We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth staying”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Ranked #19 of 59 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed October 25, 2012

My first experience at Novetel Queenstown was enjoyabe and pleasant. The staff (service, reception, housekeeping, etc) were most helpful. The food at the restaurant was of high quality. Beautiful view from my room. It is very centrally located, within walking distance to the lake and shops.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeiZhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
novqt, General Manager at Novotel Queenstown Lakeside, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2012

Dear PeiZhi

Thanks for your feedback - we appreciate all feedback as it allows us to review our delivery of services and teh products that we offer to our guests.

It certainly sounds as if you enjoyed the location and services of the Hotel and it was particularly pleasing to hear that you enjoyed the quality of the food - this has been a focus for us lately as we aim to offer a quality New Zealand experience.

We look forward to you returning to stay with us again and thanks for the review

Regards

Jim Moore
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,233)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,120 - 2,126 of 3,233 reviews

Reviewed October 24, 2012

The only issue was the room was almost too hot to sleep in and it appeared to be centrally controlled so I was unable to adjust the temperature. Aside from the heat the room was good and the service was very good and staff very helpful

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chrisnz11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
novqt, General Manager at Novotel Queenstown Lakeside, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2012

Dear ChrisNZ11

Thanks for your feedback - good to hear that the staff looked after you and that you enjoyed teh experience.

We acknowledge your comment about being able to adjust the temperature in your room and apologise that you found this made it a bit difficult to sleep. Novotel Queenstown has air conditioning "heat pumps" on the top floor (Superior rooms) and has just started to install them into all other rooms. This project will see most of the standard rooms that face the prevailing sun installed by the first week of December this year and the remaining 80 rooms completed in April next year. This will give all rooms in the Hotel a heat pump to cool and to heat the rooms with individually controlled thermostats.

Many Hotels in Queenstown are yet to offer air conditioning as it has always been seen in the past that temperatures can be maintained through other means and that the outside temperatures do not warrant the large cost of installing this. As technologies have changed we have been able to install this without causing major issues to the look of the building and we are pleased that the owners of the Hotel have decided to invest in airconditioning which we believe will add significantly to the comfort of our guests.

We do hope to see you again soon and to be able to show you the enhancements that we are making

Regards

Jim Moore
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Nice spot to base yourself for a Queenstown getaway. We booked on line and received a good discount. Friendly staff andd friendly location...only a short walk from everything.Nice bar andd everything was clean and well presented and the front desk peole were wonderful. Would recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

If you want to stay in the heart of Queenstown, stay here.
We decided to do a last minute stopover in Queenstown and stayed here.
Very close to town and shops.
Wouldnt suggest asking for a Irish coffee at the bar, the staff need a few tips on making these.
All in all it was a nice stay..

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gehard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

I like this hotel mostly because they have good comfortable beds with nice linen, but also because its a super convenient location and you can get good rates online. It was pretty quiet when we stayed and our bathroom also had a nice deep bath.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mazzietraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

All i could say about this hotel is A Great Family hotel!! Rooms are big enough, clean and even the housekeeping staffs always did funny shape towels for the kids after they cleaned the rooms! Not so many choices of room service menu though but hey that didn't matter since we could walk 10 mins to downtown to find lots of restaurants nearby.

Friendly and helpful staffs. There is children playground in the park. Room rates are great many good offer if you book directly from hotel's website.

Bring your kids to queenstown and stay at novotel lakeside. You will have a nice family holiday!

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
Thank gemartraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

I spent 3 days In Novotel Lakeside during a holiday trip with my wife. Hotel Facilities - The corridor & lift are tired looking. But the rooms are newly furnished and are very comfortable. We had no problem at all during our stay. I did not have a chance to check if the hotel has a pool/gym - anyway, there are too many things to do in Queenstown. Hotel Service - All our interactions with hotel staff were good. The reception and concierge were very helpful. Hotel Location - As a general principle, I prefer to stay in a central location and save on travel time/ travel money. The hotel has a very central location right next to the Lake/ Queenstown garden/ Main market. All in all, I had a great stay and will definitely stay at Novotel Lake side again.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank Aditya_Oli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#18 of 59 in Queenstown
1,498 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
1.2 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#26 of 59 in Queenstown
1,469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
1 mi away
Heritage Queenstown
Heritage Queenstown
#22 of 59 in Queenstown
1,630 reviews
0.5 mi away
Swiss-Belsuites Pounamu Queenstown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Queenstown Lakeside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Queenstown Lakeside

Address: Corner Earl Street and Marine Parade, Queenstown 9197, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Queenstown
#11 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#12 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#17 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
#23 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range: $152 - $336 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Queenstown Lakeside 4*
Number of rooms: 273
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in one of the most picturesque settings in the world, Novotel Queenstown Lakeside combines a stunning lakefront and in-town position with attentive professional service. Just 30 seconds from the cosmopolitan town centre and Queenstown's iconic activities, Novotel Queenstown Lakeside is the perfect hotel to start your Queenstown experience.The fresh, modern hotel offers 273 accommodation rooms with spectacular alpine, garden and lake views. Each contemporary styled room features LCD TV, mini bar, 24 hour room service, broadband internet and private balconies. Conveniently located on the mezzanine level, Elements Restaurant serves a full buffet breakfast and an innovative New Zealand influenced a la carte dinner menu featuring an eclectic mix of modern dishes using the best of New Zealand produce. Guests can also choose to relax and re-energise in our ground floor Elements Cafe & Bar which features comfortable lounge furniture and a double sided schist stone fireplace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, ACCOR, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Novotel Queenstown Lakeside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside Hotel Queenstown
Novotel Gardens Queenstown
Queenstown Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing