We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better places may be available for same price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bella Vista Queenstown
Ranked #9 of 57 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 2, 2013

I stayed at 3 Bella Vista motels during my tour of NZ - Queensland, Oamaru and Hokitika. Maybe because their rates are low, the quality matches with it. Beds were not comfortable, no room to move around beds, flush not working at one place. Internet is available but not as good as advertised. It is limited by time as well as data - for example one hr or 80 MB whichever comes first. Perhaps better places may be available in the same towns for the same rate.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gokhalem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (549)
There are newer reviews for Bella Vista Queenstown
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

418 - 424 of 549 reviews

Reviewed April 25, 2013

This motel is located within close walking distance to the city centre. Rooms are clean and spacious and cater for all basic needs comfortably. We did report an issue of unsatisfactory cleaning of the rooms on the one day and it was handled very professionaly and rectified adequately.

I would recommed this motel to fellow travellers for a comfortable stay and good location.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AJIR_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Very disappointing place. Small rooms, old smelly carpets, dishonest owner

As we travel to Queenstown every few weeks, I thought it was a great time to try something new, so I looked up the Bella Vista Queenstown website. After that I called the place to book, and asked the owner for the $95.00 Compact studio room. All went well as I booked for the two nights. THEN, once we get there, we are told we have been "upgraded", but the room rate is also higher...$125.00 (which is the price for a room the next level up in price). Asking the owner why the room rate is now NZ$125, instead of NZ$ 95, he replied by saying that the rate for online bookings are cheaper than when booking with them over the phone....WHAT?

If this was the case, it would have been stated on the website. But what made me realize that he was full of it was that I specifically spoke of the room over the phone as the "$95 room", so why could he not advise me that the room price would be different.

I realized that he was getting really angry with us because we would not pay the extra money, so I looked at him and said "If the price for booking online is different from booking over the phone, don't you think it should be stated on the website?" Only to get the thick-faced reply of "I don't understand what you are talking about." Well, at this time I knew that he was not listening to anything I was saying, and he really thought that he would get an extra $60.00 out of us, but failed.

My advise, stay at Creeksyde Holiday Top 10 down the road. Great location, great staff team, large rooms, and so many options.

Queenstown is an amazing place, with more accommodation establishments than you can imagine, so choose well when you want to stay. You don't have to put up with rudeness and dishonesty.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Lithal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Great location and motorcycle friendly, Good safe parking. Very close to town, can walk to everything. Rooms very nice, this is possibly an older Bella Vista, but very comfortable and reasonably priced for Queenstown where alot of places are overpriced. Lovely couple who own the complex, very friendly and helpful. Enjoyed our stay wouldve stayed another night if we had the time.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank QueenslandMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

A short walk to town was a big plus. Close to all Queenstown main attractions.
The single room was a little cramped for 3 people, but missed the double room when booking.
Reception most helpful, and facility clean with comfortable beds.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed here for three nights during a recent stay and could not have been happier. Queenstown in a place where lodging goes from expensive to ridiculous fast so we were happy to find this gem. It was a nice quiet location but a very short walk into the center of town, right next to where the para-gliders land and near the base base of the gondola. We didn't have a car while we were there but there was also plenty of parking.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Kate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Very helpful, cheerful reception. The motel is convenient to the town centre, a short level walk in to the Te Anau coach pick up point.
There was a ski rack beside the door. No large garden or pool but it's a motel, not a resort, and the rooms are quiet. A laundry room is available with washer and separate dryer.
The room was quite small but the bed was comfortable. Nice bathroom, kitchenette with microwave/toaster/kettle, no hob. Everything was very clean.
Internet was available via a $5 voucher.
I would stay there again as it is pleasant and well run, and near everything in town.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank riverwater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.5 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#20 of 57 in Queenstown
3,169 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pounamu Apartments
Pounamu Apartments
#11 of 57 in Queenstown
1,407 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#27 of 57 in Queenstown
1,427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#18 of 57 in Queenstown
1,468 reviews
4.2 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites Queenstown Remarkables Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bella Vista Queenstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Vista Queenstown

Address: 36 Robins Road, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Queenstown
#8 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
#22 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range: $110 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bella Vista Queenstown 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LOCATION, LOCATION, LOCATION - Bella Vista Queenstown is the perfect place to stay, being only a short, flat 5 min walk to central Q'twn. If you are looking for clean, comfortable & affordable accommodation in a central quiet location, then look no further! Bella Vista is a 4 star Qualmark rated complex, with a variety of room/studio options to suit both couples, families, corporate & group travelers. Situated right next to the playing fields, looking up to the Gondola, surrounded by gorgeous alpine scenery. Shops, Supermarkets and a variety of Restaurants, cafe's & bars are all within walking distance. Enjoy complimentary Wifi on check in, plenty of on site parking. So close to all the activities Qtwn has to offer! Our warm friendly & informative service will make your stay both enjoyable and memorable. Relax & watch the tandem paragliders land in the field next door to the complex after a days skiing or sightseeing! We look forward to hosting you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Bella Vista Queenstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bella Vista Queenstown Hotel Queenstown
Bella Vista Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing