBeeCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2007

We have stayed here before and enjoyed the Whislters accomodation and location so much that we came back for a second year for our skiing vacation.
You really can't beat the 2 minute walk into the heart of Queenstown and the value for these self contained apartments.
Management has also changed and are very friendly.
You wont be dissapointed with the room layout and size. You also have the added views from your balcony.
Easy walk to supermarkets and even though we hire a car to get us to the ski fields, we don't have to use it at night when going to restaurants, which is a big bonus as parking in Queenstown is not easy as it is always busy and there are limited time parking metres.
In fact we like this place so much we will be back for a third time in a few weeks.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Gillian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.8 mi away
Pounamu Apartments
Pounamu Apartments
#11 of 57 in Queenstown
1,407 reviews
0.4 mi away
Scenic Suites Queenstown
Scenic Suites Queenstown
#23 of 57 in Queenstown
892 reviews
0.4 mi away
Central Ridge Boutique Hotel
Central Ridge Boutique Hotel
#7 of 57 in Queenstown
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites Queenstown Remarkables Park
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#18 of 57 in Queenstown
1,466 reviews
1.0 mi away
Oaks Club Resort
Oaks Club Resort
#34 of 57 in Queenstown
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whistler, The Chancellor - Queenstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whistler, The Chancellor - Queenstown

Address: Corner Gorge Road | PO Box 221, Queenstown 9999, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#12 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#26 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range: $139 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Whistler, The Chancellor - Queenstown 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Whistler, The Chancellor - Queenstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whistler, The Chancellor - Queenstown Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing