We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really disappointed, dirty bathroom/kitchen, a lousy nights sleep”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Southern Laughter Backpackers
Reviewed August 31, 2010

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 2 nights while on a tour and were disappointed with this hostel. Although a good price for a double in Queenstown (Queenstown is one of the most expensive places in New Zealand), the hostel was not good value for money. The communal areas were dirty and unwelcoming. Our room was in a building separate to the main hostel and the toilet and kitchen in this area were both dirty with very sticky floors.

As our room was directly below the kitchen/ lounge area we could here everything that was going on - which was not fun when it was still really noisy at 4.30 in the morning when we had to get up at 6am for a tour to Milford Sound.

The staff were ok although not overly friendly.

One positive was the location - only 5 mins (if that) to the bars/restaurants and the legendary FergBurger. Also got drink deals at certain bars because of staying at the hostel.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nurmel57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (269)
There are newer reviews for Southern Laughter Backpackers
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

234 - 240 of 269 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2010

The hostel is in a great location - only 5 minutes walk to the city which is very convenient.
The staff are friendly and provided a good service.
The dorm i was in was a bit cramped and only had 1 small heater for the whole room which wasnt enough! The bathrooms were ok but didnt get cleaned that often unfortunately. The kitchen was nice enough but also got very busy as it was quite small. The TV room had nice sofa's and a big heater which made it comfortable to lounge in!
Overall it is a nice hostel and i would recommend it when staying in queenstown.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimmerg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2010

Location is good and the room was clean, the kitchen is poor, not many implements and everyone elaves their dirty plates around. I got bitten by fleas the 2 nights i was there and management didnt seem too fussed.....

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sallyedinburgh_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2010

Nice friendly staff in good location. Room was nice, but kitchen is poor.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cjd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2009

This is a great hostel, especially if you are travelling around on your own, as it is so easy to meet people here! The common rooms are spacious, with a kitchen, dining room and lounge all in one room (there contains two separate common rooms in the hostel).
The dorm rooms are roomy, i stopped in the 6 bed dorm and for the price is was perfect!
The hostel has a free spa pool and free vegetable soup every evening.

As for the location, it is just outside the town, up the hill from the i-site. It takes you 5 minutes to walk into the centre, where they are plenty of bars and shops.

The hostel itself can book any activities that you want to do in Queenstown, from the Shootover Jet to Skydives! Queenstown is highly recommended for adults that still think they are kids!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EnglandErnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2009

Nice backpackers with a very nice whirpool in a terrible town in the most beautiful part of New Zealand. Go check Deer Park Heights (or what was the name :).

Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
Thank Faire_Tinkwil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2008

My boyfriend and I stayed here in the double ensuite room. It was clean, though it was underneath the building and the outlook was just at another building. It was hence quite dark and didn't have any windows with a nice outlook or anything, but I guess that's what you get for the price you pay.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank smp333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.2 mi away
Absoloot Value Accommodation
Absoloot Value Accommodation
#7 of 93 in Queenstown
368 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tahuna Pod Hostel
Tahuna Pod Hostel
#3 of 93 in Queenstown
367 reviews
0.3 mi away
Flaming Kiwi Backpackers
Flaming Kiwi Backpackers
#6 of 93 in Queenstown
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
YHA Queenstown Central
YHA Queenstown Central
#19 of 93 in Queenstown
211 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nomads Queenstown Backpackers
0.6 mi away
YHA Queenstown Lakefront
YHA Queenstown Lakefront
#14 of 93 in Queenstown
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Laughter Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Laughter Backpackers

Address: 4 Isle Street, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 93 Specialty Lodging in Queenstown
Price Range: $20 - $57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Southern Laughter Backpackers 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A friendly toasty warm – backpackers located in central Queenstown within quiet surroundings. We have plenty of off street parking and just a 2 minute walk to bars, supermarkets and shops.Our rooms are configurations of cozy 3, 4, 6 or 8 beds as well as 5, 6 and 8 person self contained units with kitchens. We also provide comfortable private double and twin rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Southern Laughter Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Laughter Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing