We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Browns Boutique Hotel
Ranked #5 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely B&B”
Reviewed January 11, 2014

Gillian and Donald are lovely hosts. Rooms clean with balconies looking over the town. Nice back garden for a glass of wine at the end of the day. Everything in town is within walking distance. We stayed for two days on either side of our Ultimate Hikes/Milford Track tramp and left our luggage with them. Laundry can be done here if you give them some notice and ample time to return it.
No elevator so request lower floor to minimize stairs.

Gillian is particularly kind and personable.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KPDavidson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
br0wnsh0tel, Owner at Browns Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Lots of folk from your side of the USA this year. So kind to post your friendly review, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

733 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    557
    128
    37
    8
    3
See reviews for
66
520
31
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
66 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for three nights in late December and it was just great. Queenstown is an exciting, bordering on loud party town and I really appreciated the ability to step back a couple of streets to the tranquillity that this little hotel offered after we'd had our fill of the excitement each day. Gillian and Don were attentive without being intrusive and the breakfasts were a highlight. A great view of the township and upper end of the lake topped off a great experience. Thanks for the stay. I'd go back next time in QT. Scot.

Room Tip: All rooms have views but we stayed in the disabled amenities room (I think) and you get an extra big...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scot B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
br0wnsh0tel, Owner at Browns Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Once again, thanks for taking the time to write a nice review for us. We really appreciate your comments and hope to see you back one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton of Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
236 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

First of all - I am not sure how you gain the status 'Boutique hotel', but it certainly isn't appropriate here. It isn't boutique and it isn't a hotel. It is run by an older couple, the male owner certainly not enjoying being on the serving side. ..
Our room was spacious enough and clean, but the very misleading advertising for amazing lake view is a lie. If you pressed your head against the window you could just about see the edge of the lake.
The bathroom looks like any other we had in road side motels. Not luxurious as they promise.
First come first serve parking! In a 'boutique hotel". .?
The only place we have stayed on our trip around New Zealand where they serve you tinned fruit for breakfast - and it's middle of summer!
One pot of filtered coffee for everyone. .,surely a boutique hotel can pull off a proper espresso..?!
We have paid over $350 a night and call it a rip off and a bad choice.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JitkaW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
br0wnsh0tel, Owner at Browns Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Oh dear and we have had such lovely reviews! Firstly we do not appreciate the suggestion that we lie. The property does offer lake and mountain views so we are not sure what you were looking at.
We advertise stunning town, lake and mountain views. Not only are there great views of the town and mountains from inside the room but the views from the individual balconies (which everyone has) are spectacular. The lake is only one part of the whole vista. Not sure where you saw "luxurious" bathrooms and yes our parking is unfortunately limited but at least we offer some. We serve fresh fruit every morning as well tinned produce, perhaps you did not see it? We offer high quality "bottomless coffee" which is refilled several times each morning.
We are sorry your experience was not what you expected. We really enjoy providing all manner of help and service, however It is hard to provide great service if people do not take the opportunity to receive it.
We would just refer readers to our past reviews for a more balanced perspective.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

This was a lovely hotel in a great quiet location. We had a lovely end room with a view. There was even a view from the bathroom which you could enjoy while taking a shower! The breakfasts were lovely and cooked to order. The owners were helpful and very friendly. Would highly recommend.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank baggiebird22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
br0wnsh0tel, Owner at Browns Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Thanks so much for your very kind words, we do appreciate you taking the time and are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

We (my husband and two teenagers) like its location! A very short and quiet walk to downtown . After downtown's noise we can have a very quiet and nice relax in this cozy hotel.
The hosts are extremely friendly and provide excellent information for us including tour and food ! My friend strongly recommend me this hotel when she knew that my family were planning to go to Queenstown. It is an excellent recommendation. Although price are almost same as 5 star famous hotel but we think the quality and location worth even better. That is what means "a relax vacation "

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ty460425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
br0wnsh0tel, Owner at Browns Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
We have had a number of families this season and you have all been great company. Thank you so much for posting your review and trust you will come visit us again one day
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon, Connecticut
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed December 29, 2013

I recently traveled solo from Connecticut to Queenstown, NZ and stayed here for 4 nights. I had a wonderful view of the town from the balcony in my room. I was warmly greeted by Donald and Gillian who provided me with a wealth of information about the area and getting around the town. The town and a number of attractions are within walking distance. The breakfasts were delicious, the accommodations were very clean and comfortable, updated and it was a wonderful place to start my trip, restful and relaxed. I would highly recommend this property.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
br0wnsh0tel, Owner at Browns Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Carol so nice to receive your recent review. Thanks for the kind words it makes our day so much better when we see such a nice review of our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

My family and I had a very good experience at Browns! This was actually recommended to us by another family.
We were immediately greeted/helped by the host and hostess upon arrival and they were able to give us a lot of information to tour around Queenstown. They also took care of our Christmas Eve dinner for us by booking our restaurants (we kept changing our minds so they had to keep cancelling and making reservations). They make very lovely breakfasts and are always chatting with guests in the morning! The host and hostess are always there to help you and answer your questions!
The rooms are very nice and spacious. I got a room with two single beds, and stayed on the top floor. The view was also very nice, overlooking Queenstown and the lake. (Room 7 and 8). It was a bit more expensive for us because we stayed over christmas eve night.
The hotel is located on a small hill, but it is literally a 5 minute walk to everything else. There is a short cut that they will show you that lets you walk straight down into the city center! Super convenient location!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arielle Fu Hua Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
br0wnsh0tel, Owner at Browns Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Thank you for coming to stay all the way from China. We really appreciate your kind comments and hope you had a great time in Queenstown.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
0.3 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
1.6 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
0.1 mi away
The Dairy Private Hotel
The Dairy Private Hotel
#4 of 58 in Queenstown
870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Browns Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Browns Boutique Hotel

Property: Browns Boutique Hotel
Address: 26 Isle Street, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#10 Family Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Browns Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This stylishly comfortable European inspired Bed & Breakfast is perfect Queenstown accommodation for your next vacation or ski holiday combining the intimate, timeless feel with genuine New Zealand hospitality. Free Wifi, Cooked/Continental breakfast, Sweeping Remarkables mountain views, Free off-street parking, Heated ski storage/drying room, Cosy lounge with open fire, Library /DVD selection, Outdoor courtyard with fireplace, Outdoor giant chess, Central heating, Home baked biscuits and sweets, SuperKing sized beds, Ensuite bathrooms, Complimentary fresh milk, water and fruit juice, LCD flatscreen TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Browns Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Browns Boutique Queenstown
Hotel Browns Boutique

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing