We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very late check-in”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Southern Laughter Backpackers
Reviewed March 7, 2012

We had booked in advance but were made to wait almost 2hours to get our room.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Min L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (286)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

241 - 247 of 286 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2012

Really friendly and helpful staff, not charging for using baggage storage for a few hours while I collected hire car was a positive. Location was ideal as well as 2 minutes walk from centre but far enough away to avoid the noise!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TWkiwi8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2011

A real labyrinth but clean.
The kitchen is not very well equipped.
Nice staff but nobody seems to be able to tell us how far is Haast (just 2h30 driving)!!! It's actually the case everywhere in Queestown but at the I-site!! Are we still in New Zealand or the kiwis are hidding themself??

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulineBZH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2011

We booked a private room but when we arrived they were sold out so they put us in a 4 bed dorm but didn’t check anyone else into the room. They offer free vegetable soup every evening. Rooms are nice and spacious, heating in all rooms. TV room is a bit small as is the kitchen but some of the rooms have small kitchens. Showers water is only boiling or freezing – no happy medium.

Room Tip: Rooms are a bit small
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Voilareally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2011

There is plenty to choose from in Queenstown in the way of hostels and accomodation, we choose this one. Split between 2 buildings a short walk from town. It has a spa, which we didn't use.

Has a kitchen with free soup. We checked in to a private double, where the bed seemed to fold towards the middle and after a couple of days I was itching with bites in a line on my leg, a sign of bed bugs. Walls were thin as we could clearly hear a German contingent drunkenly talking next door at 2am in the morning.

They seem to be able to offer various attractions in the town, but I imagine that is the same with all of the accommodation.

We checked out at half seven in the morning to get the intercity bus onwards, we were told that there would be someone on reception to take our key and give us our key deposit back, there wasn't and we lost it.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Russellosborne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2011

Given the amount of cheap accomodation available (especially as there is no snow in Queenstown at the moment and people are desperate for the business), its worth your while to look elsewhere for accomodation. The girl (avoid the red-head) on reception was rude and unhelpful and couldn't have lower customer service standards if she tried! The kitchen is pretty gross - you don't expect much from a hostel but this is probably the worst communal area we have seen. Go somewhere else, there are loads of much nicer hostels in Queenstown.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CoOpEr1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2011

We checked in here after a terrible nights sleep at another backpackers up the road. It looked comfy and relaxed and the staff person was nice. We also stored our bags here when we went to hike the routeburn and it seemed safer than another hostel we had checked out.
So after our night at the other backpackers we asked for a quiet room, and we did get a good nights sleep. We were however woken up at 630 am ( the day of the Japanese Tsunami) by some idiot who didnt think that he needed to use his quiet voice at that time in the morning. It turned out that our room was right next to the common area so maybe we got lucky for our nights sleep?
Anyway pretty average in all other aspects, rooms small but clean, bathrooms a little on the dirty side, Kitchen was clean. No free wifi but did have a spa.
All for $70 which is a good deal in QT.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jctraveller89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.1 mi away
YHA Queenstown Central
YHA Queenstown Central
#18 of 93 in Queenstown
234 reviews
0.2 mi away
Haka Lodge Queenstown
Haka Lodge Queenstown
#4 of 93 in Queenstown
489 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tahuna Pod Hostel
Tahuna Pod Hostel
#3 of 93 in Queenstown
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Nomads Queenstown Hostel
Nomads Queenstown Hostel
#12 of 93 in Queenstown
980 reviews
0.6 mi away
YHA Queenstown Lakefront
YHA Queenstown Lakefront
#9 of 93 in Queenstown
348 reviews
0.3 mi away
Flaming Kiwi Backpackers
Flaming Kiwi Backpackers
#7 of 93 in Queenstown
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Laughter Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Laughter Backpackers

Address: 4 Isle Street, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 93 Specialty Lodging in Queenstown
Price Range: $22 - $62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Southern Laughter Backpackers 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A friendly toasty warm – backpackers located in central Queenstown within quiet surroundings. We have plenty of off street parking and just a 2 minute walk to bars, supermarkets and shops.Our rooms are configurations of cozy 3, 4, 6 or 8 beds as well as 5, 6 and 8 person self contained units with kitchens. We also provide comfortable private double and twin rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Southern Laughter Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Laughter Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing