We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful hotel with superb hospitality and attention to detail”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Browns Boutique Hotel
Ranked #6 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington
2 reviews
“A beautiful hotel with superb hospitality and attention to detail”
Reviewed April 14, 2010

I would highly recommend Browns Boutique Hotel for overseas and nz tourists alike. Excellent in all respects. Wonderful hosts with a great knowledge of local events and places of interest.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KayeBWellington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

738 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    560
    128
    38
    8
    4
See reviews for
66
525
31
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
brisbane
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2010

best place for completing an ultimate hikes trip. very close to the centre of town. Gillian and Donald are the best hosts and nothing is too much trouble. We will be returning soon.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrisbaneFreddo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2010

This a really nice place in a fabulous part of the world. The owners were so friendly--really made us feel at home. They made great dinner suggestions, and helped us arrange tours. It was a very comfortable place to spend a few days. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AW51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Ma.
Level 5 Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2010

Brown’s Boutique is a wonderful small hotel walking distance to everything in Queenstown. Contrary to previous reviewer, we felt it was a good value for their hospitality, cleanliness, friendliness, ideal location and delicious wholesome breakfasts while being in a very popular town. Queenstown is a tourist area and a jumping off spot for many outdoor activities and draws many young adults, as well as older ones (like us, grin) and can be a little noisy during weekend nights. That being said, Brown’s and its hosts, Gillian and Donald were accessible, engaging and very friendly…truly making our stay memorable. They even stored our luggage while we hiked the Routeburn Track for 3 days…very convenient. Gillian and Donald also had wonderful restaurant recommendations…avoiding the pricey ones and suggesting ones with good food & ambiance. Their recommendations were perfect for us. As for our room, it was large with a fantastic view of harbor, the beds were extremely comfortable and all amenities top quality. We also took advantage of the free internet services. We highly recommend Brown’s and thoroughly enjoyed our stay with Gillian and Donald.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gemini5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2010

We stayed at Browns for 2 nights while we 'experienced' Queenstown. Browns is a small family-run hotel featuring luxury rooms. A first-class cooked breakfast is included, served in communal surroundings where it's fun to chat to the other guests and compare notes about the trip. Browns is similar to a good 5-star UK B&B. We had a lovely large room with a nice bathroom, shower over the bath. The linen is super and bathrobes are provided. There is a fridge and hair dryer in the room. Everything is spotless and very well presented. There is a good free wireless internet service and a modern TV set, but with no Sky TV channels (Kiwi broadcast TV is as bad as the Aussie channels!). On the downside, off-street parking is limited and very tight. Strangely for a luxury establishment, the only laundry service offered is a minimum NZ$50 load, making it impractical, we thought. The location is central but rather noisy at night (Queenstown is a party town) and a stiff 10 minute hike down and back up the hill to and from the lake and wharf, although not far from the gondola cable car terminal.
Browns was the most expensive place we used on our trip and we didn't think it offered great value for money compared to the others we saw round South Island. Equally, Queenstown is a blatant tourist town based on extreme activities (bungee jumps, paragliding, winter skiing etc etc) and in a stunningly beautiful setting -- all the accommodation is priced accordingly although we thought better value was probably available. When we arrived in Queenstown we increased the average age of the visitors by 20 years -- next time we tour South Island we will probably give it a miss.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikedee25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2010

This is a terrific small hotel with wonderful service. All rooms have small balcony's with great views of Queenstown, Lake Wakapitu and the Remarkables beyond. The hotel is in a quiet location but within easy walking of everything the town has to offer. The hotel is very well maintained- everything was spotless. Breakfasts were delicious. And then there are the owners - Gillian & Donald - What a charming, delightful and helpful couple (and certainly NOT to be confused with prior owners who - apparently - were once compared to Sybil and Basil). We will return to Queenstown and will return to Browns.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mickmacs007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2010

We were made to feel very welcome at Brown's. Our room was very comfortable with all amenities and lovely balcony that looked out down the hill over Queenstown and the lake. Breakfast was a real treat. Sharing a large table with other guests, felt home away from home. The living room was cosy and offered wireless broadband. It was decorated beautifully for xmas! One night after an early dinner out we met up with some other guests we met there and sat in the lounge, talked til late supping a lovely New Zealand S.B. wine. Perfect! So helpful with hints of things to do. we were sorry to leave after only 3 nights!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.3 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
0.1 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
1.6 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
0.3 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#21 of 58 in Queenstown
3,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Browns Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Browns Boutique Hotel

Property: Browns Boutique Hotel
Address: 26 Isle Street, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#10 Family Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Browns Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This stylishly comfortable European inspired Bed & Breakfast is perfect Queenstown accommodation for your next vacation or ski holiday combining the intimate, timeless feel with genuine New Zealand hospitality. Free Wifi, Cooked/Continental breakfast, Sweeping Remarkables mountain views, Free off-street parking, Heated ski storage/drying room, Cosy lounge with open fire, Library /DVD selection, Outdoor courtyard with fireplace, Outdoor giant chess, Central heating, Home baked biscuits and sweets, SuperKing sized beds, Ensuite bathrooms, Complimentary fresh milk, water and fruit juice, LCD flatscreen TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Browns Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Browns Boutique Queenstown
Hotel Browns Boutique

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing