We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Nearby Hotels
$110
$102
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Coronet View Accommodation(Queenstown)(Great Value!)
$150
$145
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mercure Resort Queenstown(Queenstown)(Great Value!)
$112
$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Scenic Suites Queenstown(Queenstown)(Great Value!)
$154
$133
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Swiss-Belsuites Pounamu Queenstown(Queenstown)(Great Value!)
$156
$79
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa del Lago(Queenstown)(Great Value!)
$358
$331
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel(Queenstown)(Great Value!)
$352
$260
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Heritage Queenstown(Queenstown)(Great Value!)
$141
$126
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Bella Vista Queenstown(Queenstown)(Great Value!)
$94
$87
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Matakauri Lodge(Queenstown)
$1,274
$1,239
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (3,340)
Filter reviews
3,340 results
Traveler rating
1,319
1,529
380
81
31
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,319
1,529
380
81
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationrose gardenin townconcierge deskper daytwo double bedsstandard roomtop floorfree wifirestaurants and shopscentral locationbuffet breakfastsmall balconylake viewnew zealandstayed here for nightslakeside
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,993 - 1,998 of 3,340 reviews
Reviewed March 27, 2013

The Novotel rooms are very well appointed and have everything you would need; comfortable beds, pillow options, fridge, hot water kettle, etc. The rooms are a little small and I would not recommend paying any extra for a lakeside balcony room as there are trees blocking the view of the lake unless you are on the 4th floor. There is also a restaurant but there is so much in town just 60 seconds away we didn't ever go. We will probably go there again or maybe try the Spire.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scottreynolds75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMNovotelQT, General Manager at Novotel Queenstown Lakeside, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2013

Dear Dotbot

Thanks for your review - to compare us to the Spire is perhaps not that realistic - pricing of the Spire would be well over 5 times the price if not more on any given night - we do have two Five Star properties that may be worth having a look at if this is what you are looking for - The Sofitel and the Hotel St Moritz both offer excellent options in this market.

It was however good to hear that you enjoyed the Hotel - it is a shame that you did not try the restaurant however we appreciate that there are very many options on the doorstep we still believe that the restaurant offers a good experience without having to go out.

You are correct that the park in front of the hOtel does have many trees that at this time of year do impede the vision of the lake - we do not represent them as lakeview rooms for this reason - This however is not the case in a months time when the leaves of the trees drop and the views remain until Spring and for only a few dollars more than the Superior rooms these rooms offer an outlook over the grassed area to the lake edge that is often busy with people and allows our guests to watch the world go by.

We do hope that you will come and see us again soon or try our sister Hotels as above.

Regards

Jim Moore
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Excellent location, friendly staff and well kept facilities. Concierge was helpful. The room was clean and looked out into the courtyard. I recommend this hotel if you are wanting to stay close to Queenstown. Our room included breakfast which was nice.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Jane7br
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMNovotelQT, General Manager at Novotel Queenstown Lakeside, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2013

Dear Jane7br


Thanks for your recommendation of our Hotel and for staying with us - your positive comments about the cleanliness of the room, service by the Concierge team and the breakfast will be passed on to the team.

Hope to see you again soon

Jim Moore
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We stayed here for three nights, after booking at the last minute on a sketching recommendation. The location of the hotel is just great, on the side of the lake next to the botanical gardens. The main streets of Queenstown with it many vibrant restaurants and vast amounts of shops are just one street away, and far away to provide enough space and quiet to relax when needed. We didn't dine in the hotel restaurant due the the fabulous restaurants on the doorstep, but did notice that not many other hotel guests did either. We had a superior double room on the side of the hotel overlooking the mountain and gondola, however any direction of view from this hotel would be great whether it be the rose garden, town, lake or botanical gardens they all looked to be fabulous. As far as we could see most of the rooms above the ground floor also had balconies, which is great for a quite reflection of your day. I would also like to point out that the staff we came into contact with at the hotel were friendly and polite at all times, which to me is greatly important.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RedPartridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMNovotelQT, General Manager at Novotel Queenstown Lakeside, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2013

Dear RedPartridge

Thanks for staying with us and for taking the time to give your feedback - always good to hear when our guests have enjoyed the experience and this does motivate the team to continue to offer this service.

You are correct everything is at our doorstep and there are so many activities and restaurants to choose from - clearly you will just have to come back!

In regards to our own restaurant the offering is all about a using truly NZ indigenous ingredients and making something that is fresh but represents the local flavours - you are correct many of our guests do dine out however there are still many that choose to dine with us and seem to enjoy the experience - maybe next time.

Thanks again for you comments - we look forward to having you return soon

Jim Moore
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

I know it's a Novotel but don't expect too much. There is no free wi-fi in the rooms or the lobby. You are allowed 8mb of free wifi usage every day in the lobby area, which is really ridiculous for a hotel of this repute. There are two mac desktops in the lobby where you can browse the web for free but these are almost always occupied. There is a Starbucks around the corner that gives free wifi :-)

The location of the hotel is simply unbeatable. And i guess that justifies the price. It's on the lake front, at the edge of the botanical gardens and is really amazingly close to everything. We gave up our car since you can walk everywhere, including to the main bus stop to catch buses to arrowtown and the airport. The concierge desk is particularly helpful and we used them quite frequently to get information on trips and restaurants.
Breakfast is pricey and we didn't opt for it after reading some reviews. We did find plenty of cafes and breakfast options just outside the hotel and enjoyed going to a different lake side cafe everyday.
Rooms are standard size with basic bathroom accessories and amenities and no complaints really. Rooms are air conditioned unlike some smaller motels in NZ.

In short, IMHO, the location is unbeatable for this price point so I'm sure you won't regret staying here ( if you can live without free wi-fi)

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank AnjaliSosale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMNovotelQT, General Manager at Novotel Queenstown Lakeside, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2013

Dear AnjaliSosale,

Thanks for your informative review after staying with us - good to see that you enjoyed the information from the Concierge team and got to experience a lot of what there is to offer in Queenstown - as always there is always more to do and we look forward to welcoming you back.

In regards to WIFI you mention Starbucks being free - this is not quite correct in that you do need to buy something from them and then get a limited download - this is true in our bar/cafe area also - on top of this we have the 2 free Mac stations in the lobby and options for WIFI in rooms for 2 hours, 24 hours and 7 days depending on what your requirement is.

Breakfast offers a huge variety of dishes - including Indian dishes so it is a shame that you did not go and have a look for yourself. A buffet is different to what a cafe offers but we feel that we offer excellent value and a huge range for people to try different foods. As breakfast is the most important meal of the day this then sets themselves up for all of the activities that Queenstown has to offer.

Thanks for your comments - hope to see you again soon

Jim Moore
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

very friendly and helpful service desk (plus baggage)
very on prompt service with requests for towels and soap
very good breakfast service and range of food
overall very satisfied; will be staying there again thank u novetel queenstown

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank oneel_raj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMNovotelQT, General Manager at Novotel Queenstown Lakeside, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2013

Dear Oneel_raj

Thanks for staying with us and for your favourable comments - good to hear that you enjoyed walking the Routeburn track - one of many great adventures in the Queenstown region. For us to be your base for this activity and for it to work so well for you as it does for many of our guests is good to know.

The location of the Hotel, storage for bags etc while on the track and the general facilities does make the Hotel a good choice when going treking.

Thanks and we look forward to having you saty with us again

Jim Moore
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews