We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great central location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Ranked #20 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great central location”
Reviewed July 24, 2014

Very conveniently located in Queenstown. We could not fault anything in our Lakeview room. Very clean and well presented. An easy stroll to the local restaurants and shopping precinct. And good value for money. Would happily stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed in a lakeview room on the 2nd floor in winter time, when the trees are bare. In summer the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellingg17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMNovotelQT, General Manager at Novotel Queenstown Lakeside, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear travellingg17

Thanks for your review and recommendations to others.

You are correct in your recommendation about getting lakeviews in winter but this being limited in Summer - we call these rooms lakeside rather than lakeview however in Summer there is a lot of activity on the lakefront and these rooms are still very popular.

We hope to see you again soon - always lots to enjoy in Queenstown at any time of the year and our location gives a great base to enjoy it all from.

thanks

Jim Moore
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,230
    1,456
    348
    77
    30
See reviews for
723
1,444
207
151
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (578)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Darwin, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2014

Totally loved our stay here for 3 nights with my family & friends. So nice of them to give our kids a welcome gift (stuff toys). Perfect location too, very close to Gondola and just at the center of the town, just walking distance to everything. We'll definitely stay here again to our next Queenstown holiday.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wednesday D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMNovotelQT, General Manager at Novotel Queenstown Lakeside, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear WednesdayD

Welcome gifts for young children is just one of the features of the Novotel family offer - free breakfast for children dining with their parents up to 16, kids menus at night, play station in the lobby and Xbox available along with discounted second room for families - on top of this we have movie nights through the holidays and generally try hard to cater for the family market.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to you returning sometime soon.

Thanks for recommending us to others

Jim Moore
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2014

Just as other Novotel hotels in other countries, Novotel Queenstown is nicely located. The staffs are well trained, the facilities and amenities are properly built/made. The heating system is GOOD, although it takes about 15 minutes to warm up the room in the winter.

The 30-minutes wi-fi must be done in the lobby, which is a bit inconvenience but it is 'compensated' by the unlimited internet access from the two computers at the lobby.

The advantage of staying in a commercial hotel is that you know you will get the consistency and expected standard anywhere around the world.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Single_Traveller08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMNovotelQT, General Manager at Novotel Queenstown Lakeside, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear singletraveller08


Thanks for your recommendation and advice to others about what they can expect when staying with us - it is important that we do offer consistency across our Hotels - but also we do try to give some extras as well so that we are too predictable.

Queenstown is a great destination and it is important that we reflect the local environment and relaxed nature of the resort - our team is encouraged to ensure that despite beinga relatively large hotel that we offer personalised service and look after people as friends.

We hope to see you again another time - thanks for staying

Jim Moore
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
2 reviews
Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

We recently spent a week at the Novotel Lakeside with our young son. We couldn't have been more pleased with our decision to stay here. Every single member of staff went out of their way to make us feel welcome during our stay. Housekeeping staff were exceptional. Daily breakfast was certainly one of the best we've seen when staying in a hotel. We never had a problem finding a car park in the Botanic Gardens (free parking & a 2 minute walk from the hotel). Wifi available in the lobby & 3 computers for guest use - never had any issues getting onto one of these computers. The location is fantastic & I would certainly recommend Novotel Lakeside to anyone travelling to Queenstown - you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JessicaLMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMNovotelQT, General Manager at Novotel Queenstown Lakeside, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear JessicaLMB

Great to get such a high recommendation - when staying a week you will no doubt have come in contact with many staff so i will pass on your congratulations to them.

Brisbane is such an easy access point to enjoy Queenstown at any time of the year and we always love having our Australian friends come to visit. Please come back soon.

Look forward to you staying again soon.

Jim Moore
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

Best location in Queenstown Lakeside gardens walk to everything. Great comfortable modern well appointed rooms and facilities. Limited parking but local parking stations handy and low cost...will stay again!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank travlbloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMNovotelQT, General Manager at Novotel Queenstown Lakeside, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Dear travelbloke


Great to hear that you would stay with us again and that you enjoyed your time.

We appreciate the feedback we get from our guests and look forward to welcoming the ones that come back again and again back. There are so many things to do in Queenstown that you should come back often and even then would struggle to do everything that is available.

Thanks again

Jim Moore
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2014

We love this hotel and have stayed here year after year with the children. The kids love the welcome gift, the towel animals made daily by housekeeping, the xbox360 and the nightly kids movie nights/dinner. We love the breakfast, the amazing view (from lake front rooms, worth the extra. Especially the ground floor or top floor rooms) and the proximity to everything. We also love that they make their own honey from their own hive on the roof top! It has become a bit of a home away from home for us.
Rooms are set up well for a family of 4 with 2 comfortable double/queen beds in each room. The family apartments are also fantastic.
The hotel is located very centrally but is also very quiet as it has the botanical gardens on one side. The kids playground is also right in front of the hotel which is really handy if you have smaller children.
The staff are always very friendly and helpful and the babysitters we have booked through the hotel have always been excellent. Any request we have had has been resolved super-politely and quickly.
We will definitely be staying again.

Room Tip: Lakefront rooms are worth the extra especially if you get a ground floor room (can leave hotel via y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank camlyds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMNovotelQT, General Manager at Novotel Queenstown Lakeside, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Dear Camlyds

Families are very important to us and we understand that a happy child leads to a happy family - through school holidays there are lots of activities and the Novotel family offers which are always available make sure that our team looks after our little guests.

Our staff in housekeeping are renown for making towel animals to brighten the day of even the most weary child - the gifts on arrival, free breakfast up to 16 and the Xbox and movie nights all help us to do this.

Great that you enjoy staying with us and we hope to see you again soon.

Regards


Jim Moore
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
73 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights, located near the lake which can see from our balcony. Room was clean and comfortable bed. Breakfast was ok, full buffet breakfast was a lot to choose from. Very easy to walk in to town. Also have a tour service which you can book a lot of activities. Better to book every activities in advance otherwise you have to queue up more than an hour.

Room Tip: Please ask for the room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thanya H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMNovotelQT, General Manager at Novotel Queenstown Lakeside, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Thanya H

Thanks for your review and for staying with us.

Good to hear you enjoyed the experience and recommend us so highly. The booking service that we offer is normally very fast and gets a lot of positive comments so I was surprised to hear that you were delayed - we apologise if this was the case. The concierge team is knowledgeable about the many activities on offer and have a free service for our guests allowing them to book, be ticketed and charge back to their room if they want this.

We hope you enjoyed your New Zealand trip and that you will come back another time.

Jim Moore
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
1.2 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#27 of 58 in Queenstown
1,409 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#18 of 58 in Queenstown
1,454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Scenic Suites Queenstown
Scenic Suites Queenstown
#24 of 58 in Queenstown
888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Queenstown Lakeside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Queenstown Lakeside

Property: Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Address: Corner Earl Street and Marine Parade, Queenstown 9197, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Queenstown
#11 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#14 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#18 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
#23 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Queenstown Lakeside 4*
Number of rooms: 273
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in one of the most picturesque settings in the world, Novotel Queenstown Lakeside combines a stunning lakefront and in-town position with attentive professional service. Just 30 seconds from the cosmopolitan town centre and Queenstown's iconic activities, Novotel Queenstown Lakeside is the perfect hotel to start your Queenstown experience.The fresh, modern hotel offers 273 accommodation rooms with spectacular alpine, garden and lake views. Each contemporary styled room features LCD TV, mini bar, 24 hour room service, broadband internet and private balconies. Conveniently located on the mezzanine level, Elements Restaurant serves a full buffet breakfast and an innovative New Zealand influenced a la carte dinner menu featuring an eclectic mix of modern dishes using the best of New Zealand produce. Guests can also choose to relax and re-energise in our ground floor Elements Cafe & Bar which features comfortable lounge furniture and a double sided schist stone fireplace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Queenstown Lakeside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside Hotel Queenstown
Novotel Gardens Queenstown
Queenstown Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing