We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location! Okay Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Ranked #21 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Location! Okay Stay”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

My fiancee and I were looking for a reasonably priced stay in Queenstown. The Novotel met our budget and location requirements, so we were very happy to find it. We had a pleasant stay; the staff were friendly and helped us find our way to the ever popular Fergburger (a must, by the way). The room was comfortable, and you just can't beat the hotel's location. It's close to everything.

The only complaint we had was the parking situation. You have to park you car in a private garage on another street. The hotel charges your room $10 per day, but they are in no way linked to the garage other than paying a bill. So when we had some issues with our ticket, we had to find a way to get in touch with the garage company since the Novotel staff quickly said it wasn't their problem. We were not happy with this part of our stay at all, and felt that they if they were going to force us to use this privately owned garage, that there should be a better system somehow. Just beware of this fact.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmw979s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,219
    1,448
    348
    77
    30
See reviews for
717
1,434
206
151
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (578)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Knowing what i should expect from a Novotel hotel i was very very very dissapointed by this one. It fell way beneath my expectations. To begin on the plus side, the check-in was done quickly and efficiently, the place is easy enough to find when arriving into town and the rooms are good size and have what you would expect.
But on the downside, no assistance was offered with bags or to valet park car on arrival and with at least two porter/concierge staff working, i had to ask for the valet parking. Nobody greeted us as we entered amongst the staff and this continued throughout the entire stay, making us feel like we did not exist and were not welcome there. At times we saw porters leaning against thier desk , not looking very well presented except for one young man we saw with suit on one night ,and at times when they spoke to you when i went to get the car from valet they respond with a grunt or treat you like a " mate " not a paying guest. All in all gave the impression of just there to kill time not to be " there for the guests".
Breakfast staff seemed disorganised, though the food was a good selection and enjoyable to eat. We were there for several days and it was not until the third morning we were asked to sign the docket required for proof of having breakfast. We could have just strolled in from the street and had breakfast without even paying. Coming down for breakfast at about nine there was many tables still uncleared of dirty dishes and remained so for most of our time there. And again most of the staff here never made the effort to even smile or say hello to us.
Regards the rooms. At least in this area the staff were friendly and smiled and said hello but the cleaning of room was terrible. They had been made the bed but the cushions left sitting scattered on sofa not bed where they should have been, still hairs all over bathroom, towels just thrown over racks not tidily, laundry bags not replaced when used, floor not vaccumed, dust found everywhere,rubbish bin not emptied properly. And there was two people cleaning each room together as well!!!!!
The valet parking is $20 which i am willing to pay but it was not until the end of stay we noticed the car was parked just a few metres off the road by the building . We may as well have just parked on street . When i ask for valet parking i least expect it to be behind the building not by the footpath which has taken the porter no time at all to put there , and i could see plenty spaces out back which we assumed was further parking. Why pay when this is the situation? . I expect value for money.
So to sum it all up. Terrible service and terrible cleanliness. Have stayed in better backpackers. Enough said.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Munchkin740
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelQueenstownSL, Director of Sales at Novotel Queenstown Lakeside, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
To Munchkin740,

Thank you for your recent stay at Novotel Queenstown Lakeside and for taking the time to write a review about your experience. We appreciate you sharing your concerns and we would like to apologise that your stay was not as you had expected. I invite you to contract me on h5308-sl02@accor.com so that we have the opportunity to address your feedback personally.

As customer service is something we at Novotel take very seriously it is disappointing to read that you were unsatisfied with the customer service and that you felt unwelcome in our hotel. It is our aim to ensure a high level of professionalism and customer service is provided to all guests and we apologise if this was not the case in your experience. We have spoken with the relevant departments about your comments and have reminded the staff that the experience of our guests is a reflection of the service we provide.

With regards to your breakfast experience, it is reassuring to hear that you enjoyed the breakfast buffet, however it is a concern that you were only asked to sign a proof of purchase docket once during your stay and that the tables were not being cleared in an efficient manner. We will be looking into this further to see what improvements we can make to ensure a more efficient service can be provided to our guests.

With the change of season we have many new staff in our housekeeping department and from your feedback it seems that further training may be necessary. Your comments have been passed on to the Housekeeping Supervisor who will take the relevant steps to ensure your feedback is addressed.

Thank you again for sharing your feedback and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Kind regards,
Sonja Corbett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed November 29, 2012

We stayed just one night at the Novotel. Enjoyed our stay. Slept well. Nice and peaceful. Eat out because we didn't hink the menu had enough choices for us. We had one gluen free and one vegetarian with us. Staff were courteous. View was rubbish. Thought we would get to see the lake from our room but we were facing the buildings across the street.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alicer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Stayed two nights, the location was great and the staff was helpful and friendly. They helped us book the Haka and Gondola ride, and gave us great dinner recommendations. The rooms were cozy and clean. The hotel was walking distance to the town center, shops and restaurants. We really enjoyed our stay at Novotel and time in Queenstown. Will hopefully return some day. :)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephdb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012

We booked Novotel Queenstown on the recommendation of my wife's workmate who had stayed there recently. What a disappointment, from the time we checked in until the day we checked out.
Firstly at check in I requested an upgrade as I am an Accor Platinum member and was told "you already have one of the best rooms in the Hotel" I explained that I had booked and paid for a Lakeside room however as a Platinum member I was requesting a room upgrade, and was once again told" you already have a good room", at this point I was given the room key and told where the lift was. Why is it so hard to get what you are entitled to? Not good enough Novotel!
Once settled into our rather compact room we went down to the restaurant for dinner, this was a big mistake, firstly the waiter who greeted us hardly spoke English and was impossible to understand, so he sent over another waiter to take our order, I ordered the garlic bread to start and the venison for a main, my wife ordered tempura battered fish.The entree arrived and it was asparagus, not the garlic bread I ordered, when I explained this to the waiter he apologised and said he thought I had said asparagus. Really, how can Garlic Bread sound like asparagus??? We should have left then... Next our mains arrived mine was ok, however the batter on my wife's fish was thick and uncooked,she was unable to eat this. after complaining and sending this back, I finished my main and we left to get dessert elsewhere., what a disappointment. After retiring to the room later that evening we were kept awake half the night by drunken louts yelling out the front of the hotel:(

Room Tip: The lakefront rooms have the best views but can be very noisy as many drunken louts frequent the Lak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Setep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
novotellakeside, Manager at Novotel Queenstown Lakeside, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear Setep,

Thank you for taking the time to post feedback on your most recent stay at Novotel Queenstown Lakeside.

As discussed with you over the phone, the hotel was unable to offer you an upgrade as this is subject to availability. Unfortunately over the period of your stay the hotel was not in a position to accommodate your request due to next room type being unavailable. We apologies in the way this conveyed to you and please rest assured that this not in character with a normal standard of service as reflected in the majority of other reviews.

With regards to your dining experience, clearly we have fallen short of your expectations and rest assured the hotel will review this incident and service procedures to ensure that this remains as isolated as possible.

Once again, please accept our apologies and as discussed I sincerely look forward to welcoming you back to Novotel Queenstown in the near future.

Kind regards,

Daniel Lai
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
3.2 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
1.2 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#26 of 58 in Queenstown
1,390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#20 of 58 in Queenstown
1,442 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Scenic Suites Queenstown
Scenic Suites Queenstown
#24 of 58 in Queenstown
881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Queenstown Lakeside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Queenstown Lakeside

Property: Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Address: Corner Earl Street and Marine Parade, Queenstown 9197, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Queenstown
#11 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#14 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#19 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
#23 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Queenstown Lakeside 4*
Number of rooms: 273
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in one of the most picturesque settings in the world, Novotel Queenstown Lakeside combines a stunning lakefront and in-town position with attentive professional service. Just 30 seconds from the cosmopolitan town centre and Queenstown's iconic activities, Novotel Queenstown Lakeside is the perfect hotel to start your Queenstown experience.The fresh, modern hotel offers 273 accommodation rooms with spectacular alpine, garden and lake views. Each contemporary styled room features LCD TV, mini bar, 24 hour room service, broadband internet and private balconies. Conveniently located on the mezzanine level, Elements Restaurant serves a full buffet breakfast and an innovative New Zealand influenced a la carte dinner menu featuring an eclectic mix of modern dishes using the best of New Zealand produce. Guests can also choose to relax and re-energise in our ground floor Elements Cafe & Bar which features comfortable lounge furniture and a double sided schist stone fireplace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Novotel Queenstown Lakeside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside Hotel Queenstown
Novotel Gardens Queenstown
Queenstown Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing