We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and cheerful-ish”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Queenstown
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Q Box Motorhome Park
Rotorua, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Cheap and cheerful-ish”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Very cheap but pretty budget, get in early for a flat spot! All the facilities were clean and suitable. All the buildings are renovated containers which might make CHCH people feel at home.(?) Didn't use the showers but they were free which is nice.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eden C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    13
    6
    9
    11
See reviews for
5
26
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Toowoomba, Australia
1 review
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Q Box offers a terraced motorhome park as it is located on a hilly area, the parked areas are well levelled and are appointed well allowing for different size motorhomes - our was a very large 6 birth United motorhome 5.2m long. I found the anenities clean and found the hand soap was used up, but this was corrected promptly by staff. The staff were very helpful and provided us with snow reports and road reports to make it easy for to travel. I have read some of the other reviews and I have noticed that staff have changed since last reviewed. I would also note that staff can greatly affect ones perception of a site. Anyway, we loved our stay for the two nights and would be happy to tell my freinds, yes it is rocky, and should not be tented as mentioned by staff.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank House_of_Krauss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 25, 2013

The staff and owners here are super friendly. We were given a good deal for a weekly rate. Free, hot showers with no time limit -makes a nice change! Spacious and practical kitchen. Large, sociable lounge with tv that we were able to plug our hard drive into. Outdoor firepit next to a mountain stream. What more could you want? :-)

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank ZoeandPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

So we knew this was a motor camp site, but they also have tent sites available for $30 per night. I was absolutely dissapointed. Cheap, yes. But appropriate for a tent? Not even one bit. I think they've missed the point that tents should be pitched on a flat surface.... Plus its all gravel & rock under the grass - getting the pegs in the ground we found almost impossible. We had a campervan parked right next to us, I almost tripped over their power chord one night as it went right across our tent site. My recommendation is: If you want your park to be available for tents as well, then instead of placing them on the lawn between vans, why not make a flat grass area specifically for tents, dig out the rocks and lay some soil. Otherwise keep it as just a campervan park and don't allow tents. The workers there were really friendly & helpful, facilities were ok for the amount they charge. I can't speak for camper vans, but for tenters, pay a little bit extra and stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatiePatatie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam J, Front Office Manager at Q Box Motorhome Park, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Hi KatiePatatie,

Really sorry about your disappointment with our Motorhome ground, We do not advertise that we have Camping sites. We do explain that we don't have 'Camp sites' But if someone is happy to stay at our grounds in a tent, That is entirely their choice. We always let the people in tents check out the area before they decide to stay here or not.

If this wasn't explained to you, I apologize.

Sam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Queenstown hotels

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Reasonable price but not a nice site. Got the impression it was a carpark converted to a motorhome park; by placing some portacabins on it to house the services. It did have both a kitchen and a lounge, neither of which we had to use. Neither were overly inviting. The toilets / showers were not very clean and you were expected to mop up after your shower.

Staff not very friendly, cramped site which did not feel like it was only 2 years old. Very run down. We would not stay again - the worst place we stayed in 3 weeks.

That said, if you just want somewhere to park the van for the night - it's better value than the other ones in town.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AucklandPiwis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, Shropshire
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Reasonable price but no credit card facility. Stayed just one night with a campervan. Had to move from first powered site as there was no power! Small sites, close together. Shower/toilet facilities were disgusting and looked as though they were never cleaned - dirty sinks, no soap and wastebin was overflowing all over the floor and the shower cubicles were dirty. You were expected to clean the shower floor after use with the mop provided. The kitchen and lounge areas were also dirty with worn out, filthy seats but some people seemed happy to use the facilities. It could have been very nice, as the actual campsite was set on a hillside, with a stream running through, with pleasant woodland walks nearby. A shame it was not looked after. It was more suitable for young people, which was what most campers were. There was lots of drinking and noise until the small hours and then empty bottles, cans and scraps of food lying around in the morning but at least it was quiet as most people were sleeping late! A long walk into the city but there was a supermarket ten minutes walk away.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wanderluster101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam J, Front Office Manager at Q Box Motorhome Park, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Hi Wanderluster101,

I apologize that you had a disappointing stay with us.

Every site here at QboX is a powered site, We have a Hookup for every three to four sites and we provide long cables or extension cables if your does not reach. All of the toilet facilities at QboX have soap dispensers which are filled every morning if needed.
We have a mop at the shower facilities for guests to mop the floors in the cubical for the next person to use, so it's pleasant for the next guest.

The walk into the main town area is 10 minutes and the supermarket 5 minutes.

If your experience with us was so disappointing, Others need to Avoid it. You should of popped into reception where we would of been happy to help your stay with us better. All feedback is taken seriously.

Once again, I apologize.

Sam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boquete, Panama
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Just another marketing gag. Or do you think freedom camping means to be squashed between campervans?
They opened in 2010 and since then they have done nothing it seems. The road is horrible and bumpy. The facilities are disappointing. The staff is far from being friendly and the organisation in the camp is very poor. Do not stay there!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank poklad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
2.5 mi away
Queenstown TOP 10 Holiday Park
0.9 mi away
Queenstown Lakeview Holiday Park
0.5 mi away
Queenstown Holiday Park & Motel Creeksyde
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
1.7 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#27 of 58 in Queenstown
1,409 reviews
1.0 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#20 of 58 in Queenstown
3,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Q Box Motorhome Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Q Box Motorhome Park

Property: Q Box Motorhome Park
Address: 21 Bowen Street, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 92 Specialty Lodging in Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing