We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cozy, warm and relaxing with amazing view.”
Review of Pencarrow

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pencarrow
Ranked #37 of 44 Queenstown B&B and Inns
Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Cozy, warm and relaxing with amazing view.”
Reviewed September 22, 2010

My wife and I stayed at Pencarrow for one evening after we arrived in Queenstown for our tour of the South Island in early March, 2010. We had previously spent several days on the North Island. After a wild flight into the Queenstown airport (great views of the mountains ABOVE our landing plane), we were unexpectedly met at the airport by Kari, one of the owners of Pencarrow. This was a welcome surprise as she helped us get our luggage. More importantly, we followed her in our rental car to Pencarrow. The inn is a short distance from the airport and near Queenstown but the gravel driveway is very hard to see from the main road. I would have missed it without her help. The steep driveway took us to a beautiful house with amazing views of the lake way above the main road. There is a nice patio behind the home and pretty gardens. My wife and I were given wine and chocolate in our room upstairs upon arrival and a little welcoming gift. In our beautifully appointed room, there was a nice sitting area overlooking the lake. The bed was exceedingly comfortable. Our room was clean, very quiet, and decorated with nice fresh flowers. We could have just relaxed in our room the entire time but there were things to see and places to explore. Bill and Kari were very helpful in suggesting activities around Queenstown. We had a rental car and Queenstown was only a couple of minutes away. The breakfast at Pencarrow was delightful. I can eat a lot of food and after this breakfast, I was too stuffed to eat lunch. Bill and Kari’s hospitality was much better than the already high level in New Zealand. They are warm and welcoming. My wife and I had a wonderful time relaxing at Pencarrow. There were nice sitting areas and a deck overlooking the lake. My one complaint is that we only had one night. If we had to redo the trip, I would have stayed two or three nights.

Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank tornadohunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    1
    2
    3
    1
See reviews for
3
95
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sugar Land, Texas
1 review
Reviewed May 22, 2010

We couldn't have imagined a better place to enjoy our trip of a lifetime. My wife and I were looking for a place that was unique, well-managed, friendly, and naturally beautiful- and we found it all and more at Pencarrow in Queenstown! At Pencarrow we found the perfect location to get away from it all and slow down to enjoy life together. It was everything we were looking for! The B&B is like a tour of the world all in one house! Every guest room has a unique story and theme that was a fun addition to the fact that they were immaculately clean. Towel warmers, heated bathroom floors, and fun turn-down gifts made our guest room a great retreat. The rest of the house is equally beautiful and has interesting stories to tell. Plenty of room everywhere to either just hang out or spend time with the other guest or our hosts.

The outside grounds are immaculately kept. At night, we enjoyed the clear New Zealand sky in the hot tub and in the morning we sat outside at the many patio areas enjoying coffee and a good book. There are flowers and gardens and lovely trees everywhere you look! It was amazing to just be outside and enjoy the scenery- so much to see and enjoy! One of the best things about the entire stay there was that it was close to Queenstown but it still had an in-the-country feel. While we were at Pencarrow it was quiet and peaceful, but town is just a short drive or walk away!

And our hosts were fantastic! Bill and Kari were some of the friendliest and most attentive people we have ever been around. Their attention to detail made every part of our stay there enjoyable. They have created a warm, friendly, inviting atmosphere that is not found in most places we've stayed. And breakfast- oh my goodness! We were treated to the most amazing, filling, delicious breakfasts while we there. It was a great way to start each day and a true credit to the Moers that they would make sure we started the day in such a fantastic way.

My wife and I count it a real honor to have stayed at Pencarrow and we wholeheartedly recommend it!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mindijoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nj
Level Contributor
198 reviews
150 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2010

You can read the details in previous reviews, but it is completely true that the views are spectacular and the breakfasts are huge four-course events--beautifully presented, wonderfully executed, and with interesting and unusual dishes. The hospitality is warm with a great deal of personal attention and help with bookings, rooms include a sitting room and very large bathroom, and the beds exceedingly comfortable, hosts very warm and engaging. There are fresh baked goodies in your room every afternoon, your beds are turned down and chocolates and a small gift provided on your pillow every night. There are coffee and tea making sets and refrigerator in the room, the lodge has wifi through-out, you are offered wine prior to dinner or upon your return back to the lodge if you missed the pre-dinner time.

On the other hand, the lodge is a good 1 hour walk from town; albeit a beautiful, easy walk along the water (after walking down the very steep gravel driveway). If you don't want to walk or drive, cabs will add an additional $15 per trip. Sometimes the hosts seem able to drive customers into town, but they weren't able to do that for us. We stayed in many wonderful lodges and bed and breakfast locations throughout NZ, and I feel that Pencarrow is somewhat overpriced. Although the practice of giving small gifts to guests is quite unique and the breakfast is truly spectacular, other aspects of our stay were similar to what we found in other, generally much more reasonably priced locations.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ssgtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 4, 2010

We had booked Blanket Bay for 4 nights and cancelled to book Pencarrow instead. Some decisions are just meant to be, and this was one of them. To say that we loved it is to be unfair. To say that it was exceptional is to be unfair again. Lets just say that after QT, we did the glaciers, and then instead of spending 2 nights in Christchurch, we came back to Pencarrow.

We have travelled for leisure pretty widely - UK, France, Germany, Belgium, Luxembourg, Scotland, Sweden, USA, Alaska, Bora Bora & Tahiti, Singapore, HK, India, Mauritius, et al and we stay well - Four Seasons, et al.

Pencarrow, we found, was better than anywhere we have stayed. But that's just us. We are stupid for genuine class.

The owners have thought the last mile to the last inch:
- You call at 3 AM in NZ, you get a cheery response
- A welcome board awaits you
- You are not allowed to carry your luggage from the car
- The hosts are genuine. The niceness is who they are. Its not put on.
- They have an infinite amount of energy. And jest.
- The rooms are impeccable and clean
- The glassware is baccarat, crockery rosenthal...
- When you enter the room you are greeted with lilies, toileteries are l'occitane, there are books all over the place, there is character, the views are to die for, the cheeriness is to smile for, the rooms are full of stuff they have collected from around the world...Ill let their background be something they tell you yourself
- They are classy. I hope you are classy to them too.
- And ah, the breakfast. Its royal. At a time that you want. You cant get a better breakfast outside of your home, anywhere in this world...I think.

They are not in this for money. If one is, one cant deliver what they deliver. I just hope that they bump up the rates and make some money too!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spookysilver1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumbai
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2010

My Husband and I recently stayed at Pencarrow while vising South Island, New Zealand. The warmth and hospitality of Bill and Cary, the owner-managers of the property comes across in more ways than one. The suite is done in a very beautiful way with gorgeous views of the lake wakatipu and the remarkables. Bill and Cary have thought through the last mile of details and have placed heaps of wonderful books, magazines, great toiletries ("l'occitane ....), fresh lilies in the suite and ensuite bathroom. The breakfast that the two prepare is served at a time of your request and runs into several delicious courses. Cary places a freshly prepared afternoon dessert from her kitchen and trust me you do not want to miss it. They would guide you to the activities that Queenstown has to offer, make reservations and make sure to share in the stories of our adventure later in the day. All in all, Pencarrow is exceptional with the luxury and personalized service it offers.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank shikhaMumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island
Level Contributor
211 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2010

Booked this B&B after reading reviews on trip advisor. We couldn't have been more thrilled. We found a real piece of heaven with Kara and Bill (owners) being the saints who run the B&B. The grounds were beautiful. The rooms had breathtaking views and were absolutely immaculate and well tended to. We arrived finding a big bouquet of flowers waiting in our living area along with home made sweets for afternoon tea. Kara and Bill provide such attention to detail that is barely found anywhere anymore. What a treat.
Breakfasts were five course gourmet meals served with fastidious attention and care. These two people are a real team and great entertainers. We were always invited for either a pre dinner or post dinner drink and conversation.
I can only say if you book this B&B you cannot possibly be disappointed and in fact, will go home with unreal memories. This place will make your day and your stay.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank earladybon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2010

We went all the way back to Queenstown after one year only to stay at Pencarrow, and we were not disappointed. Hosts Kari and Bill were still lovely, charming, generous, genuinely good people; the house was still the house of my dreams: fantastic views, great architecture and interiors, cosy, tastefully decorated rooms, idyllic...

If you are coming to Queenstown for the first time, Kari and Bill will move the Earth to make sure you are booked up, even if the weather seems to be against you. We have done the Sounds, the Dart river, the best restaurants in the area, wine tours, day drive into Central Otago for a surreal pub tour, etc, all with Kari and Bill's help. They will always give you new ideas of what else to do.

The evening drinks are great fun, and a must if you stay in this B&B. Great conversations, generous variety of drinks (the size of those gins!).

For those who want to use the internet, there is a laptop by the bar and wireless, free internet connection.

Breakfasts are a huge event (literally), you won't need lunch after that. It is also a good occasion to chat with other couples and catch up with the hosts.

We also liked the attentive details in our room, and loved being spoilt with little surprise gifts!

The reason why this B&B does not rank number 1, despite the big number of reviews (all 'excellent' incidentally) is a mystery. The cost per night is perfectly reasonable given the location, the comfort, the big size of the house vs. small number of (very large) rooms, etc, etc. If you want to treat yourself and your other half, then this is definitely the place to go for.

We have been in many nice B&Bs across New Zealand, but this is definitely a very special place. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlexJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
1.8 mi away
Pounamu Apartments
Pounamu Apartments
#11 of 58 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,370 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hidden Lodge
Hidden Lodge
#13 of 44 in Queenstown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cherish Bed and Breakfast
Cherish Bed and Breakfast
#34 of 44 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Asure Queenstown Gateway Apartments
2.0 mi away
Melbourne Lodge Bed & Breakfast
12.9 mi away
Kinross Cottages
Kinross Cottages
#3 of 44 in Queenstown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pencarrow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pencarrow

Property: Pencarrow
Address: 678 Frankton Road, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Pencarrow 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pencarrow is an all-suite country estate 2 miles from Queenstown offering 4 acres of elegance with stunning views of Lake Wakatipu and the Remarkables. Suites have sitting room, free WiFi (iPads in every suite), writing desk, magazines/books, mini bar, tea/coffee facilities, homemade sweets, fresh flowers, Flat Screens and Sky (cable) television, iPod docking stations, direct-dial phones, iron/ironing board. En-suites equipped with oversized jet spa bath, separate shower, double vanity, heated towel rail, under-tile heating, hair dryer, bathrobes, slippers, guest amenity basket. Outdoors many sitting decks/patios, fireplace, spa pool, waterfall, tree, plant, and flower species. Indoors plenty of space and privacy. Guest lounge/bar with fireplace, concierge/library room, snooker/games room, incredible views. Breakfast is a 4 course full on affair each morning at your personally requested time. Welcome gift, afternoon “sweet in the suite”, drinks/mini bar, and all taxes included! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Pencarrow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing