We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Browns Boutique Hotel
Ranked #5 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
141 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Very pleasant stay”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

We stayed here for three nights over the New Year period. The hotel is very well located and a path from the house leads you to the town centre easily. There are a few parking spaces within the hotel grounds. Our room had fabulous views of the town and the lake. The room was beautifully appointed and very comfortable. The bathroom was spacious and the shower was good. We had some cookies in a jar waiting for us which was a nice touch. We were made to feel very welcome, and being the New Year period, Gillian did a fantastic job of getting tables for dinner for two nights. As we were on a Milford Sound trip the next day, we asked for an early breakfast in our room. The other breakfasts were in the dining room, taken with other guests around communal tables. There were interesting cooked options every morning along with fruit, bread and cereals. All in all, a very pleasant stay at Browns.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Isobella_D_N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
br0wnsh0tel, Owner at Browns Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Thanks for posting your review, we hope you enjoyed your time in Queenstown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

733 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    557
    128
    37
    8
    3
See reviews for
66
520
31
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

In April, 2013 my wife and I stayed at Browns Boutique Hotel and were very pleased with our choice. Our hosts were always willing to provide information as to where we should visit while in Qweenstown. Location is so important - you can walk to town from Browns.

Room Tip: Just walk to town from Browns Boutique Hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank impact111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
br0wnsh0tel, Owner at Browns Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Thank you for your recent review, we have had such a lot of folk from Texas, it's been great and trust you enjoyed your time here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We spent 5 nights at Brows for our 20 year anniversary and our first trip to New Zealand. The B&B is convienently located just about 5 minutes from the center of Queenstown. The room was nice and the view from our balcony was beautiful (except for seeing the neighbor sitting in his boxing shorts watching TV). Jillian was extremely helpful in making our stay just perfect. She would help us research expeditions to go on, make phone calls to book for us, and give recommendations for restaurants. Donald's breakfasts were delicious and beautifully prepared.

Room Tip: Ask for the top floor when booking. We were on the main floor and could easily see into the neighbo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TheTaylors4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
br0wnsh0tel, Owner at Browns Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Thanks for your kind review. Sorry we can't control the dress code of our neighbours but pleased you enjoyed the great views from our balconies!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We, mother and daughter stayed three nights at Brown's which is very close to main street and all the good restaurants. Donald and Gillian were very warm, wonderful hosts. Lovely, cozy hotel with spacious rooms having a spectacular view of the lake and mountains.Great breakfast and interesting brief conversations with other guests.

Room Tip: all the upstairs rooms have lovely view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anju107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
br0wnsh0tel, Owner at Browns Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Thank you ladies for your nice review. We enjoyed having you with us and hope you took many happy memories (and photos!) of you Queenstown visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We had two nights at Browns. The locations is great, as others have said you can walk anywhere in Queenstown from the hotel, 5 mins into town and the wharf area, 5 mins to the gondola. The hosts, Donald and Gillian go out of their way to make you feel welcome and have great advice on sightseeing and restaurants. We had a spacious room on the top floor with great views over the town. Free internet, small jar of cookies to have with your tea and coffee, delicious breakfast with specials each day, guests sit at shared table which encourages conversation. The shower was disappointing as it was in the bath and set very low on the wall so you couldn't actually stand under it. A minor negative to an otherwise enjoyable stay. An extremely quiet location If you feel like eating with the locals ask for directions to Vknow a great Italian bistro about 10 mins from the hotel by car.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oscar5310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
br0wnsh0tel, Owner at Browns Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Thanks so much for your great review, it's pleasing when we see happy results from our guest's visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena CA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

Just back from a wonderful trip to New Zealand and spent 2 days at Brown's Hotel, a great small hotel in Queenstown.
Enjoyed the location, spacious room, delicious breakfast and good company of interesting guests. Highly recommend Brown's.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank smith2jones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
br0wnsh0tel, Owner at Browns Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to post your kind review, we appreciate your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

We stayed at Browns for 5 days in March 2013. We were blessed with beautiful sunny weather which allowed us to get round the regions attractions.
The hotel was great as we had room 10 with fabulous views and all the facilities we required. The location allows you to ditch the car and walk to the gondola lift plus all the towns attractions.
The only caution was beware of dining out options as there are some poor venues in town, we recommend My Thai, Vudu, Sasso and warn against @Thai arguably the worst Thai place in the world.

Room Tip: Rooms 5 and 10 would be the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
br0wnsh0tel, Owner at Browns Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Thanks so much for your recent review. It's also good to get feedback on other Queenstown experiences.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
0.3 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
1.6 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
0.1 mi away
The Dairy Private Hotel
The Dairy Private Hotel
#4 of 58 in Queenstown
870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Browns Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Browns Boutique Hotel

Property: Browns Boutique Hotel
Address: 26 Isle Street, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#10 Family Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Browns Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This stylishly comfortable European inspired Bed & Breakfast is perfect Queenstown accommodation for your next vacation or ski holiday combining the intimate, timeless feel with genuine New Zealand hospitality. Free Wifi, Cooked/Continental breakfast, Sweeping Remarkables mountain views, Free off-street parking, Heated ski storage/drying room, Cosy lounge with open fire, Library /DVD selection, Outdoor courtyard with fireplace, Outdoor giant chess, Central heating, Home baked biscuits and sweets, SuperKing sized beds, Ensuite bathrooms, Complimentary fresh milk, water and fruit juice, LCD flatscreen TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Browns Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Browns Boutique Queenstown
Hotel Browns Boutique

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing