We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bliss in Queenstown”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Browns Boutique Hotel
Ranked #7 of 59 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 28, 2013

We stayed at Browns for 5 days in March 2013. We were blessed with beautiful sunny weather which allowed us to get round the regions attractions.
The hotel was great as we had room 10 with fabulous views and all the facilities we required. The location allows you to ditch the car and walk to the gondola lift plus all the towns attractions.
The only caution was beware of dining out options as there are some poor venues in town, we recommend My Thai, Vudu, Sasso and warn against @Thai arguably the worst Thai place in the world.

Room Tip: Rooms 5 and 10 would be the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
br0wnsh0tel, Owner at Browns Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

Thanks so much for your recent review. It's also good to get feedback on other Queenstown experiences.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (745)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

456 - 462 of 745 reviews

Reviewed March 28, 2013

We are just finishing our stay in Queenstown (first visit) and loved staying at Browns. Donald and Gillian are wonderful hosts - friendly and helpful. The included breakfasts are plentiful and delicious and we enjoyed talking with other guests at the large dining room tables. There is a lovely outdoor patio and common room. We loved our room - it is large and airy and on the second floor we had a great view of the town. (The neighbor just below us has lambs and that property isn't all that terrific to look at, but not a huge deal.) The walk down to the town is very easy and quick. Coming home means coming up 60 steps and then a short uphill climb. Great way to work off a few calories from dinner!

A few notes about the room: the tub is very narrow, but the water is hot and the shampoo and conditioner very nice. The towels were plentiful and large. There is not enough counter space in the bathrooms, but we found that to be the case in most of our lodging choices in NZ. The bed is wonderfully comfortable and there are a few pillow choices, too. There was a small jar with homemade cookies on a shelf under the TV - and they were delicious.

The hotel is immaculate and service to rooms is done efficiently every morning. We did not hear any noise from any other guest inside the hotel.

All in all, we truly loved our stay at Browns and would highly recommend it!

Room Tip: Upper floor has better views, but there is no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sailorgirl461
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
br0wnsh0tel, Owner at Browns Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

What a nice informative review, just the kind we like. We are delighted you were happy with us and did enjoy your time in Queenstown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

The hotel is 5 min walk from the gondola and the luge, kiwi park, downtown and the lakefront. I did not need any transportation while there. The room was clean and tidy equipped with tea kettle, coffee maker, complimentary cookies, and juices in the refrigerator. There was also free wi fi. The room had a balcony that overlooked the patio. I could see the lake from my balcony. The hosts were very welcoming and helpful. They had menus of different restaurants and made reservations for me. Breakfast was awesome with plenty to choose from with some specials too. It was raining and everyone came to breakfast at the same time: late! They still managed to offer everyone a hot cooked awesome breakfast. I highly recommend this B&B

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
br0wnsh0tel, Owner at Browns Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

Thank you also for taking some time to post your kind review. We are pleased you enjoyed the communal atmosphere at breakfast time, people do seem to linger and chat.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Queenstown was the fourth stop on an intensive 3-week tour of New Zealand and Australia. Our nine accommodations ranged from city hotels, small B&Bs to boutique hotels, but only two were impressive enough for us to write about. Browns Boutique Hotel is one of them. It is truly a five-star small luxury hotel with a European feel.

Innkeepers Gillian and Donald McDonald run a lovely and strategically located hotel– from the handsome common spaces to the guestrooms, balconies and lovely garden terrace overlooking scenic Queenstown harbor. This is a comfortable and inviting place that matches the description on their website (http://www.brownshotel.co.nz). Their convenient back entrance leads to a stairway down onto the center of town, with the Mall and the Wharf right at hand.

Our 5-night stay was actually divided by an overnight cruise on Doubtful Sound, which Gillian and Don facilitated by checking our larger luggage and having a corner room available upon our return. Their restaurant suggestions were spot on – the food is excellent in Queenstown.

Gillian and Don are a most helpful and interesting couple who quickly put their guests at ease with gracious hospitality. What we learned to appreciate most about the Kiwis of New Zealand is their openness and friendliness. Add to that the extensive and delicious breakfasts, we were sorry not to have even more time to spend with them!

Room Tip: Rooms 4 and 5 were lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank B Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
br0wnsh0tel, Owner at Browns Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

From New York to Queenstown is a big leap but thank you so much for your lovely review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us, we did enjoy having you with us and hope you have great memories of your time in Queenstown.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

I had read very positive reviews about this hotel on trip advisor and had been really looking forward to my stay here, I was not disappointed. The rooms are beautifully decorated larger than average size and impeccably clean. The views from the balconies are fantastic and although you feel like you are hidden away from the hustle and bustle of the town it takes less than 5 minutes to walk into the centre. Being on a hill makes it great for views of both the lake and the mountains. Donald and Gillian are extremely warm hosts and nothing is too much trouble. Breakfasts are great and I like the dinning table set up as you get the opportunity to swap stories with other guests. The lounge is very tastefully decorated and lovely to sit in with friends, in sunny weather the patio area is also lovely. What I particularly liked was the jar of home made cookies and marshmallows ( filled daily if required) and the lovely bathroom products. Towels were fine for us not sure what the previous guests were on about we thought it was great the amount of extra towel that were provided in the bathroom. Would definitely stay there again and you won't be disappointed. Much better than any chain hotel we stayed in.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 9 which was lovely but there are two rooms at the end which have an extra window i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JaneDA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
br0wnsh0tel, Owner at Browns Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2013

Sometimes there are people who are just such a delight to have as guests and you two were just that. Thank you for your lovely review, it's rewarding to know our guests are generally very happy with us. Do come again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Room was nicely appointed and had great view of Queenstown. Breakfast was good, temporary hosts were very friendly and accommodating. Out of the main center of town, but only a short walk to get there. Only reason not a five rating was the limited parking in the area on a very narrow street.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charles D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
br0wnsh0tel, Owner at Browns Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2013

It's always great to see our relief managers get nice reviews as well. Thanks for your recent review and kind comments, it is always appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

This hotel is on a quiet street but if you leave by the back gate a short walk gets you right into the center. The room was well equipped and spacious. We left early one morning before breakfast so the hosts provided us with a breakfast tray the night before. There were lots of choices for breakfast something for everyone. Gillian and Donald were the perfect hosts helpful,friendly and informative.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jaym46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
br0wnsh0tel, Owner at Browns Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to post your kind review. It's nice to know you liked the room, our breakfasts and your experience with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.3 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
3.5 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
The Dairy Private Hotel
The Dairy Private Hotel
#2 of 59 in Queenstown
917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
0.1 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
1.6 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Browns Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Browns Boutique Hotel

Address: 26 Isle Street, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#8 Family Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range: $203 - $401 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Browns Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This stylishly comfortable European inspired Bed & Breakfast is perfect Queenstown accommodation for your next vacation or ski holiday combining the intimate, timeless feel with genuine New Zealand hospitality. Free Wifi, Cooked/Continental breakfast, Sweeping Remarkables mountain views, Free off-street parking, Heated ski storage/drying room, Cosy lounge with open fire, Library /DVD selection, Outdoor courtyard with fireplace, Outdoor giant chess, Central heating, Home baked biscuits and sweets, SuperKing sized beds, Ensuite bathrooms, Complimentary fresh milk, water and fruit juice, LCD flatscreen TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Browns Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Browns Boutique Queenstown
Hotel Browns Boutique

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing