We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Ranked #21 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed April 22, 2014

This hotel is in a great location - walking distance to the lakefront and all the shops/restaurants. The rooms are nice, beds are comfy and everything is very clean. Only downside was the loud drunk people outside on the street on Saturday night about 12.30, but this wouldn't be an issue if you didn't have a road-side room. Still a very good stay over all.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel would be quieter.
Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
Thank Jess C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMNovotelQT, General Manager at Novotel Queenstown Lakeside, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

Dear Jess C

Thanks for staying with us and for your positive response.

We acknowledge your comment about drunk people out on the street - while this does happen occasionally it is not a regular issue - it is disappointing when inconsiderate people outside the Hotel impact on our guests - we are happy to manage this if we are aware of the issues at the time and apologise that you were inconvenienced in this way.

We do hope to see you again soon.

Thanks

Jim Moore
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,167)
There are newer reviews for Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,400 - 1,406 of 3,167 reviews

Reviewed April 21, 2014

Stayed three nights over Easter weekend, all restaurants and shops in walking distance, clean and comfortable, nice bar with lots of comfortable seating, bathroom could do with an upgrade, but overall nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 99chelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMNovotelQT, General Manager at Novotel Queenstown Lakeside, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

Dear 99chelle

Thanks for staying with us over Easter - the Hotel was certainly full over this weekend and it was great to hear that you enjoyed your 3 days.

Thanks for your recommendation - you noted the age of the bathroom - some rooms are slightly older than others however it is our aim to offer these in a clean, functional and tidy manner for our guests - we are looking towards planning for our next upgrade of these facilities however in the meantime trust that the above aims are met.

Thanks again

Jim Moore
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Stayed in 3 hotels in Queenstown, and this was the most expensive and worst value. The room was good sized with a minibar. No free wifi in the room, but there are two terminals in the lobby available. The restaurant prices were very high, get out and eat at the nearby restaurants.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a balcony facing the water
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank landmark-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMNovotelQT, General Manager at Novotel Queenstown Lakeside, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

Dear landmark-7


Thanks for staying with us - we are sorry that you did not perceive value for your stay. I am somewhat perplexed that you have marked the Hotels location down as 3 stars - it is invariably the location of the Hotel that scores so well but just shows you that some of these things are down to personal choices and perceptions.

We have a numbver of options in terms of the internet including free wifi in the lobby, free Mac stations x3 in the lobby as well as paid Wifi services in room - this is continually changing as better services become available however this is not unique to ourselves or to Queenstown.

We acknowledge your comments about our restaurant and foor and beverage options - we are very mindful of the huge array of offerings in Queenstown and aim to offer competitive options for our guests that recognise the differences in these offerings. Again this is perhaps up to individuals interuptations and apologise if this was not to your liking.

Thanks for staying and for your feedback

Jim Moore
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

I thought when we booked we would have a view of the lake, not a view of the carpark!! Accommodation comfortable and check in and check out smooth. Helpful staff. Close to everything that we needed, except the view of the lake!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the lake, not the carpark.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SydneyJessie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMNovotelQT, General Manager at Novotel Queenstown Lakeside, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

Dear SydneyJessie


Thanks for your review - it is somestimes difficult to respond to such comments without knowing what you booked when you made your reservation with us.

Lakeviews from the Hotel are varied and in fact we actually do not market our rooms as having lakeviews preferring to talk about the superior location of the Hotel and the fact that it is easy to walk from the front doors of the Hotel to anywhere in town.

We work to make sure that descriptions of the rooms are clear and aim not to over promise what is being offered.

We apologise that you were not happy with this and do hope that you will come back again booking the room type that you want and letting us know what you require so that we can assist.

Regards

Jim Moore
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014

This is very well located in Queenstown; the staff are very helpful and our room and amenities were good. We stayed for a week which was a good stay. Close to all the shops. Would stay again however the only thing I did notice was that during the whole week stay the housekeeping never vacuumed our room even though it needed it but otherwise they did a good job. The laundry facilities were a great help and used it during our stay

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 3pugsrule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMNovotelQT, General Manager at Novotel Queenstown Lakeside, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

Dear 3pugsrule

Thanks for your review - your comments as someone that stayed with us for a week and very imprtant to us (as are everyones). Such comments allow us to see what we do well and what we could do better.

We acknowledge your comment about vacuuming your room and apologise if this was missed by the team - these comments will be passed on as it should have not been this way.

Great to hear that other than this all went well so this will also be passed on.

Thanks again

Jim Moore
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank crazy_frog711
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
GMNovotelQT, General Manager at Novotel Queenstown Lakeside, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 19, 2014

My husband and I are frequent travellers to Queenstown. We have stayed in a number of different hotels there, however we keep going back to the Novotel as it is such amazing value for money. This hotel has a perfect location, right on the lake and walking distance to every restaurant you could ever wish for. The Queenstown Gardens (gorgeous spot) are only metres away, if you wish to rise early for a brisk walk/run. If you don't have access to a vehicle, you are so close to everything it wouldn't matter. If you do have a vehicle, we find there is always ample parking overnight for your car.
The rooms are always clean and very comfortable.
On our last visit there (late January) I was pleasantly surprised to discover they only hold $1 on your credit card for security. Well done Novotel! I am over hotels holding hundreds of dollars for 3-5 working days after your departure ($600 at the last hotel we stayed in for 4 nights)
I would absolutely recommend the Novotel as a place to stay in while in one of the most beautiful destinations in the world!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debbarclay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMNovotelQT, General Manager at Novotel Queenstown Lakeside, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

Dear BryonAuckland

Thanks for your very positive review which we hope others will find useful.

We look forward to having you stay with us again when you are next in Queenstown

Regards

Jim Moore
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#17 of 58 in Queenstown
1,466 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
1.2 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#26 of 58 in Queenstown
1,423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
3.2 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Scenic Suites Queenstown
Scenic Suites Queenstown
#23 of 58 in Queenstown
892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Queenstown Lakeside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Queenstown Lakeside

Address: Corner Earl Street and Marine Parade, Queenstown 9197, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Queenstown
#11 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#14 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#19 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
#23 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range: $139 - $294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Queenstown Lakeside 4*
Number of rooms: 273
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in one of the most picturesque settings in the world, Novotel Queenstown Lakeside combines a stunning lakefront and in-town position with attentive professional service. Just 30 seconds from the cosmopolitan town centre and Queenstown's iconic activities, Novotel Queenstown Lakeside is the perfect hotel to start your Queenstown experience.The fresh, modern hotel offers 273 accommodation rooms with spectacular alpine, garden and lake views. Each contemporary styled room features LCD TV, mini bar, 24 hour room service, broadband internet and private balconies. Conveniently located on the mezzanine level, Elements Restaurant serves a full buffet breakfast and an innovative New Zealand influenced a la carte dinner menu featuring an eclectic mix of modern dishes using the best of New Zealand produce. Guests can also choose to relax and re-energise in our ground floor Elements Cafe & Bar which features comfortable lounge furniture and a double sided schist stone fireplace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, ACCOR, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Queenstown Lakeside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside Hotel Queenstown
Novotel Gardens Queenstown
Queenstown Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing