We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice apartment, but a bit small”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Whistler, The Chancellor - Queenstown
Ranked #28 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice apartment, but a bit small”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

The living room in our 1 bedroom apartment was a bit small than others we've gotten in NZ. The couch was one of those fold-out-bed ones, which meant it was typically bent, giving the couch an ugly lump. The light also shone into the main bedroom from the hallway. A better blind would be good. The heaters also didn't heat the room well.

Having said that, the managers were excellent and very helpful. This more than made up for the inadequacies in the room.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank droyad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne T, Manager at Whistler, The Chancellor - Queenstown, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Droyad
Thanks for your review. Good to hear you found us excellent and very helpful. It is our aim to make guests feel they are being looked after and leave with a positive and enjoyable experience.

Just to clarify a couple of the matters you raise, it’s a shame you may not have realised that the apartment (and all our apartments) have in fact three heaters, a panel heater, an oil filled heater and a fan heater, plus under floor heating in the bathrooms, a heated towel rail and electric blankets on the beds. We normally get comments from guests that say they are very cozy and warm.

The light shining into your bedroom could have been easily remedied. As far as the couch is concerned none of them are in the condition you describe. It may have been that the sofa bed had not been folded back correctly if this was the case we are sorry it was uncomfortable. We work hard to find ways to improve our apartments but without knowing what apartment you stayed in, makes it very difficult for us to make improvements.

Thanks for bringing these matters to our attention, however we would have liked the opportunity to rectify your concerns (or any guests concerns) during the stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    72
    19
    5
    3
See reviews for
62
164
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
various
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

Yes it is on a steep bank with stairs, parking is underneath etc. The owner/ manager is a great guy and takes time to show you around. The apartments are very well specified and have a great view. We loved it so much we tried to change our plans and stay longer but were not able to. The motel is a short walk from town, clean and has every home comfort. Can't recommend this place enough.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank roderrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lansing, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

The Whistler is very close to downtown Queenstown, easily walkable, and close enough to walk to the gondola ride to Bob's Peak and its attractions. Parking is under the units but requires some dexterity because drives are very steep and awkard. Our unit was comfortable, with a complete kitchen, bathroom with shower only, comfortable bed, but access is up a steep stairs and would not work well for the handicapped. There is a coin laundry available. The hosts were very helpful and accommodating, offering suggestions about signtseeing, restaurants, other attractions, and very willing to call for reservations, information, etc. As with most places, there could be modest improvements, but we enjoyed our stay there and recommend it very highly.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Libtyfi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duntroon, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Totally enjoyed our stay at the Whistler. Our hosts were charming and went out of thier way to accommodate our needs. My husband is in a wheelchair so accomadation can be a problem.Will happily recommend to others and will return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pickles826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

We loved our 3 days at Whistler. We'd been on the road for a week when we arrived and having a washer dryer in the bathroom was great. The appartment was a decent size and nicely furnished. The only thing we'd have improved was that there was no tv in the bedroom, but that was more than compensated for by the rest of the apartment and particularly the lovely big balcony which looked out over the school playing field where the paragliders came in to land. We'd been to Queenstown before so we were able to ease back a bit on the sight seeing and having this appartment to relax in was marvellous.

The hosts were really helpfu and gave us advice on where we might like to visit during our stay and also where we might find accomodation when we moved on to the West Coast...and as predicted the Glaciers were short on space!

There are 2 supermarkets just a few minutes walk away and our tip is to turn right and head to the Fresh Choice which was good on prices. We stocked up with some wine and sat out on our lovely balcony to drink it in the evenings.

The centre of town and Lake Front is less than 10 minutes walk away, there was ample parking and this provided us with a great base while we were chilling in Queenstown.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonClaireW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brsibane,Australia
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

We stayed in a one bed apartment for a weekend in February and it was the perfect place for us. We had been hiking so we just wanted to chill out and relax. It was ideal for this with its great living area, comfortable couch, dvd and flatscreen tv. We could pick up dvds at reception so it was so convenient.
We enjoyed chatting to Wayne and meeting Jan. Honestly, they work hard, and they help you at with any bookings or info you may need to make your holiday run smoothly. Loved the complimentary toiletries and the filter coffee. The full kitchen was really handy as well as the washing machine. All in all, we loved the place, it was convenient, a few minutes walking distance to town centre and to the supermarket, all on the flat so it was easy to get around on foot. The view from the balcony was of the gondola/luge mountain which was very pleasant and pretty.
Gorge Rd is quite busy, but we had a unit facing the side street and one does not notice traffic noise on the side. At night it is quiet here. If we went back to Queenstown we would stay here again as it was so convenient.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the side if you are concerned about traffic noise. Unit 10, 11, are on the gro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seeknfind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZ
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Stayed in a one-bedroom apartment facing Gorge Road for a couple of nights in December 2012. The host Wayne is very friendly and provided useful information to us about Queenstown. Apartment is clean and tidy. Washing machine and clothes rack are provided, convenient for longer term stay. It was fun to watch from the balcony when the paragliders are coming down from the mountain during the day. Traffic can be quite busy (and noisy) on Gorge Road but once it dies down in the evening, the balcony is a great place to enjoy a bit of outdoor dining and soak in the evening atmosphere. One complaint about the bedroom is that the mattress is a bit too soft for my liking.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VinterBug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.4 mi away
Scenic Suites Queenstown
Scenic Suites Queenstown
#24 of 58 in Queenstown
881 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pounamu Apartments
Pounamu Apartments
#11 of 58 in Queenstown
1,387 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hurley's of Queenstown
Hurley's of Queenstown
#32 of 58 in Queenstown
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Central Ridge Boutique Hotel
Central Ridge Boutique Hotel
#7 of 58 in Queenstown
430 reviews
0.4 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#21 of 58 in Queenstown
3,122 reviews
0.7 mi away
Copthorne Hotel & Apartments Queenstown Lakeview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whistler, The Chancellor - Queenstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whistler, The Chancellor - Queenstown

Property: Whistler, The Chancellor - Queenstown
Address: Corner Gorge Road | PO Box 221, Queenstown 9999, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#12 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#26 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Whistler, The Chancellor - Queenstown 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Whistler, The Chancellor - Queenstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whistler, The Chancellor - Queenstown Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing