We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleased with visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Southern Laughter Backpackers
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Very pleased with visit”
Reviewed December 4, 2013

This was my first visit to NZ and I stayed in a few hostels, Southern Laughter was my favorite by far. The staff were incredibly friendly, the friendliest I encountered my whole trip and were very willing to help with anything that came up. I stayed in a private double room and found it to be very good quality for the price. Free meal at night and plenty of room to cook for yourself if you choose. I would stay there again in a heartbeat as well as recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mackenzie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris P, Front Office Manager at Southern Laughter Backpackers, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Thank you Mackenzie for your review, I pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stayed and that room 4 was to your liking. Comments about our staff are always greatly appreciated. We hope you enjoy the rest of your trip across Aotearoa and hope to welcome you back to Southern Laughter at a later date.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    77
    56
    32
    13
See reviews for
5
89
64
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013

I’ve stayed in a number of different hostels in NZ I can honestly say this is up there with the best. Great location, very clean and friendly! Rooms are reasonable size with lots of natural light. General layout of the place is awesome. Lots of balconies with nice views and hammocks were a nice touch. Hot tub – can’t complain. Everyone’s very open and friendly. The stand out feature would be the staff. I injured myself during my time there and they were more than accommodating throughout my stay. Very impressed by Chris’ on-going mission to improve every aspect of the hostel no matter no small. Would recommend to anyone coming into QT especially those looking to stay long term. Can’t wait to get back!! Much love to the Southern Laughter team!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EJCOLE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris P, Front Office Manager at Southern Laughter Backpackers, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Thank you EJCOLE for your review. Its always a please to hear that our staffs hard work is appreciated, we are always striving to improve the hostel and make it the best it can be for our guests. We hope you enjoy your time in NZ and that your hand heals quickly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Really enjoyed our stay at Southern Laughter Lodge. Friendly and helpful staff, clean facilities, a 1minute walk from the main strip of bars (which means its nice and quiet at night to sleep) and best of all... THE HOT TUB! :)

Excellent value for money too.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KalieK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris P, Front Office Manager at Southern Laughter Backpackers, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Thank you Kalie for your review of Southern Laughter. We are always trying harder and harder to improve the hostel and are pleased that you had a pleasant stay with us, we hope that you enjoy the the rest of your travels across Aotearoa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanaka, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

We spend in Southern Laughter three days and enjoyed the stay very much. It is very close to the town as well as gondola, it is clean, with very good facilities and nice view from the ktichens. We really appreciated the free veggie soup every evening!!!!!!! We haven't used the hot tub, but it is nice alternative to have if you are keen.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Petra N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris P, Front Office Manager at Southern Laughter Backpackers, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you for your review of Southern Laughter, I am pleased that you had a pleasant stay. We look forward to welcoming you back next time you visit Queenstown.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Stayed here for 9 nights in September - what a great place! We stayed in a double room which was quite big and had a tv and dvd player. Location is fantastic and the staff were so helpful, giving us advise on things to do and helping us with DVD selections! The hostel offers free soup every evening which when you are a backpacker makes all the difference - thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerry870
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris P, Front Office Manager at Southern Laughter Backpackers, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you for your review, I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at Southern Laughter, and the room was to your liking. We look forward to welcoming you back again on your next visit to Queenstown.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Kia ora wonderful, ataahua Lady Wiki and darling Knight Cedric. Thank you so much for our stay. So uplifting and life changing - the world really does await.

Our stay at Southern Laughter was awesome - the very name rocks for one thing - and the jokes on the exterior walls are fun, fun, fun. The room was wonderfully appointed, clean and met all our needs with couch, dining table, fridge, TV, sink and dishes / cutlery - I liked how the linen was changed daily and the room / bthroom cleaned daily. I liked the little touch of the clock on the range hood because I don't have a watch. The shower had great water pressure. The bed was comfy and I was exactly warm enough.

Wonderful time with you and whanau in beautiful Queenstown xxxxx

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rangi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher P, Front Office Manager at Southern Laughter Backpackers, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Southern Laughter. I was pleased to hear that you had such a pleasant stay at our hostel, and am glad that you found the facilities and our "quirkiness" to your liking. We look forward to having your stay with us again next time you are in Queenstown.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Dearest Ceddy and Wiki

We came, we saw, we conquered, we had THE MOST awesome time, great company, great food, great things to do, ie jetboat, cruise on the beautiful lake wakatipu...man you guys simply ROCK! Your beautiful whanau not only gorgeous on the outside but he tino ataahua on the inside.....ok I am planning now to bring hubby down for a dirty weekend seeing as this was a girls weekend, and then I intend on bringing the rest of the whanau down, baby will be walking by then and needs to so we can shop, and do all the things that I did not get time to do down there, ie, gondola ride, skiing, snowboard, bungi and the list goes on - of course I will need a week for that. Your accommodation is simply the best and what a price. LOVED it selfcontained unit was just awesome, warm and cosy, bed so comfortable if I could pack it up and bring it home I would have...shower was so strong in its pressure, I need to speak to hubby about our pressure at home hmmm...your staff were so friendly and spotless and on to it cleaning the shower and changing linen, towels etc left outside the next morning clean linen - man talk about 5star service actually I have stayed at a 5star motel and you guys provided better service (honestly just fantastic with you). I WILL BE BACK .....thank sir ceddy and thank you to your beautiful whanau, man can they sing....they should on XFactor or NZ's got Talent.....THANKS AGAIN MAURI ORA!!!! Jan, Rangi and Mereana
>

Room Tip: our room was perfect...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthernLaughter, Front Office Manager at Southern Laughter Backpackers, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Thank you for your review, I am pleased to hear that you had such a wonderful stay at Southern Laughter and that you were able to experience the best of what Queenstown has to offer. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to Southern Laughter next time you are in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.2 mi away
Absoloot Value Accommodation
Absoloot Value Accommodation
#6 of 90 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tahuna Pod Hostel
Tahuna Pod Hostel
#3 of 90 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nomads Queenstown Backpackers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Haka Lodge Queenstown
Haka Lodge Queenstown
#4 of 90 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sir Cedrics Bungi Backpackers
Sir Cedrics Bungi Backpackers
#37 of 90 in Queenstown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
0.1 mi away
Base Queenstown
Base Queenstown
#81 of 90 in Queenstown
3.0 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Laughter Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Laughter Backpackers

Property: Southern Laughter Backpackers
Address: 4 Isle Street, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 90 Specialty Lodging in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Southern Laughter Backpackers 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A friendly toasty warm – backpackers located in central Queenstown within quiet surroundings. We have plenty of off street parking and just a 2 minute walk to bars, supermarkets and shops.Our rooms are configurations of cozy 3, 4, 6 or 8 beds as well as 5, 6 and 8 person self contained units with kitchens. We also provide comfortable private double and twin rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Southern Laughter Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Laughter Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing