We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply not enough words to convey our awe!”
Review of Pencarrow

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Pencarrow
Ranked #35 of 44 Queenstown B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Each and every word in these reviews is true - all of it. We spent 4 nights at Pencarrow as part of our honeymoon. We had read the amazing reveiws and had very high expectations. Pencarrow lived up to ALL of it and more.

Bill and Kari are warm and wonderful people who went out of their way to make our honeymoon unforgettable and so so special. From little gestures like quirky turn down services to fresh flowers in the bathroom, we appreciated it all.

One of the best parts of the stay is definitely the breakfast. We have been craving the 4-course gourmet meal ever since we left.

Bill and Kari give great advice on activities and excursions with detailed maps to lay out where to go and how to get there.

We're definitely going to be back. Thank you Bill and Kari!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KitchieKai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (148)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 148 reviews

Reviewed November 22, 2012

This is a very late review but we really want to do a thorough one since Pencarrow is an amazing place. We went there on April 2012 and it's all thanks to our hosts that we can have our dream wedding :) First of all, all of the reviews here on TripAdvisor are true and there’s more! Pencarrow have a wonderful environment, comfortable and super clean rooms, a very delicious king's breakfast that makes us stuffed until dinner, and of course it wouldn’t be complete without Bill and Kari's first class hospitality.
The first time we contacted them, we were asking whether they provide a wedding service and they replied with such enthusiasm and offered lots of help to us. We found our photographer, videographer, and florist based on their suggestions and we are really satisfied with the respective experts work result.
When we arrived there, we knew that we have chosen the right place. They were very friendly and they always did their best to satisfy us. I even got a very generous special gift one night before my wedding! Here are some notes of their awesomeness:
* We rent a car to travel around Queenstown and one of the nights after dinner (there were six of us and it probably become too heavy to climb up), our car got stuck in the steep gravel road on the way up to Pencarrow. After that Bill makes us promise to call him for help every time we need to travel up and down the path.
* We stay at Pencarrow with our parents, and they are not used to eat without rice. Kari was very nice to try to add rice to the breakfast menu just for them and the rice was perfect even though she never cooks rice before.
* My parents can't speak English but even then, they admire Bill and Kari because they can feel that Pencarrow’s service came from heart. Unfortunately we weren't able to try all the activities they suggested but yes, they can provide a lot of information about activities around and help you book them.
* Bill and Kari even agreed to be the witnesses of our wedding although they are not obliged to do so. We are really grateful for this. When we went back to Pencarrow after the photo shoot, we found our room filled with sweet decoration, beautiful gift, and a champagne to enjoy on our wedding night.
So all in all, we will definitely going to be coming back to Pencarrow and we strongly suggest anyone coming to New Zealand to go to Queenstown and stay in Pencarrow. Our experience in New Zealand will not be as perfect without Pencarrow :)

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Furude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

My wife and I celebrated our 20th wedding anniversary with a trip to Queenstown, staying at Pencarrow for eight nights... I will add my praise to the list of 5 star reviews below. This is everything you could want from a Bed and Breakfast and so much more. Beautiful, comfortable rooms, amazing breakfasts and hospitality that makes you feel right at home. Need help with activities? No problem. Want to play a game of snooker, watch a movie, sit in the spa, or gather around the outdoor fire pit? No problem. Want a glass of wine in the evening to help wind down after another amazing day of activities? You got it. Bill and Kari, thank you so much for everything! If I could add more stars to my review, I would happily do so. :)

Room Tip: We stayed in the Silver Leaf suite... very quiet and a separate entrance make this a great choice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HawkeyeAlum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We spent three nights at this marvelous B&B. Pencarrow is located a couple miles from the center of Queenstown. It sits on a hill with a spectacular lake and alpine mountain view. The warm hospitality and personalized service provided by the owner/hosts, Bill and Kari, was simply extraordinary. Bill served as a jet Captain and Kari as a flight attendant for a Saudi prince. They bring this same level of gracious service, attention to detail and a truly memorable experience to their guests at Pencarrow. Having lived in Queenstown for over 10 years, Bill and Kari eagerly shared their valuable knowledge of restaurants, sites and activities in and around Queenstown. This included detailed maps and directions that Kari printed out for us. Guests are invited to complimentary wine in the afternoon and evening, while relaxing in the Pencarrow's inviting lounge/bar area. We greatly enjoyed our pleasant conversations with Bill, Kari and another couple who were guests during our visit. We all shared some interesting tidbits about activities in Queenstown, a few aviation tales, and current events in New Zealand. As this was our first visit to New Zealand, we really enjoyed this exchange with locals. Unfortunately, words cannot describe the wonderful VIP experience Bill and Kari provides to their guests, including small gifts left in our rooms each evening, incredible breakfast with hot/cold and freshly bakes items and most of all the fellowship we experienced during our visit. We arrived as strangers and left feeling that Bill and Kari were new friends. Our visit to Pencarrow could not have been better and we highly recommend this wonderful property to other visitors to Queenstown.

Rick and Valerie


Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Aviator311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Our stay with these fine people exceeded every expectation. The breakfasts were superb, their knowledge in helping us pick activities was outstanding, and the actual lodging was both super clean , elegant and comfortable.

I would encourage anyone staying in Queenstown to stay at Pencarrow - I will be back as often as possible.

Room Tip: All rooms we saw were excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

This is our second time at Pencarrow and we are looking forward already to another stay. B&B's in New Zealand are amazing anyway. Bill and Kari however turn an already amazing experience into one that leaves you wanting to return. No-one provides a gastronimic feast for breakfast like these 2 amazing people. And they do it every day. You will be surrounded by stunning views; treated as royalty and provided with a service that is second to none. If you find you start talking a little strange ask Kari for the Texan dictionary. It helps with the translation. We cannot recommend this experience highly enough. We are honoured to call Bill and Kari our friends and hope we may be able to return their hospitality if ever they decide to come to Australia for a visit.

Room Tip: In the winter months the Lighthouse room provides the most spectacular views. In the warmer months t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jinny57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2012

B&B’s in New Zealand must rate among the highest in the world and all, without exception, exceeded expectations during our four weeks on vacation in this lovely country. Pencarrow rated among our favourites though and if ever we return to New Zealand this is where we will stay. What stood out the most was super hosts Bill and Kari both of whom are so very accommodating and helpful – be sure to ask Bill to cook up his fancy egg dish, he will know which one you mean :0)

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NormD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
2.3 mi away
Eichardt's Private Hotel
Eichardt's Private Hotel
#21 of 58 in Queenstown
275 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
1.8 mi away
Pounamu Apartments
Pounamu Apartments
#11 of 58 in Queenstown
1,420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Queenstown House Boutique Bed & Breakfast & Apartments
0.6 mi away
The Embassy
The Embassy
#39 of 44 in Queenstown
4 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aquarius de Lavender Lake View B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pencarrow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pencarrow

Address: 678 Frankton Road, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Queenstown
Price Range: $132 - $406 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Pencarrow 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pencarrow is an all-suite country estate 2 miles from Queenstown offering 4 acres of elegance with stunning views of Lake Wakatipu and the Remarkables. Suites have sitting room, free WiFi (iPads in every suite), writing desk, magazines/books, mini bar, tea/coffee facilities, homemade sweets, fresh flowers, Flat Screens and Sky (cable) television, iPod docking stations, direct-dial phones, iron/ironing board. En-suites equipped with oversized jet spa bath, separate shower, double vanity, heated towel rail, under-tile heating, hair dryer, bathrobes, slippers, guest amenity basket. Outdoors many sitting decks/patios, fireplace, spa pool, waterfall, tree, plant, and flower species. Indoors plenty of space and privacy. Guest lounge/bar with fireplace, concierge/library room, snooker/games room, incredible views. Breakfast is a 4 course full on affair each morning at your personally requested time. Welcome gift, afternoon “sweet in the suite”, drinks/mini bar, and all taxes included! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Pencarrow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing