We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection!”
Review of Pencarrow

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pencarrow
Ranked #37 of 43 Queenstown B&B and Inns
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Perfection!”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Kerry and Bill make you feel on cloud nine being reminded where you are every morning at breakfast with 'eggs on a cloud'. Perfect hosts, very helpful and obliging with a call to please above and beyond. Pencarrows is a place we will ALWAYS visit in Queenstown. Best are the little surprises one gets at bed time putting a smile on ones face with the sad feeling that another day less will be spent at this amazing place.
Well done and thanks.

Room Tip: One is better than the other
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adena9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    1
    2
    3
    1
See reviews for
3
95
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bowral, Australia
Level Contributor
416 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

This is my 3rd time staying with Bill and Kari at the spectacular Pencarrow. I'm never disappointed. Their generosity is as large as their hearts. You will always find warmth, friendship and a welcoming open hearth and of course the breakfast that could feed 5,000 even though you are only 2. You can do no better than staying with these 2 wonderful people.

Stayed January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jinny57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Even rave reviews from friends had still not captured the extraordinary experience we revelled in at Pencarrow. Attention to detail on every level of our experience - you feel like your room is a luxury haven just for you, with beautiful pottery, wall hangings and furnishings carefully selected for each room. Our hosts were an exhuberant loving couple who genuinely cared about enriching our whole experience, ensuring it was memorable and as pampered as possible. After a daylong river cruise in pouring rain and a two hour drive, we arrived late, tired and hanging for a warm shower - greeted by champagne and goodies waiting in our room, a massive bathroom gleaming with spotless fittings, beautifully appointed and with two basins and even with underfloor heating. Oh how snug! You nominate what time you want breakfast in the intimate dining room. Settings there are themed each day and fresh baking is done each morning in the kitchen so that guests arrived to delicious goodies piled in the centre of the table. Mind you those breakfasts are incredible, with the multiple courses varied each morning, but always the minimum of a range of juices, cereals, fresh sliced fruit, a huge plate of hot breakfast, then flapjacks and don't forget that fresh baking in the table centre. Sigh ... What a way to go! I unreservedly recommend Pencarrow. Their guest book speaks for itself - people from all over the world keep coming back ... England, Australia and USA were all represented just while we were there.

Room Tip: Four suites, each distinctive theming. Website gives you internal shots of rooms to help your choice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MyBoomerang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2012

The best of everything in a hotel is found in Pencarrow. The room we had has a perfect setting-- a beautiful view of the lake with the remarkable Remarkables in the background. We enjoyed the most sumptuous breakfasts (which varied everyday) and genuine hospitality throughout the 4 days we stayed there. We were made to feel most welcomed and nothing was too much trouble for them when we asked for help or advice in anything. Every evening, there were little wise or humourous quotes or sayings put on our pillows with the chocolates when our beds were turned down. We were sad to leave at the end of the stay. We will return at the first opportunity, Kari and Bill.

Room Tip: The upstairs ensuite has an adjoining sunroom which has a panoramic view of the lake and the mountai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kemsloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
46 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Each and every word in these reviews is true - all of it. We spent 4 nights at Pencarrow as part of our honeymoon. We had read the amazing reveiws and had very high expectations. Pencarrow lived up to ALL of it and more.

Bill and Kari are warm and wonderful people who went out of their way to make our honeymoon unforgettable and so so special. From little gestures like quirky turn down services to fresh flowers in the bathroom, we appreciated it all.

One of the best parts of the stay is definitely the breakfast. We have been craving the 4-course gourmet meal ever since we left.

Bill and Kari give great advice on activities and excursions with detailed maps to lay out where to go and how to get there.

We're definitely going to be back. Thank you Bill and Kari!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KitchieKai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
1 review
Reviewed November 22, 2012

This is a very late review but we really want to do a thorough one since Pencarrow is an amazing place. We went there on April 2012 and it's all thanks to our hosts that we can have our dream wedding :) First of all, all of the reviews here on TripAdvisor are true and there’s more! Pencarrow have a wonderful environment, comfortable and super clean rooms, a very delicious king's breakfast that makes us stuffed until dinner, and of course it wouldn’t be complete without Bill and Kari's first class hospitality.
The first time we contacted them, we were asking whether they provide a wedding service and they replied with such enthusiasm and offered lots of help to us. We found our photographer, videographer, and florist based on their suggestions and we are really satisfied with the respective experts work result.
When we arrived there, we knew that we have chosen the right place. They were very friendly and they always did their best to satisfy us. I even got a very generous special gift one night before my wedding! Here are some notes of their awesomeness:
* We rent a car to travel around Queenstown and one of the nights after dinner (there were six of us and it probably become too heavy to climb up), our car got stuck in the steep gravel road on the way up to Pencarrow. After that Bill makes us promise to call him for help every time we need to travel up and down the path.
* We stay at Pencarrow with our parents, and they are not used to eat without rice. Kari was very nice to try to add rice to the breakfast menu just for them and the rice was perfect even though she never cooks rice before.
* My parents can't speak English but even then, they admire Bill and Kari because they can feel that Pencarrow’s service came from heart. Unfortunately we weren't able to try all the activities they suggested but yes, they can provide a lot of information about activities around and help you book them.
* Bill and Kari even agreed to be the witnesses of our wedding although they are not obliged to do so. We are really grateful for this. When we went back to Pencarrow after the photo shoot, we found our room filled with sweet decoration, beautiful gift, and a champagne to enjoy on our wedding night.
So all in all, we will definitely going to be coming back to Pencarrow and we strongly suggest anyone coming to New Zealand to go to Queenstown and stay in Pencarrow. Our experience in New Zealand will not be as perfect without Pencarrow :)

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Furude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
127 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

My wife and I celebrated our 20th wedding anniversary with a trip to Queenstown, staying at Pencarrow for eight nights... I will add my praise to the list of 5 star reviews below. This is everything you could want from a Bed and Breakfast and so much more. Beautiful, comfortable rooms, amazing breakfasts and hospitality that makes you feel right at home. Need help with activities? No problem. Want to play a game of snooker, watch a movie, sit in the spa, or gather around the outdoor fire pit? No problem. Want a glass of wine in the evening to help wind down after another amazing day of activities? You got it. Bill and Kari, thank you so much for everything! If I could add more stars to my review, I would happily do so. :)

Room Tip: We stayed in the Silver Leaf suite... very quiet and a separate entrance make this a great choice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HawkeyeAlum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
2.0 mi away
Hurley's of Queenstown
Hurley's of Queenstown
#33 of 58 in Queenstown
393 reviews
1.4 mi away
Villa Del Lago
Villa Del Lago
#2 of 58 in Queenstown
540 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hidden Lodge
Hidden Lodge
#14 of 43 in Queenstown
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Cherish Bed and Breakfast
Cherish Bed and Breakfast
#34 of 43 in Queenstown
2 reviews
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
2.0 mi away
Queenstown House Boutique Bed & Breakfast & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pencarrow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pencarrow

Property: Pencarrow
Address: 678 Frankton Road, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Pencarrow 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pencarrow is an all-suite country estate 2 miles from Queenstown offering 4 acres of elegance with stunning views of Lake Wakatipu and the Remarkables. Suites have sitting room, free WiFi (iPads in every suite), writing desk, magazines/books, mini bar, tea/coffee facilities, homemade sweets, fresh flowers, Flat Screens and Sky (cable) television, iPod docking stations, direct-dial phones, iron/ironing board. En-suites equipped with oversized jet spa bath, separate shower, double vanity, heated towel rail, under-tile heating, hair dryer, bathrobes, slippers, guest amenity basket. Outdoors many sitting decks/patios, fireplace, spa pool, waterfall, tree, plant, and flower species. Indoors plenty of space and privacy. Guest lounge/bar with fireplace, concierge/library room, snooker/games room, incredible views. Breakfast is a 4 course full on affair each morning at your personally requested time. Welcome gift, afternoon “sweet in the suite”, drinks/mini bar, and all taxes included! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Pencarrow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing