We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Ranked #20 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed January 12, 2013

not a hotel for the light of wallet, however delivered decent results and was generally worth it. Lovely clean rooms, and superb buffet breakfast, however the porch could have been better furnished. Good service, and the event organisers on the ground floor of the hotel is a intriguing idea

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doreenwu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMNovotelQT, General Manager at Novotel Queenstown Lakeside, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2013

Dear Doreenwu

Thanks for your positive review - it sounds like you enjoyed Queenstown and the Hotel which is clearly what we would like to achieve with all guests.

We acknowledge your comments about the Hotel not being for those "light of wallet" while this is subjective we also point out that rates fluctuate a lot but the beginning of January over the New Year period is absolutely the peak when demand in Queenstown is significant. Prices over this time reflect this demand and sees prices at their peak also. At all times we feel that we offer reasonable rates for the location and services that we offer.

Thanks for your feedback and taking the time to review the Hotel - we hope that you can make it back to see us soon

Regards

Jim Moore
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,168)
There are newer reviews for Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,964 - 1,970 of 3,168 reviews

Reviewed January 11, 2013

Our family really enjoyed the convenience of the Novotel. It was easy to walk everywhere and we took advantage of the lakeside location with great runs in the morning! The concierge desk was always staffed by knowledgeable and friendly people. We enjoyed the breakfast, as well. The rooms were decent, if a bit on the small side.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMNovotelQT, General Manager at Novotel Queenstown Lakeside, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2013

Dear ASValerio

Thanks for your review - it sounds as if you enjoyed the various running opportunities around the Hotel - the track around the gardens and down to Frankton are personal favourites but there are so many.

Your positive comments about breakfast and location are also appreciated - hopefully we will see you again soon

Regards

Jim Moore
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We have stayed at the Novotel at least three times, around Spring ski times August.
Very central to Queenstown, yet quiet.
Each time it has been very well run and a consistent high quality.
The lounge /Bar is oddly laid out with the Bar in the 'corridor' across form the inside place lounge.
Good ski gear store service.
The restaurant is good and with a wide range at breakfast.Most of the staff are not Kiwis we found , but at times lots of cheerful Irish.
The Internet room service is not recommended its very expensive and misleading on $/mins/log on.Use the lobby PC's its free or take yr own wireless.
Not sure about parking as not had a car overnight there.

Room Tip: Yet to get a room over looking the lake,probably cost related , but there lots of hours to view walk...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KiwiKomments
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMNovotelQT, General Manager at Novotel Queenstown Lakeside, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2013

Dear KiwiKomments

Thanks for your review - while it was not about your experience over Summer it was good to get the feedback.

We acknowledge the comment about the bar - this was located in this position during the last refurbishment in 2007. While it does work it is probably not the best location but we will be reviewing this shortly as expect to do more work on the Hotel over the next year or 2.

We do try to make the WIFI and internet use both understandable and easy to use so apologise that you found it a bit confusing. There are many options for internet including free use of the Mac Stations that we have in the lobby for guest use.

We hope that you come back again soon

regards

Jim Moore
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Can't be better located. And the bites in the bar are well priced and good. Walking to everything. We asked to move rooms after a club played music until 1am, and the hotel found us another room which was great. The conceriege guys were great. Each day we left a note to the cleaners to clean something or fix something and they did which was also great, but slightly disappointing we had to point these things out ( broken light, toilet sticking, dirty shower curtain) although in the end the location won out.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Morphi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMNovotelQT, General Manager at Novotel Queenstown Lakeside, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2013

Dear Catherine L

Thanks for your positive review.

Your points about some of the smaller details in the room was noted and discussed with the team. We apologise if they impacted on your stay at all.

Great to hear that the location won out and we hope that this will be enough for you to stay with us again.

Kind regards

Jim Moore
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We booked a lake view room and were a little disappointed. We were on the ground floor and the view was between trees and no terrace as such and certainly no outdoor chairs to relax on.
Whilst we certainly weren't planning to spend the day on the deck orin the room it would have been great to have the facility. It certainly wasn't cheap to stay in and perhaps a standard room would have been adequate.

Room Tip: Unless you want to spalsh out in the hopes of an excellent lake view room perhaps settle for a stand...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janet C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMNovotelQT, General Manager at Novotel Queenstown Lakeside, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2013

Dear JanetC

Thanks for your feedback - The Hotel tries hard to ensure that the descriptions of our facilities is accurate and not misleading.

The Hotel does not promote Lake View rooms as during Summer the trees in the park between us and the Lake have leaves and can obstruct the view from many rooms. These rooms are promoted as Lakeside rooms - many of our guests prefer these rooms as they overlook the park and grassed area to the foreshore of the lake. We aplogise if this was misinterpreted.

Interesting during the Autumn and Winter Months these rooms do mostly have good views of the lake.

Thanks for your feedback - it sounds as if you enjoyed the experience even though it was slightly not what you expected. We do hope you will stay with us again and that you can book a room that may suit you better.

Kind regards

Jim Moore
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mfjRopes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
GMNovotelQT, General Manager at Novotel Queenstown Lakeside, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

I think the Novotel Queenstown Lakeside has one of the best locations of any hotel in Queenstown. I'm pretty sure it is the only hotel (except for the Hilton) which on the lake. The location is also within easy walking distance to all of there is to offer in Queenstown. I would recommend paying the extra for a lakeside room. Its not a full on lake view but its better than the other side of the hotel

The staff is excellent, attentive and very helpful. On the day I should have gone on a cruise to Milford Sound, the head concierge notice that I was in the lobby after the usual pick up time for tours he came over asked which tour I was on and called the tour operator to find out what was happening. Turns out the tour had been cancelled and they were in the process of notifiying people on the tour.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jrsee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelQueenstownSL, Manager at Novotel Queenstown Lakeside, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Dear jrsee,

Thank you for positive review of our hotel. As you mentioned Novotel QueenstownLakeside has a fantastic location that is walking distance to town and has direct access to Lake Wakatipu. At Novotel Queenstown Lakeside we take pride in providing a high level of customer service and I am glad that you found our staff excellent, attentive and helpful.

Thank you again for your review and we hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,

Sonja Corbett
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#18 of 58 in Queenstown
1,466 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
1.2 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#27 of 58 in Queenstown
1,425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
3.2 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Scenic Suites Queenstown
Scenic Suites Queenstown
#23 of 58 in Queenstown
892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Queenstown Lakeside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Queenstown Lakeside

Address: Corner Earl Street and Marine Parade, Queenstown 9197, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Queenstown
#11 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#14 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#18 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
#23 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range: $140 - $295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Queenstown Lakeside 4*
Number of rooms: 273
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in one of the most picturesque settings in the world, Novotel Queenstown Lakeside combines a stunning lakefront and in-town position with attentive professional service. Just 30 seconds from the cosmopolitan town centre and Queenstown's iconic activities, Novotel Queenstown Lakeside is the perfect hotel to start your Queenstown experience.The fresh, modern hotel offers 273 accommodation rooms with spectacular alpine, garden and lake views. Each contemporary styled room features LCD TV, mini bar, 24 hour room service, broadband internet and private balconies. Conveniently located on the mezzanine level, Elements Restaurant serves a full buffet breakfast and an innovative New Zealand influenced a la carte dinner menu featuring an eclectic mix of modern dishes using the best of New Zealand produce. Guests can also choose to relax and re-energise in our ground floor Elements Cafe & Bar which features comfortable lounge furniture and a double sided schist stone fireplace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Queenstown Lakeside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside Hotel Queenstown
Novotel Gardens Queenstown
Queenstown Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing