We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, nice staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Southern Laughter Backpackers
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good location, nice staff”
Reviewed December 4, 2012

The staff are really helpful and nice, and the location is pretty good - although in Queenstown, it feels like anywhere is going to be decent since it's such a tiny city center!

The kitchen is large, the rooms are just ok. Bathrooms are pretty tiny.

I did give it only three stars though, due to circumstances beyond the Lodge's control - there are very noisy neighbors who blast hideous reggae-remix crap music at incredible volumes all through the night - from about 11pm to 9am. If you're not going to be in the hostel during then that may not matter, and maybe they've moved since I stayed, but - not a wink of sleep when it was going on. Really bad. But, Queenstown itself is lovely!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jessielinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    79
    59
    33
    13
See reviews for
5
92
65
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Me and my boyfriend moved to Queenstown in May 2012 and stayed here for 2 weeks before we found a house.

The hostel is clean and funky and the cleaner staff (who work for accomodation) are very friendly. It is quite a social hostel and can be quite noisy at times.

We had a great time here but we were looking for social interaction, i dont think it would be the place to go if you wanted a good nights sleep.

Room Tip: We stayed in a double which was nice, had a blacony with a wonderful view and a TV so my boyfriend w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarah c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

My partner was unhappy that we had to pay $10 for 24 hours of internet when it said free wireless available. Anyway, we stayed in the double room with shared bathrooms. The room had a shared balcony overlooking the mountains. It had an amazing view. It is located just 5 minutes walk from the town centre and I liked that it is in the quieter area of town.

Friendly and helpful receptionists and very clean toilets. They have free vege soup too, which I have never had the chance to try. Overall, I would recommend this place to others if you are not fussy about having to pay for internet.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alexacsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

Really nice place. Very clean rooms and showers. Towels included, at least in a private. Awesome view of the mountains.
We stayed here in September, so it was still fairly cold out, but the room was the warmest room we had on all of south island <3
Hot veggie soup gets a thumbs up aswell! Oh, and take a hot relaxing bath in the free spa pool!
Jimbo at reception so nice and friendly!
I Would recommend this place easily to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012

I have stayed here for the last four times I have been to Queenstown. It is a quirky backpackers adorned with Farside cartoons. Very close to town but away from all crowds. Clean, tidy and well run with very good prices. Mattresses could be better. Staff are allways supportive when you need to store gear when you are tramping.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mattymeboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Helpful staff and easy check in, very close to town. We stayed in a private double room and could come and go as we pleased. The kitchen was clean and so was the lounge and dining areas. Would stay again as it is well priced and comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BandC161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012

They are in an excellent location, just round the corner from the NZSki Snow Centre, opposite the fire station (which is in the middle of town). They had a hot Spa and Free Hot Soup which was awesome. The digital Sky TV and Wifi was also really good. We found the office staff really friendly, and they offered advice about the skifields and directions. Unfortunately, the hostel itself is average, which in a resort town like queenstown, could perhaps leave some people disappointed. But we weren't disappointed, and were happy with our stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.2 mi away
Absoloot Value Accommodation
Absoloot Value Accommodation
#6 of 92 in Queenstown
364 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tahuna Pod Hostel
Tahuna Pod Hostel
#3 of 92 in Queenstown
353 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nomads Queenstown Backpackers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Base Queenstown
Base Queenstown
#82 of 92 in Queenstown
531 reviews
0.1 mi away
YHA Queenstown Central
YHA Queenstown Central
#21 of 92 in Queenstown
208 reviews
0.6 mi away
YHA Queenstown Lakefront
YHA Queenstown Lakefront
#17 of 92 in Queenstown
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Laughter Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Laughter Backpackers

Property: Southern Laughter Backpackers
Address: 4 Isle Street, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 92 Specialty Lodging in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Southern Laughter Backpackers 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A friendly toasty warm – backpackers located in central Queenstown within quiet surroundings. We have plenty of off street parking and just a 2 minute walk to bars, supermarkets and shops.Our rooms are configurations of cozy 3, 4, 6 or 8 beds as well as 5, 6 and 8 person self contained units with kitchens. We also provide comfortable private double and twin rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Southern Laughter Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Laughter Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing