We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice - for a price”
Review of Chalet Queenstown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Chalet Queenstown
Ranked #5 of 43 Queenstown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bremerton, Washington
Level Contributor
41 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Really nice - for a price”
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Traveled NZ for a month and this lodging was one of the best we encountered. Host was exceptionally friendly and helpful, room was not large but modern/cosy with a view of the city and surrounding mountains. Breakfast made to order was worthy of the finest restaurant. TV/wifi where great. Super clean throughout. In walking distance to town if you can tolerate some hills. The price is high, but attention to detail throughout and quality of the breakfast serve to justify the fare.

Room Tip: Be sure to specify a main building UPSTAIRS room. There is one downstairs with a private entrance th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allen207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexMcMillan, Manager at Chalet Queenstown, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Thanks Allen for taking the time to review our property. I am glad you found the quality and attention to detail worthy of comment - they are certainly areas that I try to pride the property on and am glad that they contributed to your comment on a reasonable fare for your stay. Look forward to hosting you and your friends again in the future. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    59
    9
    3
    1
See reviews for
28
189
20
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
174 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2014

Once again we stayed at the Chalet Queenstown B and B and we're not disappointed. Room was clean, comfortable and included a balcony. Breakfast is either continental or hot. The pancakes and French toast are my favorites. I recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: If you want a quite room request one without a view but you'll be missing a fantastic view of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lu B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nomad57, Manager at Chalet Queenstown, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Hi Lu. Thanks for taking the time to review Chalet Queenstown and for coming back to stay. It is always good to see you. All the best, Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glastonbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 20, 2014

We stayed here for two nights and it was the perfect way to take day trips in Fiordland National Park and into Queenstown. Clean and comfortable rooms. Owners were extremely helpful in giving us tips and suggestions. I would recommend this hotel to all travelers.

Room Tip: We stayed in an upstairs room. There was no noise at all heard from other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debra g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexMcMillan, Manager at Chalet Queenstown, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Thanks Debra for taking the time to review our property, we really appreciate it. It was a pleasure having you here and I hope 2014 is being good for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 30, 2014

We spent two nights at Chalet Queenstown at the end of our New Zealand adventure. We chose it on the basis of a good write-up in Lonely Planet and would definitely recommend it to others. The breakfast was really excellent and beautifully presented. The rooms are of a very high standard with lovely decor and comfortable beds, and are spotlessly clean. I have seen a couple of comments below about the rooms being small but I found ours pretty spacious (certainly if you are from the UK/Europe you will not think they are small). Alex was welcoming and friendly and was very nice about our using him as a post office to receive parcels from earlier stops in our travels! The location is a little out of the town centre but it only takes 5-10 minutes to walk in (slightly longer to walk back as it is up a steep hill - we lazily got a (very cheap) cab after a few drinks!), and you get to enjoy the lovely views of the lake. A really good option for a stay in Queenstown.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexMcMillan, Manager at Chalet Queenstown, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Sarah, thanks so much for taking time to review our property. Knowing that I am selling bed and breakfast I try to excel in these services and it always delights me that you have found it as good as I hope. It was no problem to collect the mail for you and to have it ready when you arrived. Hope 2014 treats you as well as the days you spent in Queenstown.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steenwijk, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2014

We stayed for two night in B&B, it was marvellous.
Alex is a good host, gave us a lot of information. Was interested in us and we had some nice conversations. The breakfast was excellent. The room was small, also the bathroom but it was enough. The view on the lake was splendid. The bed was very good and room and bathroom were clean. We enjoyed it to stay there.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EricatL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexMcMillan, Manager at Chalet Queenstown, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Hi Erica. Thanks so much for reviewing our property and for your feedback. We really appreciate the time you take to do this and it is always interesting to know how you rated our property. I hope the rest of your journey went well and we hope to see you again in the future. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neuchatel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We spent 4 nights in this B&B and we loved Queenstown - one of the best place in NZ (for us). The room was spotless - the bed was very comfortable with a choice of 3 different pillows. We had a room with a beautiful view on the lake - which is amazing !! The chalet is very well located only few minutes walk to reach the center. Free wifi in the chalet which is very convenient. It is also possible to park your car in front of the chalet. The breakfast was very good, eggs, bacon, fruits, muesli, pancakes, etc. The atmosphere is more like in a hotel than an B&B - very friendly and polite but a bit cold.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank valerie253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexMcMillan, Owner at Chalet Queenstown, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Hi Valerie

Thanks so much for taking the time to review our property. I am glad you found the property was able to meet many of your needs and that you enjoyed the views from here. I hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay in New Zealand.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
126 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

This b&b is a short walk to the center of town, though the walk back is steep. The view of the mountains and lake from our room was incredible. Breakfast was great with lots of choices. The room was immaculate and comfortable, if a little small.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank travlinman1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaletQueenstown, Owner at Chalet Queenstown, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Thanks so much for taking the time to review our property - we really appreciate the effort and feedback you have given. Hope the rest of your journey went well. Kind regards Alex McMillan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
0.3 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#20 of 58 in Queenstown
3,095 reviews
0.6 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#19 of 58 in Queenstown
1,424 reviews
0.2 mi away
Scenic Suites Queenstown
Scenic Suites Queenstown
#24 of 58 in Queenstown
872 reviews
0.2 mi away
Central Ridge Boutique Hotel
Central Ridge Boutique Hotel
#8 of 58 in Queenstown
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Queenstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Queenstown

Property: Chalet Queenstown
Address: 1 Dublin Street, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chalet Queenstown 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only 5 minutes walk to central Queenstown, Chalet Queenstown is a boutique Bed and Breakfast/Inn accommodation. Renowned worldwide for its perfectly appointed rooms and fabulous breakfasts Chalet Queenstown is the perfect place to enjoy all Queenstown, the adventure capital of New Zealand, has to offer. All seven guest rooms have private shower ensuites and balconies with the centrepiece of each room being King or Twin beds, covered in luxurious feather duvets, crisp white linens and capped off with a choice of pillows and a charcoal comforter. A sumptuous continental style buffet and freshly prepared a la carte breakfast is offered each day. With an emphasis on locally supplied goods, diversity and flavour are our focus. Cafe quality presentation has guests reaching for their cameras before they take their first bite. Chalet Queenstown also offers guests free onsite parking, along with WiFi access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Chalet Queenstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chalet Queenstown Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing