We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Good Choice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Whistler Holiday Apartments
Ranked #28 of 59 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 3, 2012

We stayed in a one bedroom apartment for three nights at the end of March. It was clean, comfortable and pleasant.Nice outlook of the mountain and the gondola. The owners are very friendly and helpful. Busy road during the day but very quiet at night. Extremely reasonable rates. Easy flat walk to town.

Room Tip: Choose an upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Movaround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (297)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

247 - 253 of 297 reviews

Reviewed March 1, 2012

The new managers (about 18 months) Wayne and Jan are true gems! And they themselves make sure the rooms are spot on. Easy walking distance over the sport greens to town, there is no parking in town so that is excellent to leave the car here. Nothing is far from there. Road in front is very busy (a main thoroughfare), but not at night, so no problems for sleeping. Apartments are fresh, clean, well maintained, fully equipped (dishwasher, microwave, overn, fridge freezer - yes, Wayne is gradually changing those fridge doors to open more easily), not the best views but still great views (best views elsewhere cost a lot more and are often lower standard rooms for the $s). I sure will be back again, and again, and again.

Room Tip: I dont think they have any rooms "less good" - was well designed that all rooms have reaso...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in early Feb 2012. I had room 18 which was on the top floor and faced the town and gondola. The unit was well equiped with a kitchen, large bathroom and was extremely clean. It had a large balcony with outdoor setting and great views. The road directly out front is very busy but I did not find it a problem, it was quiet at night and the bedroom was at the rear of the unit. It was about a 5 minute walk to both Queenstown Central and the gondola, there was a supermarket very close to buy all the essentials. The management were very friendly and helpful. It's not a 5 star resort with pools, spas and 24 hour reception. It is simply an apartment complex with management reception open from 7am to 7pm. I enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AussieGlennB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2012

We have had seven nights at the Whistler in Gorge Road Queenstown. I am so pleased we chose to stay there. Several five star reviews on Tripadvisor helped with our decision. We had room 17. It is beautifully decorated, with a couch and chair, stool, big screen TV and a lovely, well appointed kitchen with full size fridge. Two sliding doors lead to a mid size balcony with stunning views over the Queenstown gondola where we watch numerous tandem paragliders float down from the top of the mountain and land just across the road from the apartment. Stunning! There were peeps of the lake and of course the mountains. Beautiful tiled bathroom, spacious, shower, WC and basin with ledges/ vanity unit as well as a washer/dryer. A separate cupboard in the hall stores the iron and ironing board. I found that on the last day - pity - :0).
The Queen bed is comfortable and cosy - good pillows - there is also a single bed in the room. The couch in the lounge is also a pull out double bed if required. Good sized double wardrobe in bedroom with extra duvet and pillows if needed.

Ideally situated if you want to walk into Queenstown - only 3 - 5 mintues walk max. There is a great supermarket just a few minutes walk away too.

Best of all is the great service. This couple are fantastic. They couldn't be more helpful. My son joined us and had his bike on the roof of his 4 wheel drive. They noticed, phoned us and suggested they would lock it up for him. How's that for being mindful of the guests at a time when they were full and very busy. I like to give credit where credit is due - and I have to say if you are looking for a well priced, immaculately clean, well appointed place to stay - within a very short walking distance of Queenstown - then you would find it hard to beat Whistler.
Susan

Room Tip: Room 17 is excellent. There is a little traffic noise during the day - just as we would expect being...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suhatu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

Lovely people and close to town but there is quite a bit of traffic noise. The rooms are a good size but quite worn and some of the appliances need replacing.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vanBs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2012

WE stayed here over new year and were extremly dissapointed, There are new owners, who make you pay in full for your stay upfront along with giving your credit card details also. The argued forever with us when we said we had to cancell one night because we had a family emergency and the made us pay so we lost alot of money and left very unhappy. The rooms no longer have the washer and dryers only old washing machines, the couches are extremly uncomfortable , and they do not top up your tea and coffee during your stay anymore. They have also put up their prices by ALOT. Bring back the old owners!!! Will never stay here again very dissapointing as it was always pur go to place. The new owners need to take spme lessons in customer service and manners! dont stay here!!!!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Amy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne T, Manager at Whistler Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2012

We are very disappointed to read this review as it is standard accommodation business practice to request credit card information and payment on arrival. Threatening us with legal action for doing this was inappropriate and embarrassing for us and the other guests who were waiting in Reception at the time to check in.
Our policy over New Years Eve is a three night minimum stay requirement which the guests were well aware of when they booked the apartment. They were reminded again of this requirement when they phoned and tried to cancel one of those nights about a month before their arrival date. Knowing this they stated at check in that they would not be staying three nights they would only be staying and paying for two. We advised them again that this did not comply with our cancellation policy or minimum stay requirements for this time of year. There was no mention of any family emergency. We also believe no money was lost as the guests did in fact end up staying for the whole three nights.
The replacement washing machine in the Apartment is a brand new top loader, it is not an old machine. The washing machine/dryer that was previously in the apartment was approximately 10 years old. Most of the apartments still have the combination machine and we also have a commercial dryer on site.
We try to keep our prices at a competitive rate. Our rates have only increased at this time of the year by 3%. The guests were well aware of rates and agreed to them at the time they made their booking.
Had the guests requested extra tea and coffee we would have been more than happy to provide them with it. The reviewer failed to mention that we went out of our way to clean their apartment for their early arrival.
It is also very hurtful and upsetting to read comments on our customer service and manners. As you will see from all our other reviews, this has never been in question.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2012

A 'close-to-all-the-important-stuff' location and well appointed, comfortable rooms make The Chancellor great value for money.

The rooms were modern and impeccably clean. The staff were absolutely brilliant. Happy and helpful, they left my Australian girlfriend convinced that New Zealanders really are the friendliest people in the world. Go see for yourself.

Room Tip: Pick a roadside room for a view of the gondola. The road really isn't very busy and the bedroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Well_thumbed_map
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.8 mi away
Swiss-Belsuites Pounamu Queenstown
0.4 mi away
Central Ridge Boutique Hotel
Central Ridge Boutique Hotel
#5 of 59 in Queenstown
486 reviews
0.4 mi away
Scenic Suites Queenstown
Scenic Suites Queenstown
#26 of 59 in Queenstown
929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites Queenstown Remarkables Park
1.8 mi away
Sherwood Queenstown
Sherwood Queenstown
#40 of 59 in Queenstown
320 reviews
1.4 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#24 of 59 in Queenstown
1,503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whistler Holiday Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whistler Holiday Apartments

Address: 15-17 Gorge Road, Queenstown 9348, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#12 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#26 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range: $162 - $226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Whistler Holiday Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Whistler Holiday Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whistler, The Chancellor - Queenstown Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing