We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Ranked #20 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Honeymoon Stay”
Reviewed July 6, 2014

Stayed at this hotel for our Honeymoon and our first visit to Queenstown. Found the staff very friendly, helpful and enjoyed the stay here. We were here for 5 nights and it's location was central to the lake, park, shopping and attractions. Booked tours here and found this very easy to do.

Spent most of our time out & about but close to the hotel as it was convenient to everything.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glenn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMNovotelQT, General Manager at Novotel Queenstown Lakeside, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Glenn R

Great to hear that you enjoyed your honeymoon stay with us - we hope that you can return for many anniversaries and other events in the future. Queenstown is a special place and is well worth coming to at any time.

Your recommendations are similar to many other reviews with location and ease of access key features - the concierge/booking team are there to assist our guests in booking all things Queenstown and to match the many activities to our guests and what they are looking to experience - without any booking fees and often sourcing the best deals the team is there to enhance the guests experience and it was good to hear that they achieved this in your case.

We hope to see you again soon

Jim Moore
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,218
    1,442
    348
    77
    30
See reviews for
714
1,431
205
151
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (577)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here and it was pretty rubbish, location had potential but was crap overall. Room got flooded because the shower had issues with drainage it was overall a bad experience for our honeymoon.

I'd never stay here again and advised plenty of people otherwise also.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 167benk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMNovotelQT, General Manager at Novotel Queenstown Lakeside, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Ben K


Thanks for your review - its a shame that you have taken 10 months to review and to give us this feedback - clearly it would seem that having stayed at our Hotel and at Rydges that you were more comfortable at the Rydges an older hotel located outside of town - we respect that this is a personal choice.

We apologise if the drainage of your shower did not work - I am sure that any such issue could have been rectified easily by our team if we were notified of an issue as we do not normally have such problems. We do understand that from time to time things will go wrong with a guest room but it is our ability to manage this quickly and efficiently that counts.

We do use all feedback and while yours was disappointingly somewhat negative and without too many other details as well as being from a number of months ago it will be considered when we review our comments.

Thanks for taking the time to review - we would be happy to discuss ways that we could restore your faith in the Hotel should you be returning to the region in the near future.


Thanks


Jim Moore
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2014

We had 3 lovely nights, based at this hotel. our first time in NZ, flew in to Queenstown from Sydney. the hotel is handy for the airport, but so are most. The lakeside location is great, really close to all the amenities, but in a peaceful setting. great for lakeside walks. The hotel staff are all welcoming and friendly. Reception and the public rooms are spacious and well furnished. We had a ground floor room facing inwards to the attractive gardens, leading down to the side of the lake. The room was spacious and very comfortable, with a well appointed bathroom. We didn't eat dinner at the hotel, but if the breakfast buffet, on a mezzanine level, above reception and the bar, is anything to go by; the standard of food is good. All tastes/nationalities were catered for on the breakfast menu. We were travelling with a biggish group, so appreciated the fact that there are excellent guest laundry facilities (important during a trip of over a month duration!). When we come back to Queenstown, this would certainly a hotel which we would consider again.

Room Tip: Rooms facing into the garden area are nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WaywardSouls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMNovotelQT, General Manager at Novotel Queenstown Lakeside, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Andrew W

Good to hear that when you return to Queenstown you would stay with us again and recommed us to others.

Location to town yet a quiet location are important factors and many of our guests mention this and the fact that they enjoy being able to walk out the door and be in the Queenstown gardens.

Good also to hear that you enjoyed breakfast and that our team looked after your group.

Feedback is important to us and we appreciate the time taken to give us these comments


Thanks

Jim Moore
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2014

We got a good deal to stay at novotel for 4 nights. I have stayed in Queenstown before and know how good the location is of novotel. A few issues we had was the tv kept braking and occasionally would hear people walking around upstairs. Rooms are pretty basic but that's fine as you're out most of the time anyway! We didn't opt to have breakfast because some local places do really good breakfasts. Definitely recommended a few restaurants there Botswana butchery, flame, captains, echiardts, winnies are just a few of some good restaurants there!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abi5096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMNovotelQT, General Manager at Novotel Queenstown Lakeside, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Abi5096

Thanks for staying and for recommending our location and Hotel to others.

You are correct that tehre are many very good restaurants in Queenstown and that these are all on your doorstep when you stay at Novotel - we rate our breakfast very highly too and believe it to be Queenstowns best buffet breakfast - with items such as a range of Asian dishes, fresh fruit juicer, waffle maker, baked salmon and all the pastries, hot and cold items you would expect. Tapas in the bar and dinner at night also get very good comments from our guests - all without having to leave the Hotel.

Other than the restaurants named there are many others that are equally as good and in some cases better - the concierge team are happy to make recommendations and also to help make bookings for activities without booking fees.

We do hope that you may get to come back to Queenstown soon and that you would choose to stay with us again.

Regards

Jim Moore
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2014

We were so happy with the location of the hotel. Right in town, the Novotel is a short walk from restaurants, shops and the lake front. There was no need to hire a vehicle. The hotel was very busy but we found the staff helpful and friendly. We had dinner at the hotel on one night and it was tasty. Our room was a bit small but was always immaculately made up by the afternoon. Although we had asked for a lake view we got a view of the court yard. Our stay was enjoyable, warm and very pleasant.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miranda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMNovotelQT, General Manager at Novotel Queenstown Lakeside, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Miranda L

Many of our guests enjoy the location of the Hotel and like you choose not to have a car during their stay - most of the local activities will pick up from the Hotel and as you say everything else is a short walk (minutes).

Good to hear that you dined in the Hotel and that the food was tasty and the staff friendly - there are many options in Queenstown and sometimes people forget that the best option my be on their doorstep.

The Hotel does stay fairly busy and is very popular as a base in Queenstown for many travellers - we are pleased that you enjoyed it and hope that you will come back to see us again.

Regards

Jim Moore
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2014

All in all a great location and hotel...walking distance to everything...only gripe is the big step down out of bath shower...im relatively young but I nearly fell over getting out...a bad flaw but otherwise 8 out of ten

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMNovotelQT, General Manager at Novotel Queenstown Lakeside, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Dave T


Thanks for your feedback and for staying with us on your recent stay in Queenstown.

We are sorry to hear that you nearly tripped getting out of the bath - it would be good to know which room you were in - my email is jim.moore@accor.com. In general we have very few comments about the baths/showers and have had very few accidents in the 6 years I have been here as General Manager despite the Hotels staying relatively busy. We would be happy to investigate your comments and to see what we can do to mitigate any risk. Having said that I am always concerned when I hear of guests that could have had an accident.

The Hotel prides itself on having tertiary level ( the top level) health and safety compliance with the Accident Compensation Commission - this is achieved through having rigourous and active workplace practices and a positive health and safety record - it is not easily achieved and even harder to maintain.

Thanks again for your comments - it was good to see that the other experiences that you had were enjoyed by your party and we do hope that we will get to see you again.

Regards


Jim Moore
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
3.2 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
1.2 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#26 of 58 in Queenstown
1,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#19 of 58 in Queenstown
1,438 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Scenic Suites Queenstown
Scenic Suites Queenstown
#24 of 58 in Queenstown
879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Queenstown Lakeside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Queenstown Lakeside

Property: Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Address: Corner Earl Street and Marine Parade, Queenstown 9197, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Queenstown
#11 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#14 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#18 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
#23 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Queenstown Lakeside 4*
Number of rooms: 273
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in one of the most picturesque settings in the world, Novotel Queenstown Lakeside combines a stunning lakefront and in-town position with attentive professional service. Just 30 seconds from the cosmopolitan town centre and Queenstown's iconic activities, Novotel Queenstown Lakeside is the perfect hotel to start your Queenstown experience.The fresh, modern hotel offers 273 accommodation rooms with spectacular alpine, garden and lake views. Each contemporary styled room features LCD TV, mini bar, 24 hour room service, broadband internet and private balconies. Conveniently located on the mezzanine level, Elements Restaurant serves a full buffet breakfast and an innovative New Zealand influenced a la carte dinner menu featuring an eclectic mix of modern dishes using the best of New Zealand produce. Guests can also choose to relax and re-energise in our ground floor Elements Cafe & Bar which features comfortable lounge furniture and a double sided schist stone fireplace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Novotel Queenstown Lakeside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside Hotel Queenstown
Novotel Gardens Queenstown
Queenstown Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing