We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Mexican” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coyote Grill

Coyote Grill
Ranked #77 of 254 Restaurants in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
370 reviews
183 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Great Mexican”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

Decided to stop here and have a meal as so fed up with steaks, pork, lamb etc. the staff were really welcoming and friendly and we gotta table straight away. We both had chicken fajitas and they were delicious. Good price for good food, we didn't try the margaritas as we were driving but people at the next table said they were delicious.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank DJinks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    152
    106
    46
    14
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Highlands, North Carolina
Level Contributor
141 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“When you need Tex-Max Coyote Grill is the place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

We wanted Tex-Mex one night and found Coyote Grill. It was as good as Pappasitos in Houston, TX and we found out why. One of the cooks was from Houston!!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank hoytandres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, LA
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014

The first night we were in Queenstown, we went there. Loved their top shelf margaritas on rocks. My husband and I split the chicken quesadillas which was plenty for 2 people. The down side is they do give you a small bowl of chips about the size of a snack pack at home while deciding what to order. We went back with another couple a few days later and I got the shrimp fijitas which I thought was very good.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank lbedrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
167 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere. Delicious food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014

This was our last meal on our two week visit to the South Island. So glad we chose this cheery place to end our trip. Wonderful service, delicious Mexican food made with fresh ingredients, and yummy margaritas! Ole!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LindaKayJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Boring and Overpriced”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

We checked out both Mexican restaurants and chose this one for price and atmosphere. We made a mistake.
Where do I start? $15 for a handful of tortilla 'strips' and room temp melted cheese dip. Even though the serve was small, we still didn't have enough tortilla to finish the dip.
The enchilada and chimmi combo for $29 was bland, small and microwaved?
The fish of the day was tasty yes, but the garlic and tomato salsa was cold? This dish was the best of the three though.
Good margaritas but for $58 a jug, let the tequila shine and ease up on the Galliano please.
Manager wasn't interested in our cost concern and waitress was a bit aloof.
Unfortunately won't return as there is too much choice in town. I also wonder when mains turn up five minutes after ordering, prices don't resemble a fast food place?!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Matilda_1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coyote Grill also viewed

Queenstown, Otago Region
 
Queenstown, Otago Region
 
Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 

Been to Coyote Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing