We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Standard for B&B”
Review of Pencarrow

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pencarrow
Ranked #36 of 43 Queenstown B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 25, 2012

Our every expectation was exceeded by Bill and Kari's Pencarrow B&B. Our tower room overlooking the lake was enormous; the bed was perfect; there was a homemade snack every afternoon and a small Kiwi keepsake on the pillow each night. But what was unforgettable was breakfast. Kari warned us that she served a "full on" breakfast and she meant it. Three courses each morning--fruit, an egg speciality and a pancake or waffle finale--all accompanied by homemade sweets, fresh juice and jams. We never needed lunch. All of this was made more pleasurable by the genuine warmth and helpfulness of our hosts. Just a first rate experience. One note--if you are driving look for your landmarks because the entrance can be hard to find at night.

Room Tip: We had the room on the top floor with the tower. It was beautiful. We did not see the other rooms...
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arlkia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (147)
There are newer reviews for Pencarrow
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 147 reviews

Reviewed March 7, 2012

We had a fantastic stay at Pencarrow. The hosts are so welcoming and helpful. We felt like we were at home. Our room was gorgeous. The views were breathtaking! The gourmet breakfasts were beyond delicious!!! We had homemade desserts in our room every afternoon. Not one thing could have been better. We hated to leave. I hope we can come back!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaliBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2012

I didn't think it was possible to deliver this level of service. We felt almost guilty experiencing it :). Bill and Kari are lovely and amazing people. A stay we'll never forget.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trippyfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2012

My husband and I spent 4 days of our honeymoon at Pencarrow and it was the highlight of our trip. Forget what you think you know about B&Bs, Pencarrow is in a class all its own. Bill and Kari are the nicest, most hospitable people I've ever met. They instantly make their home, your home. Kari's 4 course breakfasts are out of this world - a true feast. She is not only a tremendous chef, but a fantastic concierge. Extremely organized and full of ideas, she made sure we made the most of our time in Queenstown.
The accommodations are beautifully appointed and immaculate. Our room was spacious and luxurious and looked out on the fabulous Lake Wakatipu and "Remarkables." I can't say enough wonderful things about Pencarrow, it is an absolute treasure and a "must" if you're headed to Queenstown.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrs w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2012

We spent 3 nights at Pencarrow and could have spent 3 more. The bedrooms are beautiful, each one a multi-room suite with unique decor. Our bathroom was exceptional, with a jacuzzi tub, double sinks, shower, and best of all, a beautiful view of the gardens and upper lawn area. The sitting room in our suite had an amazing view of the lake and the surrounding Remarkable Mountains. Our host and hostess, Bill and Kari, couldn't have been more accommodating. We arrived on my husband's birthday, and they prepared a celebration for him with champagne, snacks, and even a birthday cake. It would be unjust not to mention the breakfast that Kari and Bill prepare. Everyday was a treat with a multicourse meal including home baked pastries, fresh fruit, an egg course, and finally, a waffle or pancake course. You could almost be set for the day! The eating area had the most gorgeous view, and the table setting changed each day. The other common areas were cozy, also offering spectacular views. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Pencarrow to anyone, but since it is just outside of Queenstown, it is a good idea to have a car, though taxis are available, and Bill and Kari drove us into town once or twice.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drz15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2011

We had a great time, the scene was breath taking and the place was superb. I would come here again

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandra o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2011

This is the best of the best B&B's in the world! Breaksfast was fresh and plentiful, wholesome or gourmet, whatever your preference. The views of The Remarkables and lake from the dining area and gathering room fabulous. Accomodations were 5* with fine linens and very comfortable beds. Cleanliness was outstanding. The owners available to offer tips and guidance to local attractions and must see's. Overall, the place to stay when in the Queenstown area. Can't wait to return to this romantic setting.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cjems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
2.3 mi away
The Dairy Private Hotel
The Dairy Private Hotel
#3 of 57 in Queenstown
895 reviews
2.3 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
2.4 mi away
Browns Boutique Hotel
Browns Boutique Hotel
#6 of 57 in Queenstown
743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Aquarius de Lavender Lake View B&B
2.0 mi away
Queenstown House Boutique Bed & Breakfast & Apartments
13.6 mi away
Gibbston House B&B
Gibbston House B&B
#26 of 43 in Queenstown
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pencarrow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pencarrow

Address: 678 Frankton Road, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Queenstown
Price Range: $194 - $413 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Pencarrow 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pencarrow is an all-suite country estate 2 miles from Queenstown offering 4 acres of elegance with stunning views of Lake Wakatipu and the Remarkables. Suites have sitting room, free WiFi (iPads in every suite), writing desk, magazines/books, mini bar, tea/coffee facilities, homemade sweets, fresh flowers, Flat Screens and Sky (cable) television, iPod docking stations, direct-dial phones, iron/ironing board. En-suites equipped with oversized jet spa bath, separate shower, double vanity, heated towel rail, under-tile heating, hair dryer, bathrobes, slippers, guest amenity basket. Outdoors many sitting decks/patios, fireplace, spa pool, waterfall, tree, plant, and flower species. Indoors plenty of space and privacy. Guest lounge/bar with fireplace, concierge/library room, snooker/games room, incredible views. Breakfast is a 4 course full on affair each morning at your personally requested time. Welcome gift, afternoon “sweet in the suite”, drinks/mini bar, and all taxes included! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Pencarrow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing