We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Boutique Accommodation & fab Brekkie”
Review of Chalet Queenstown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Chalet Queenstown
Ranked #5 of 44 Queenstown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Waikato
Level Contributor
200 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Boutique Accommodation & fab Brekkie”
Reviewed July 3, 2010

Great place to stay, a few minutes walk from town, rooms clean and modern, nice decor, and an excellent breakfast and helpful freindly host. We will be back!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eco2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    58
    9
    3
    1
See reviews for
28
188
20
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 13, 2010

Breakfasts were well presented and meeting and chatting with other guests was a nice experience. Alex is a wonderful host - ever so helpful and his two wee dogs, Monty and Louis were really adorable. Less than a ten minute walking distance from the town centre and a lovely lakeside walk.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CoventryMills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2010

Lovely place. Tastefully decorated. Felt like staying at home. Alex is nice and helpful. We really appreciated his understanding for our last min decision to do the doubtful sound cruise and as a result we had to cancel one night of accommodation. It is slightly more expensive compared to other places available in queenstown. It was quiet season and there are many vacancies around for cheaper prices. The only drawback I can think of is probably the shower pressure. But again the stay was very pleasant, the breakfast was nice and healthy. We will definitely recommend this place to those who are travelling to queenstown.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yuhadeedee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanau
Level Contributor
120 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2010

We had an absolutely beautiful room right at the front of the B&B. The host Alex was very nice and helpful. He helped with tips on things to do and went out of the way to make sure we got all the information we needed, when we left our voucher in the room during departure, so that we had no problems during our onward travels.
The breakfast was nice, too, buffet style, but only cold cuts, cheese, fruit, Muesli etc., do not expect a cooked breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fernweh3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2010

We were made to feel extremely welcome and we had a lovely clean, bright and comfortable room. Alex was very helpful and the place was spotless.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WonderingMinstrels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmö
Level Contributor
173 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2010

After a 40 hour flight from Europe to New Zealand, this was the perfect place to arrive at.

Alex is the most extremely helpful and friendly host, who ran up the stairs to prepare our room even though we arrived a couple hours before check-in time.

The room was heavenly, with amazing views and equally amazing beds. Tastefully decorated and very clean.

Breakfast was comprised of a healthy selection of fruits, cereals, breads, yogurt and home baked croissants. It was also the only breakfast in NZ which served cheese!

Highly recommend this to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JC_Malmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
249 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2010

More boutique hotel than B&B, this was a delightful place to stay, clean and modern, within easy reach of Queenstowns attractions. Alex and John were great hosts, offer a good breakfast, and I defy anyone not to fall in love with Louis and Monty, the resident pooches. Rooms were really well appointed, though not all look over the lake, ask for Room 5 if you want a really stunning view.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuttonHill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
0.3 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#20 of 58 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,072 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#27 of 58 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,354 reviews
0.6 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
2.9 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Queenstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Queenstown

Property: Chalet Queenstown
Address: 1 Dublin Street, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chalet Queenstown 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only 5 minutes walk to central Queenstown, Chalet Queenstown is a boutique Bed and Breakfast/Inn accommodation. Renowned worldwide for its perfectly appointed rooms and fabulous breakfasts Chalet Queenstown is the perfect place to enjoy all Queenstown, the adventure capital of New Zealand, has to offer. All seven guest rooms have private shower ensuites and balconies with the centrepiece of each room being King or Twin beds, covered in luxurious feather duvets, crisp white linens and capped off with a choice of pillows and a charcoal comforter. A sumptuous continental style buffet and freshly prepared a la carte breakfast is offered each day. With an emphasis on locally supplied goods, diversity and flavour are our focus. Cafe quality presentation has guests reaching for their cameras before they take their first bite. Chalet Queenstown also offers guests free onsite parking, along with WiFi access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Chalet Queenstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chalet Queenstown Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing