We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Ranked #20 of 59 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed March 13, 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
NovotelMgt, Manager at Novotel Queenstown Lakeside, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,262)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,528 - 1,534 of 3,262 reviews

Reviewed March 12, 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
2  Thank Stuart L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
NovotelMgt, Manager at Novotel Queenstown Lakeside, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

We spent one night at Novotel, Queenstown. Check in was pleasant and efficient. Room was clean and well appointed with comfortable beds. Courtyard area with tables was very pleasant for a drink. We dined with friends elsewhere which was just as well because public areas were taken over for a wedding reception. The festivities were in full swing when we returned but we were relieved to find that we could not hear anything from our room. We had intended to economise on breakfast by eating out but ended up paying a similar amount for a truly wonderful breakfast at the Bath House on the lakeside just beside the hotel. We would certainly use Novotel, Queenstown again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DCM821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelMgt, Manager at Novotel Queenstown Lakeside, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2014

Dear DCM821,

Thanks for your positive review of your recent experience with us. It's a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We don't host many large functions, especially weddings, and it was good to hear that you weren't impacted by any noise. We worked hard to ensure that our guests staying that night were not going to be impacted throughout that event.

We hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back at some stage and for you to experience our own international breakfast option that we offer - I'm sure you would be pleasantly surprised!

Kind regards,

Sam Sherer
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

I've stayed at this property several times before under different owners/chain mngt. It has a nice reception, fairly simple to drive to, but watch out for cars reversing out of angled street car parks. They don't have on site car parking but an arrangement with a close by Wilson Public Car Park. Or for 20.00 a "Valet Service which comprises a staff member taking the car to the car park for you.

I asked who was the current General Manager, but no one could tell me. I was given the reception/reservations and Duty Manager names but no seemingly knew the name of the Manager which I found quite odd.

We were provided with our keys after completion of the registration proceedures and we took our own bags up to the fourth floor Church view wing.

The room had a small balcony and an opening door. It was clean and yes had the standard scenic two bath towels which I always say is insufficient when traveling with one's spouse (One for Hair you know that turban thing they do, and one for the Shower) None the less a pop out of the door and a request to the house staff and another was cheefully supplied FOC.

The facilities all worked and thank goodess one didn't need to be an adonis to the flush the toilet system as was required in their Hamiton hotel.

We didn't stay long in the room as off to the Queenstown Resort College's graduation ceremony.

Room Tip: The Church wing room on the fourth floor (Even Numbers) overlook the car park, a walkway and rear of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian-R-Bray-JP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMNovotelQT, General Manager at Novotel Queenstown Lakeside, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2014

Dear Mr Bray

Thanks for your review - please let me introduce myself - my name is Jim Moore - as General Manager of this hotel for 6 years I too find it strange that you were not able to be advised of my name - let alone be introduced should you have wanted this.

I started my career 30 years ago and believe if you are the same Ian Bray that worked at THC Hotels Head Office that it was you that signed my employment contract when I worked first at Waitangi with Stuart Long and then at Waitomo with Bill Sheedy. It is a small industry.

Thanks for staying with us - as you will know the Hotel started off as a THC Hotel so much of the actual design has not changed since those days although we beleive that as an Accor property we have done a lot to improve it . It was good to see that you seem to have enjoyed many of these aspects.

It was disappointing to hear that some inconsiderate guests disturbed you in the night - I am unsure from your review whether you reported this to our night team - they will always take action in such situations to ensure that the other guests are reminded of their neighbours and that noise is stopped - if for any reason there are further issues they will take action to remedy the situation.

I also note that you marked the Hotel below what we are aiming to achieve in terms of value for money paid - you have stayed during a very busy time when rates are perhaps at a premium all around Queenstown - our aim is to offer competitive pricing compared with similar Hotels and for our guests to be happy with what they paid to stay with us. We apologise that this was not to your expectations and do hope that you would stay with us again in the future - if you are coming down again soon please feel free to introduce yourself to me and I would be more than happy to make sure you are well looked after.

Kind regards

Jim Moore
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

clean and functional rooms. we stayed in a pair of premium rooms interconnecting and although we didn't have a lake view, it was nice to have the sun streaming in from the small balcony.

room service quick and nicely presented.

porters and concierge friendly and helpful.

nice, gentle lighting - not the usual chain hotel, unflattering fluorescent glare. good pillows, soft cotton sheets and comfortable beds. nice toiletries.

broad in-room movie selection (2 for $26) if you're just too exhausted to go out after an early dinner, or if the kids need wind down time.

more expensive and less impressive than the hilton, but the central location makes up for it. bit noisy on a summer Sunday as the tunes pumping out lakeside take over the area, but hey, it's stuff like that which gives queenstown it's vibrance so no complaints from us.

walk round to the spice room indian restaurant while you're here. we just did :)

Stayed: March 2014
Thank lauradavidgrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMNovotelQT, General Manager at Novotel Queenstown Lakeside, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2014

Dear Lauradavidgrace

Thanks for taking the time to review the Hotel - it sounds as if you enjoyed the experience which is great - something we strive for with all of our guests.

You mention that we are more expensive than one of our competitors - this is not always the case with this particular competitor - you did not mention that they are a 10-15 minute drive ($40 one way) in a taxi or a boat ride which is not always ideal which should be contributing factors when deciding where to stay.

Novotel offers a generally quiet in town experience where you can walk to most activities and almost all restaurants and bars - again a limiting factor when looking at a number of other Hotels in and around Queenstown.

We aim to offer more than generic and while we maintain the Novotel standards and have a relatively large hotel our aim is to provide personalised and friendly service and to provide the products and services that one would expect in a 4 star Hotel.

Thanks for your feedback

Regards

Jim Moore
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2014

We were fortunate enough to be staying here on a group tour we were taking. This is a beautiful property so well located and with easy access to all activities and restaurants in Queenstown. The lobby and communal areas are compact with 3 or 4 public use computers and a bar. The room was comfortable, but not large with a minibar frig and coffee/tea making. Beds comfortable, bath good with good towels. Did a laundry in their self serve machines with fair fees compared to other hotels in New Zealand and Australia. Breakfast was good, But coffee is from a machine and made with a syrup from a box rather than fresh brewed. The service was fine, but due to many large groups staying, not exceptional. The nicest part is the really great location and a profusion of beautiful well cared for roses in their center court garden. The lake was in view from our balcony, and just steps away. Wifi was limited in the rooms in time, but easy enough in lobby on their MACs. Great fish and chips stand just outside the grounds for a reasonable meal. This hotel is ideal for catching everything Queenstown has to offer-- boat tours, gondola rides, city gardens, etc. I would recommend this hotel and happily stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maggieMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMNovotelQT, General Manager at Novotel Queenstown Lakeside, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2014

Dear MaggieMD

Great to hear that you would recommend the Hotel to others and would stay again given the opportunity - we do hope that one day you will come back.

Thanks for your positive review.

Regards

Jim Moore
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2014

We stayed in a deluxe room on the fourth floor for 5 nights in February. The location was great--near the beautiful lake, restaurants, shopping, a few blocks from the intercity bus stop. The room was very nice and clean. Only get limited free internet in the lobby. Don't buy snacks and drinks in the convenience stores. Go to Four Square grocery a few blocks away. There was a fridge in our room so we would put food in there. On Saturday mornings there is a great craft market by the lake near the boats. We got great souvenirs there. Try the fabulous ice cream at Patagonia Chocolates near the lake. We used the concierge to help us out with one tour. He was very helpful. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mango_eater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMNovotelQT, General Manager at Novotel Queenstown Lakeside, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2014

Dear Mango_eater

Thanks for your informative and positive review of our Hotel - it is always good to hear that our guests have enjoyed their stay and would like to return given the opportunity.

We trust you will remember your time in New Zealand fondly and will return.

Kind regards

Jim Moore
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
3.2 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#18 of 59 in Queenstown
1,516 reviews
1.2 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#25 of 59 in Queenstown
1,491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
0.5 mi away
Swiss-Belsuites Pounamu Queenstown
1 mi away
Heritage Queenstown
Heritage Queenstown
#21 of 59 in Queenstown
1,647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Queenstown Lakeside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Queenstown Lakeside

Address: Corner Earl Street and Marine Parade, Queenstown 9197, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Queenstown
#11 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#12 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#18 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
#23 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range: $143 - $324 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Queenstown Lakeside 4*
Number of rooms: 273
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in one of the most picturesque settings in the world, Novotel Queenstown Lakeside combines a stunning lakefront and in-town position with attentive professional service. Just 30 seconds from the cosmopolitan town centre and Queenstown's iconic activities, Novotel Queenstown Lakeside is the perfect hotel to start your Queenstown experience.The fresh, modern hotel offers 273 accommodation rooms with spectacular alpine, garden and lake views. Each contemporary styled room features LCD TV, mini bar, 24 hour room service, broadband internet and private balconies. Conveniently located on the mezzanine level, Elements Restaurant serves a full buffet breakfast and an innovative New Zealand influenced a la carte dinner menu featuring an eclectic mix of modern dishes using the best of New Zealand produce. Guests can also choose to relax and re-energise in our ground floor Elements Cafe & Bar which features comfortable lounge furniture and a double sided schist stone fireplace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Accorhotels.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Novotel Queenstown Lakeside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside Hotel Queenstown
Novotel Gardens Queenstown
Queenstown Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing