We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Queenstown September 2012”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Browns Boutique Hotel
Ranked #5 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
1 review
“Queenstown September 2012”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Thank you very much to Gillian and Donald at Browns Boutique Hotel for making us feel right at home in your lovely establishment. Breakfast was great every morning and fuelled us for the days activities (& there is so much to do in Queenstown). Gillian - William is still missing your pancakes for breakfast!
Located in Isle Street, Brown's is quiet but access to town is an easy stroll (uphill on the way back - good for the fitness and to walk off a delicious dinner at one of the many restaurants). Our rooms were comfortable & clean and the staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SchwebelFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
br0wnsh0tel, Owner at Browns Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Hi family we are so pleased you had a great time in Queenstown. Tell William we will save more pancakes for his next trip! It is nice to receive lovely reviews such as yours, it always helps to know our guests have a great time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

731 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    557
    126
    37
    8
    3
See reviews for
66
519
31
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
seattle, wa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Nice clean room, with comfortable decor and cozy bed. Gillian is a fantastic cook- breakfasts are delicious and the little homemade cookies in our room made us very happy. We highly recommend. We thought the hotel offered a good value and good location near town. Donald and Gillian are wonderful hosts. They will take very good care of you.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meandfrogboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
br0wnsh0tel, Owner at Browns Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Thanks so much for your positive review. We trust you had a good trip home and carry great Queenstown memories with you. Remember, you can always come back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 30, 2012

The room was great. Very comfortable bed and complimentary beverages in the fridge. Noise from Friday night Queenstown is surprisingly excluded by the solid balcony doors. Their employed hostess (Gerusa) is outrageously nice, very welcoming and full of useful info for your stay in Queenstown.

The bathroom however is a disaster zone. A 'shower over bath' you cannot balance in as it's a continuous curve with no flat base. Water temperature varied from scalding to cool with little or no warning, due to the generous volumes of water. Most of which you'll be able to say hello to again, once you extricate yourself from the shower. We're not talking a few damp spots here. You'll need at least two large towels to make the bathroom/toilet area workable again. Insane design fault here that needs immediate reparation.

Then there is the matter of parking, or the lack there of. There appeared to be 5 carparks (3 left and 2 right), however someone parked straight into the middle of all that, disabling any access in AND out of the carpark. Totally unacceptable from a safety angle. Legally this is "Deprivation of Liberty".

What would you do if you or your partner needed urgent medical treatment, or you wanted to visit friends downtown, or you were arriving home from dinner out? You'd ring reception right? Which I did. Only to be given a blunt retort followed by a scoffing laugh, that "That's MY car" and that the, "car would be gone by 07:00". Infuriating behavior that almost ruined my night (and his).

A fairly nice breakfast and very stilted conversation almost made up for it. But certainly an apology would not have gone amiss. Give it a wide berth!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HHJ920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
br0wnsh0tel, Owner at Browns Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank you for your review. We were not made aware there was a problem with water temperature in your shower. We are currently addressing the issue of the shower leaking water onto the floor and have extra bath mats in the bathroom as an interim measure. Its not an easy fix - as you mention a real design fault.

The parking is limited and the night in question it was full. Late that evening we parked our car in the car park with the intention of taking it out first thing in the morning.
When you called at 10.30pm to ask how you could get your car out in the morning I did say it was my car and it would be gone at 7.00am. I am sorry if it upset you it was not intended to. Certainly in the morning we thought that breakfast was quite chatty.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

1. We choose this hotel due to high rating in tripadvisor and the 'good view' of lake wakatipu.
Unfortunately, not all their rooms have good view of the lake. We were given room no 1, which is located exactly beside of front entrance door, with the car park right in front of our room window and balcony was facing back of somebody's house.
Upon arrival, we were not very happy with the room due to no view of lake as promised and the noise concern from the car park and entrance door. The room door was as thin as paper.
We could hear the noise and footsteps from front door when guest come in and out in our room. So we request to change the room.
To our dismay, Mr Donald was very rigid and gave us no choice but to take this room or have another room which my son have no extra bed to sleep. I believe there is another room right upstairs which is better and of the same size, but he just did not want to change for us. (maybe we already prepaid thru internet booking)

2. The room did not have proper heating equipment. no heat pump (saving on heating cost), No safe box, no shower cap provided, lousy thin curtains.
Morning sun just shine right in, so we could not sleep later than 6.45am. Therefor even there is noise is not relevant anymore.
Luckily i did bring my own shower cap, we are reluctant to talk or request for anything after the unpleasant conversation with Mr Donald as we didn't want to spoil our holiday's mood.

3. Cooked Breakfast is very small potion. Make sure you fill up with a lot of cereals before the cook breakfast served, because very quickly they will take away the plate so that you cannot take more. there is no extra plate provided ! Stingy way of management. Ventilation was poor also. You will end up smelling like breakfast.

For the same price you pay, easily can get all of the above satisfactorily. But not here. This management is just not generous enough to deserve these high ratings in tripadvisor.

4. Only reason to stay here is the location if you do not have transport. So I can only give him 1 good point. Sorry for them.
If possible try talking to Gillian, she is more accommodating than Donald.
We will definitely not come back here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank drdvd2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
br0wnsh0tel, Owner at Browns Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide your interesting review.
Your concerns about noise were discussed with you at length and we assured you despite hearing some foot traffic during the late afternoon, it would be quiet at night.
We did show you another room but it did not have an extra bed for your child so it was naturally not suitable. We also advised that in the morning if you were still not happy we would be able to move you upstairs to a similar room.
We then asked you in the morning if noise was a problem and you indicated that it was not and you made no further comment regarding wanting to be moved. We would have happily moved you upstairs if you had asked.
The room doors are actually fireproof hotel standard sized doors.
As the majority of our guests have already “pre-paid” prior to arrival, to infer by “pre-paying” we somehow treat you differently is completely incorrect.
All rooms have two hot water radiators as part of the hotel central heating system which are very efficient and the silent operation of these is preferable to noisy heat pumps. Our central heating system has served our guests well for 12 years.
If you required a shower cap all you had to do was ask. As you would also have read in the room information we do have a safe deposit box available.
Your comments regarding breakfast astound us. Breakfast is available from 7.30-10am. We offer a full continental buffet including fresh fruit plus five daily cooked options plus specials which are more than adequate for most people. We do not hurry our guests preferring they relax and converse with fellow travelers. Previous reviews would rather disagree with your comments.
We would just refer readers to previous reviews to obtain a more balanced picture of our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

This hotel deserved its rating. It was every bit as good as its reviews.
The breakfasts are a highlight - just the thing to sustain skiers through the day.
The advice as to where to eat at the end of the day was particularly good and every restaurant turned out to be excellent. We appreciated that Gillian always called ahead so we always got a good table too.
Hope we can go back some day.

Room Tip: Probably are all excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angcam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
br0wnsh0tel, Owner at Browns Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
So many great Australian visitors this year. We have really enjoyed having you with us, thanks for taking time to write a review for us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Brown's is an amazing boutique hotel located in the center of Queenstown. It has a great breakfast, great rooms and great service. The proprietors Donald and Gillian are extremely friendly and willing to offer assistance or advice when needed. I will definitely stay here during my next stay in Queenstown.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
br0wnsh0tel, Owner at Browns Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Andrew, thanks for taking time to write a review, we hope you enjoyed Queenstown and thanks again for your kind comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We really enjoyed the stay. The location is great (5' walk from downtown, althought the slope is pretty steep on the way back), the rooms are nice, clean, functional and very quiet, internet is included (with a 1G data cap) and works very well, breakfast is included and is cooked to order. The service is great, friendly and unobstrusive.

Overall, it is a great hotel and we would definitely return to it if we make it back to Queenstown

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaliTraveler_768
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
br0wnsh0tel, Owner at Browns Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
We really enjoy folk who stay longer than a couple of days, you become like "family" pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
1.6 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
0.3 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
3.5 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
The Dairy Private Hotel
The Dairy Private Hotel
#3 of 58 in Queenstown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Browns Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Browns Boutique Hotel

Property: Browns Boutique Hotel
Address: 26 Isle Street, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#10 Family Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Browns Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This stylishly comfortable European inspired Bed & Breakfast is perfect Queenstown accommodation for your next vacation or ski holiday combining the intimate, timeless feel with genuine New Zealand hospitality. Free Wifi, Cooked/Continental breakfast, Sweeping Remarkables mountain views, Free off-street parking, Heated ski storage/drying room, Cosy lounge with open fire, Library /DVD selection, Outdoor courtyard with fireplace, Outdoor giant chess, Central heating, Home baked biscuits and sweets, SuperKing sized beds, Ensuite bathrooms, Complimentary fresh milk, water and fruit juice, LCD flatscreen TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Browns Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Browns Boutique Queenstown
Hotel Browns Boutique

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing