We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Elegant Hotel. Great place to stay.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Browns Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Browns Boutique Hotel
Ranked #5 of 57 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Elegant Hotel. Great place to stay.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2011

We stayed for two nights as part of a trip around the South Island. We all felt really comfortable here. The hotel decor is very stylish and comfortable. The bedrooms are large and very cosy. After a lot of travel, we found ourselves lounging around because it was so comfortable. When we did, the town was easily accessible through a rear lane from the hotel. The owners were away while we stayed,but their friends, a local couple, looked after us very well each morning. the only area I would suggest fr improvement, is a greater selection at the breakfast buffet. Otherwise, this is a hotel we would highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lackavra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

720 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    549
    124
    37
    7
    3
See reviews for
65
512
29
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2011

Apologies that I am just posting this review 9 months after our stay... We really enjoyed our time in Queenstown staying at the Browns. Gillian and Donald were good hosts and their breakfasts were delicious! The location is a short stroll (uphill) from the city centre, with great views across the town and lake. We stayed in room 10, which is on the upper floor and as a corner room we had an extra window with direct views of the lake. We really appreciated that our room was serviced every morning while we were at breakfast or during our first outing. Previous comments regarding the bathroom were unfortunately correct at the time of out stay (that the shower water leaked all over the bathroom floor and there is no bench space for toiletries). As we didnt have a hire car, we didnt have a problem with parking, but I can see that it could be issue if you did. Overall I wouldnt rate this hotel as "luxury", but it is charming and friendly and I would definately stay there again. PS - I think we also got a good rate by searching on the internet, we didnt pay nearly as much as others have said in their reviews.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bronnie43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2011

We were on vacation in Queenstown for our first time, and Gillian and Donald were quite helpful in making suggestions on places to go and in helping to arrange our stay. The atmosphere is very much that of a bed and breakfast. We had a wonderful time at their place (we originally only planned to stay one night, but added two extra nights at the end of our trip). As an employee of Expedia, I do get the chance to travel often, but it's not often that I have the pleasure of staying at such a nice place!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PNW_Traveller_86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2011

The host and hostess were very helpful giving us tips on things to do. They were attentive to special requests. The hotel is in a quiet location with an easy walk to shopping and places to eat.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lawjusth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
br0wnsh0tel, Owner at Browns Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2011
Thanks so much for taking the time to review our property, we trust your visit was enjoyable
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
74 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2011

Comfi room, bed, great view and proximity to town center. Great hosts = service. Super breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Borisrocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
br0wnsh0tel, Owner at Browns Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We really appreciate our guests feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2011

We stayed the night before doing The Milford Track. The owners kept our suitcases secure until we finished the walk and returned to stay another night. The hotel is central to Queenstown. Breakfast is very nice. The rooms are clean, spacious had comfortable beds. Nice bathrooms too. Views of the mountains.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AustraliaLizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
br0wnsh0tel, Owner at Browns Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2011
It's always great to receive our guest reviews. Thanks very much for your recent review of our hotel, we hope you enjoyed your New Zealand Queenstown experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hattiesburg, Mississippi
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2011

We used Browns as our headquarters when we visited NZ's South Island to hike the Milford Track. We stayed in two different rooms and both were beautiful and comfortable. It is a very short walk to the shopping area and waterfront, and the breakfasts that Donald and Gillian prepared each morning were delicious. They stored our luggage during our hike, and gave us excellent recommendations for shopping and dining. We highly recommend Browns for anyone who wants an intimate, convenient and luxurious place to stay in Queenstown.

Room Tip: #5 has a balcony and A+ view of the Remarkables
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MississippiGirl05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
br0wnsh0tel, Owner at Browns Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2011
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. Thanks again for taking the time to post a review of the property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
1.6 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
0.2 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
0.3 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
3.5 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
The Dairy Private Hotel
The Dairy Private Hotel
#3 of 57 in Queenstown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Browns Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Browns Boutique Hotel

Property: Browns Boutique Hotel
Address: 26 Isle Street, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#10 Family Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Browns Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This stylishly comfortable European inspired Bed & Breakfast is perfect Queenstown accommodation for your next vacation or ski holiday combining the intimate, timeless feel with genuine New Zealand hospitality. Free Wifi, Cooked/Continental breakfast, Sweeping Remarkables mountain views, Free off-street parking, Heated ski storage/drying room, Cosy lounge with open fire, Library /DVD selection, Outdoor courtyard with fireplace, Outdoor giant chess, Central heating, Home baked biscuits and sweets, SuperKing sized beds, Ensuite bathrooms, Complimentary fresh milk, water and fruit juice, LCD flatscreen TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Browns Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Browns Boutique Queenstown
Hotel Browns Boutique

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing