We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice night away from it all”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Browns Boutique Hotel
Ranked #5 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Airlie Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Nice night away from it all”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

My partner and I chose to get away for a night, late August 2011. We found the male host to be a little cold, but the female made up for that. Parking was a bit of an experience in our Mitsubishi outlander, due to lack of room. We certainly knew we were in queenstown by the price we paid! We enjoyed breakfast although felt a little awkward sharing a table with strangers. Thank you for a nice night away from it all.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 62Love2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
br0wnsh0tel, Owner at Browns Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to post your review after such a long time!
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

733 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    557
    128
    37
    8
    3
See reviews for
66
520
31
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 12, 2012 via mobile

Having stayed in some of the best hotels in NZ and beyond, I took a gamble and picked Browns over the nearby Hilton.....and what a great decision it was! Our hosts were wonderful, really friendly and helpful, and there's a real family feel to the place. The rooms are beautiful with a great view, the breakfast is amazing, and the location perfect for walking everywhere. All in all, this place is a little gem and much better than the bigger hotels where you're just another customer!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pro9477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
br0wnsh0tel, Owner at Browns Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Thanks so much for your great review.
We are really thrilled to know that you enjoyed your stay so much and hope that you will visit again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Our overriding feeling about this hotel is that it is very overpriced for what it offers. It’s one of the more expensive ‘hotels’ in Queenstown but it is really just a Bed & Breakfast.

Their website makes a big play on the lake views but the view of the lake is just one small portion being the bay where Queenstown Central is.

We felt the service was somewhat perfunctory and wooden. We got the feeling that the owners are getting a bit tired of the whole thing. One day we asked whether we could have an early breakfast the following day because we were being picked up from the hotel at 7.05 am to go on a tour. Breakfast is normally 7.30 – 10.00 am and is included in the tariff. We were provided with the non-cooked part of the breakfast at 6.50 am but there was no offer to give us the cooked portion, even though when we left the dining room at 7.00 am we could smell bacon being cooked in the adjoining kitchen. If timing was an issue, they could have taken our breakfast orders the previous evening.

The information in the room said ‘feel free to ask for a late check-out’. Normal checkout time is 10.00 am. The day we departed we asked whether we could use our room until noon because our flight left in the early afternoon. We were quickly told that the latest they could do was 11.00 am. Even though we were able to use the communal lounge area, given how much we were paying, this and the breakfast issue above, just seemed small-minded and underwhelming. I feel there is no real understanding of, or dedication to, service here.

There were a number of small issues that may seem petty but don’t really gel with the boutique hotel description. For example, if you want to make a cup of coffee early in the morning, there is no light over the coffee area and you have to turn the main room lights on to see what you are doing. Of course this wakes up your partner. There are no electrical wall sockets near the sides of the bed so we couldn’t use our iPad in bed and having it charging at the same time. There are three electrical sockets in the room. Two of them are low in the skirting board near the carpet - so low that some of the mains adapters for our electronic gear would not fit in the space between socket and the floor, so we were left with the single socket near the electric jug to charge our gear.

The bath/shower leak problems have been well documented here. Apart from that, a shower fitting over a very narrow bath just doesn’t cut it for a hotel of this price. Also there was a ventilation fan in the bathroom that came on with the light. It made a very irritating high-pitched whine that stayed on for about 20 minutes after the light was turned off. We had to keep the bathroom door shut to avoid this noise in our room.

We wanted to keep the curtains open in our room at night so we could see the city lights and the mountains. However there is a very bright light outside, illuminating the path to the street and the courtyard. This shone directly into our room and stayed on all night, ruining the night effect. This light should be shaded to shine down so it still illuminates the path etc, but not shine up into the rooms.

Overall I think this hotel is overrated and over-priced for the services and service it delivers. What really got me was the fact that after we had booked via bookings.com , where they say ‘guaranteed lowest price’, the hotel started offering a substantially discounted price for the period we were there but we were prohibited from taking that up because the hotel imposes full-price cancellation fee once you are 14 days out from the start of your stay.

Overall we did enjoy our stay – just not what we expected for the price.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kiwicj55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
br0wnsh0tel, Owner at Browns Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post such a detailed review.
Sadly we could of helped with many of the points outlined had they been addressed to us in person at the time. It is therefore disappointing that they were raised in this way.
For instance there are 5 electrical sockets in every room with one on each side of the bed. Perhaps you just did not see them? We have a variety of adapters available which may have solved your electrical problems. You simply needed to ask.

Our checkout times are all about allowing enough time to prepare the room for incoming guests.
With only ten rooms we do not have the luxury of spare rooms which larger properties enjoy.
The bathrooms exhaust fans actually shut off after 8 minutes but thank you for highlighting this.
I am sure we have all experienced airlines "dynamic" pricing, the accommodation industry is no different,
again, if you had raised this issue with us at the time, we may have found a simple solution.

We are really pleased that you did enjoy your stay with us. We try to provide our guests with with an enjoyable experience by sharing our local knowledge and helping in all manner of ways.
But some things we cannot resolve for our guests if we are unaware there is a problem and two way communication often resolves all issues amicably.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We arrived in Queenstown on a cold wet afternoon, lake and mountains covered in cloud, but the warm welcome we received at Browns cheered us up immediately. Our room was great, bed comfortable, and it was bliss to have a bath as well as shower! Breakfasts were delicious, and Gillian was a mine of information regarding the town, facilities and activities. The hotel is well placed, being a very short (if steep!) walk to the town centre. All in all, a great place to stay.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Diana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Thank you very much to Gillian and Donald at Browns Boutique Hotel for making us feel right at home in your lovely establishment. Breakfast was great every morning and fuelled us for the days activities (& there is so much to do in Queenstown). Gillian - William is still missing your pancakes for breakfast!
Located in Isle Street, Brown's is quiet but access to town is an easy stroll (uphill on the way back - good for the fitness and to walk off a delicious dinner at one of the many restaurants). Our rooms were comfortable & clean and the staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SchwebelFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
br0wnsh0tel, Owner at Browns Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Hi family we are so pleased you had a great time in Queenstown. Tell William we will save more pancakes for his next trip! It is nice to receive lovely reviews such as yours, it always helps to know our guests have a great time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle, wa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Nice clean room, with comfortable decor and cozy bed. Gillian is a fantastic cook- breakfasts are delicious and the little homemade cookies in our room made us very happy. We highly recommend. We thought the hotel offered a good value and good location near town. Donald and Gillian are wonderful hosts. They will take very good care of you.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meandfrogboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
br0wnsh0tel, Owner at Browns Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Thanks so much for your positive review. We trust you had a good trip home and carry great Queenstown memories with you. Remember, you can always come back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 30, 2012

The room was great. Very comfortable bed and complimentary beverages in the fridge. Noise from Friday night Queenstown is surprisingly excluded by the solid balcony doors. Their employed hostess (Gerusa) is outrageously nice, very welcoming and full of useful info for your stay in Queenstown.

The bathroom however is a disaster zone. A 'shower over bath' you cannot balance in as it's a continuous curve with no flat base. Water temperature varied from scalding to cool with little or no warning, due to the generous volumes of water. Most of which you'll be able to say hello to again, once you extricate yourself from the shower. We're not talking a few damp spots here. You'll need at least two large towels to make the bathroom/toilet area workable again. Insane design fault here that needs immediate reparation.

Then there is the matter of parking, or the lack there of. There appeared to be 5 carparks (3 left and 2 right), however someone parked straight into the middle of all that, disabling any access in AND out of the carpark. Totally unacceptable from a safety angle. Legally this is "Deprivation of Liberty".

What would you do if you or your partner needed urgent medical treatment, or you wanted to visit friends downtown, or you were arriving home from dinner out? You'd ring reception right? Which I did. Only to be given a blunt retort followed by a scoffing laugh, that "That's MY car" and that the, "car would be gone by 07:00". Infuriating behavior that almost ruined my night (and his).

A fairly nice breakfast and very stilted conversation almost made up for it. But certainly an apology would not have gone amiss. Give it a wide berth!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HHJ920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
br0wnsh0tel, Owner at Browns Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank you for your review. We were not made aware there was a problem with water temperature in your shower. We are currently addressing the issue of the shower leaking water onto the floor and have extra bath mats in the bathroom as an interim measure. Its not an easy fix - as you mention a real design fault.

The parking is limited and the night in question it was full. Late that evening we parked our car in the car park with the intention of taking it out first thing in the morning.
When you called at 10.30pm to ask how you could get your car out in the morning I did say it was my car and it would be gone at 7.00am. I am sorry if it upset you it was not intended to. Certainly in the morning we thought that breakfast was quite chatty.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
0.3 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
1.6 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
0.1 mi away
The Dairy Private Hotel
The Dairy Private Hotel
#4 of 58 in Queenstown
870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Browns Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Browns Boutique Hotel

Property: Browns Boutique Hotel
Address: 26 Isle Street, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#10 Family Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Browns Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This stylishly comfortable European inspired Bed & Breakfast is perfect Queenstown accommodation for your next vacation or ski holiday combining the intimate, timeless feel with genuine New Zealand hospitality. Free Wifi, Cooked/Continental breakfast, Sweeping Remarkables mountain views, Free off-street parking, Heated ski storage/drying room, Cosy lounge with open fire, Library /DVD selection, Outdoor courtyard with fireplace, Outdoor giant chess, Central heating, Home baked biscuits and sweets, SuperKing sized beds, Ensuite bathrooms, Complimentary fresh milk, water and fruit juice, LCD flatscreen TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Browns Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Browns Boutique Queenstown
Hotel Browns Boutique

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing