We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very helpful owners, superb breakfasts” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Browns Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Browns Boutique Hotel
Ranked #6 of 57 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very helpful owners, superb breakfasts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

Two couples for a three night stay which we all enjoyed. A bit uphill out of town but only 5-10 mins walk. Very clean, tidy and well kept by the friendly owners Gillian and Donald. They are an excellent source of local information, ensure you ask about trips, sights and places to eat.
Rooms reasonable size and there is a lounge area and nice outdoor seating.
Queenstown is a great place to visit and this is a good base to stay at.
Limited breakfast menu but excellently cooked and presented which made for empty plates and a good start to the day.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mac S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
br0wnsh0tel, Owner at Browns Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to post your kind review. It is always a balance between providing either too many breakfast choices or not enough. Generally our guests seem to find our balance about right.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

718 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    547
    124
    37
    7
    3
See reviews for
65
511
28
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

A brilliant Christmas stay with Gillian & Donald. Nothing too much trouble for them, very friendly and relaxed in an understated way. We asked for a picnic for Christmas Day and Gillian sorted this out exactly as we wanted. The location is so good as well for access to all of Queenstown's activities and restaurants. Donald's breakfasts were a great way to get the day going as well. Highly recommended, we'll be back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KJHsingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
br0wnsh0tel, Owner at Browns Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Thanks so much for your review, Christmas seems such a long time ago! we were pleased to create a nice picnic for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Hanningfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

This is boutique B&B how it should be. New Zealand style offering the best of tradition, location and wonderful owners Donald and Gillian who were like friends not owners. The friendly service was second to none and the rooms spacious and well appointed. The breakfasts were superb and offered whatever you could desire.
Superb location within minutes walk of Queenstown with balcony veiws of the town.

Kevin & Sue Bailey January 2013

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KevBinessex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
br0wnsh0tel, Owner at Browns Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you Kevin and Sue for your lovely comments in your review. It is always heartwarming to hear your experience with us was a pleasant and enjoyable one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

We loved our stay with Gillian and Donald. They were so friendly and helpful with anything we asked. Our room was lovely, and we had a great view of Queenstown from it. Downtown Queenstown was well within walking distance. We also enjoyed breakfasting with the other travelers. I would recommend this for others.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
br0wnsh0tel, Owner at Browns Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thanks for your review Sarah and Dan, we hope you had a great time in Queenstown.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

We were glad to have had this lovely B&B recommended to us and our hosts and stand-in hosts made our time here special.They were friendly and helpful and the breakfasts on offer were terrific. I would have to agree with Marianne and David's comment about getting our TV to show the tennis, but the local pubs had it on anyway. We were probably the the noisy 5.30am group going off to our early trip to Milford Sound or our 75km Grand Traverse tramp! (We were grateful that our extra luggage could be stored for us whilst were on our walk.) Thanks for your help and friendly service, Jillian and Donald,Kaye and Derek and the rest of the service staff. We hope to return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
br0wnsh0tel, Owner at Browns Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thanks for your kind words in your review. It's nice that you thought our relief managers looked after you well. Thanks again for taking the time to post your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

just a few steps away from the city center, great location. we thoroughly enjoyed our stay with great hosts, Donald and Gillian - they went FAR beyond call helping us with a major passport issue and we will be forever grateful. Breakfast was well-enjoyed sitting in the cozy dining room outside was also a lovely patio.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrijan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
br0wnsh0tel, Owner at Browns Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
We were so pleased to be able to help with your travel arrangements and thank you for your kind comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
113 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

We hesitate to write a negative report because this B&B is a lovely, European feel, place to stay. We have, however, stayed in Queenstown a number of times in hotels and apartments and so have a number of reference points. It is advertised as a boutique hotel but should be listed as what it is - a charming B&B and more importantly, charge the appropriate rates for a B&B, not the boutique hotel rates we paid. Our visit was to mark a special occasion and we chose what we thought was something 'special'. The view of the lake is only possible from the small juliet balcony unless you have the end room which has a side window. The main view from inside the room is of scruffy neighbours yards. The rooms are very clean but fairly sparse and the cable television only has NZ channels, disappointing when the Australian Open Tennis and other international events are on. The bathroom, obviously last renovated 15 years ago or so, had nowhere to put anything except for the small area around the sink. The shower in the bath, is such a narrow space with barely enough space to stand in - the narrowest bath we've ever seen. One major problem was the nearby room doors making a loud bang when closed and which reverberated through the building - seriously need some sort of sound deadening, especially as the noisy early departures are very disturbing to say the least and added to the slamming doors, the rolling suitcases on the tiled floors made for an earlier than wanted start to the day on a couple of mornings (one was at 5.30am)
If we had not paid so much for our room, we would not have a word of complaint because the hosts are top class, especially Gillian and including the couple who replaced them when they themselves headed of for a break, all very obliging people.

Room Tip: Try to have Room 10 or the room directly below, which have the side window and so the lake can be se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarianneandDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
br0wnsh0tel, Owner at Browns Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to give your review some thought. It's always helpful to get good feedback regarding all aspects of the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
1.6 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
0.2 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
0.3 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
The Dairy Private Hotel
The Dairy Private Hotel
#3 of 57 in Queenstown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 845 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Browns Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Browns Boutique Hotel

Property: Browns Boutique Hotel
Address: 26 Isle Street, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#10 Family Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Browns Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This stylishly comfortable European inspired Bed & Breakfast is perfect Queenstown accommodation for your next vacation or ski holiday combining the intimate, timeless feel with genuine New Zealand hospitality. Free Wifi, Cooked/Continental breakfast, Sweeping Remarkables mountain views, Free off-street parking, Heated ski storage/drying room, Cosy lounge with open fire, Library /DVD selection, Outdoor courtyard with fireplace, Outdoor giant chess, Central heating, Home baked biscuits and sweets, SuperKing sized beds, Ensuite bathrooms, Complimentary fresh milk, water and fruit juice, LCD flatscreen TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Browns Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Browns Boutique Queenstown
Hotel Browns Boutique

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing