We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The chalet with the views”
Review of Chalet Queenstown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Chalet Queenstown
Ranked #4 of 43 Queenstown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 23, 2010

Friendly & down to earth host Alex with his trademark laugh....made us welcome at Chalet Queenstown.

Very clean chalet, lovely rooms and views to die for - our room had views over the lake & the Remarkables and towards Bobs peak. The balcony had table and chairs for each room, lovely to sit out with some wine watching the sun set over stunning views.

Good sized room with comfy bed and bathroom - the furnishings were done to a high standard but the bathroom was quite small. The tv had limited channels to view.

Free wifi is a plus :)

The room did lack storage though and maybe an extra shelf for personal items.

Room had it's own fridge and tea/coffee facilities.

Free on site parking too.

Breakfast was a variety of cereal, fresh fruit or toast.

The grounds were well kept and the 2 on site dogs very cute!

Chalet Queenstown is close to town - up and down a steep hill or you can head left down another street before the hill as this is an easier route into town.....

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 27L09R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (292)
There are newer reviews for Chalet Queenstown
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

225 - 231 of 292 reviews

Reviewed February 21, 2010

Great accommodation, great hosts and a lovely breakfast. If we visit Queenstown again, this is where we'd stay.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellerJ0hn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2010

My husband and I stayed for 3 nights at The Chalet. Alex couldn't have made us feel more at home. His breakfasts are fantastic. Our room had a magnificent view to the mountains which we were able to enjoy sitting out on our balcony off our bedroom drinking a glass of wine or two! Ideally situated for Queenstown but the Chalet is at the top of a steep hill which is great going down but not so great coming up. However, it is worth it when you have the fabulous surroundings of The Chalet.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zegnaWiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2010

If you want this type of accomodation rather than a more backpacker/cheaper option then this will be perfect. Really well put together place with nice views from the rooms/balcony and really efficently run. 100% spotless and the beds really comfortable. Rooms a touch small but not microscopic!!!!. Easy to walk to town, slightly uphill on way back but after a couple of bottles of wine who is complaining!! A touch more expensive than other similar places in NZ but to be honest that is Queenstown for you. Great stay.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ferdinand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2010

Just had one night at Chalet Queenstown, but would have happily stayed for more. Thought the room was lovely and not small like other people have said. Didn't have a front view sadly, but no matter. The whole place is very stylishly appointed, and the beds are very comfortable. Only thing I would say is that for less money elsewhere we did get hot as wel as Continental breakfast, but I know Queenstown is one of the dearer places to stay in NZ. Our hosts were really personable and helpful with ideas of places to go.what to do etc. Would recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JamesBCroydon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2010

Chalet Queenstown is located a stone throw from the town center.

The accommodation is comfortable, and hosts are welcoming, even if breakfast could be more generous.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marseil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2009

Alex has meticulously cared for this chalet. The gardens are nice, brekkie delicious, and the two dogs very friendly. The reception area is chic and tastefully decorated. The rooms very comfy, beds amazing, and the views of the lake and Remarkables gorgeous. Personal attention by Alex was most welcomed and his advice was appreciated.
This hidden gem is beautifully maintained in a residential area close to the hustle/bustle of Queenstown. Near bus line, and easy walking distance to shops, eateries, 'crazy' sporting type activities etc...

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank contrabassoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.3 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#20 of 57 in Queenstown
3,169 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pounamu Apartments
Pounamu Apartments
#11 of 57 in Queenstown
1,407 reviews
0.6 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Scenic Suites Queenstown
Scenic Suites Queenstown
#23 of 57 in Queenstown
892 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Dairy Private Hotel
The Dairy Private Hotel
#3 of 57 in Queenstown
895 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Queenstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Queenstown

Address: 1 Dublin Street, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Queenstown
Price Range: $156 - $235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Chalet Queenstown 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only 5 minutes walk to central Queenstown, Chalet Queenstown is a boutique Bed and Breakfast/Inn accommodation. Renowned worldwide for its perfectly appointed rooms and fabulous breakfasts Chalet Queenstown is the perfect place to enjoy all Queenstown, the adventure capital of New Zealand, has to offer. All seven guest rooms have private shower ensuites and balconies with the centrepiece of each room being King or Twin beds, covered in luxurious feather duvets, crisp white linens and capped off with a choice of pillows and a charcoal comforter. A sumptuous continental style buffet and freshly prepared a la carte breakfast is offered each day. With an emphasis on locally supplied goods, diversity and flavour are our focus. Cafe quality presentation has guests reaching for their cameras before they take their first bite. Chalet Queenstown also offers guests free onsite parking, along with WiFi access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chalet Queenstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chalet Queenstown Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing