We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, nice room, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bella Vista Queenstown
Ranked #10 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 18, 2012

We stayed here for one night. Room was comfortable and clean, nice and great location close to the town, gondola, and grocery store. Reception desk was very nice and helpful. Easy parking. Our room was a little on the older side, but still very functional and clean. Nice start to our vacation.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GostateFlushing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (568)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

487 - 493 of 568 reviews

Reviewed April 15, 2012

Stayed 2 non-connecting nights in April 2012. The front desk service was excellent and allowed us to check-in early. Because of this, we may have gotten a motel room instead of a hotel room on the first night. Noticed that 2nd night the hotel room was significantly nicer and newer than motel room.

Both rooms were very clean and not overly big. It is a fair price for location (approximately 10-15 minutes to waterfront but definitely in a great spot for those that want to buy groceries, 3 grocery stores within 5 minutes walk). It was quiet and easy to fall asleep. Great views of paragliders and the gondola from just outside the Bella Vista.

Some interesting things about Queenstown: Taxi from airport was definitely more expensive than the airport shuttle service but the taxi driver was probably the friendliest and nicest I have ever encountered; FergBurger is a must stop place to eat and worth the line-up wait; Le Alpes restuarant on Church St was lovely (enjoyed a wonderful brunch there).

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank OttawaCanadianMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2012

We recently stayed in a superior studio. Room was very clean and spacious. Management was extremely helpful with local knowledge. great location - short walk to town and very quiet after dark. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank grantTaree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2012

The motel is handy to all the attractions of Queenstown. Trudi and Lincoln are fabulous hosts, and we just loved our stay. Again, the motel was suitable for our needs(disabled access room), and the paragliders landing in the school yard next door, was a sight to behold. Loved it!

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roryhamish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2012

Nestling near the foot of the mountain, only a 3-minute walk from the gondola station is this clean and tidy motel. The staff were extremely helpful and welcoming, even allowing us to park our car there the next day until we left for the airport.
The only issue we had was the relatively small size of the room, however for a one-night stay this was not an issue.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2012

We took a few weeks to road trip across the South and North Islands and appreciate a clean and simple room with the basic amenities for travelers. The Bella Vista is a chain you find across NZ--we only stayed in this one, but we'd recommend it for a good value in a town that can be pricey. An extra endorsement for Trudy and her husband, who run the motel. They were friendly and helpful--especially when I discovered after check out (and already at Milford Sound, 280km away!) that I had left my wedding ring in the room! We called, and Trudy assured me that she had it and had been trying to track us down to return it. She mailed it ahead to our next lodging, and I am forever grateful. In addition to great service, the BVM is located just out the bustle of downtown: a great starting place to run up Q-town hill (or, for something flatter, through town and around the lake).

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pangaean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for one night in April 2011. We really liked the location and thought it was within easy walking distance of downtown and many restaurants and activities. The staff was also really friendly and helpful. The shower in our room was excellent - much appreciated after all our hours of traveling!

Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
2  Thank adrianamh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.8 mi away
Swiss-Belsuites Pounamu Queenstown
0.5 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#19 of 58 in Queenstown
3,221 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#27 of 58 in Queenstown
1,457 reviews
0.1 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#17 of 58 in Queenstown
1,495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bella Vista Queenstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Vista Queenstown

Address: 36 Robins Road, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Queenstown
#9 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
#22 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range: $111 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bella Vista Queenstown 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LOCATION, LOCATION, LOCATION - Bella Vista Queenstown is the perfect place to stay, being only a short, flat 5 min walk to central Q'twn. If you are looking for clean, comfortable & affordable accommodation in a central quiet location, then look no further! Bella Vista is a 4 star Qualmark rated complex, with a variety of room/studio options to suit both couples, families, corporate & group travelers. Situated right next to the playing fields, looking up to the Gondola, surrounded by gorgeous alpine scenery. Shops, Supermarkets and a variety of Restaurants, cafe's & bars are all within walking distance. Enjoy complimentary Wifi on check in, plenty of on site parking. So close to all the activities Qtwn has to offer! Our warm friendly & informative service will make your stay both enjoyable and memorable. Relax & watch the tandem paragliders land in the field next door to the complex after a days skiing or sightseeing! We look forward to hosting you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bella Vista Queenstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bella Vista Queenstown Hotel Queenstown
Bella Vista Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing