We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Chalet Queenstown
Nearby Hotels
The Dairy Private Hotel(Queenstown)(Great Value!)
$167
$150
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Crowne Plaza Queenstown(Queenstown)(Great Value!)
$127
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$225
$190
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Heartland Hotel Queenstown(Queenstown)(Great Value!)
$83
$81
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Villa del Lago(Queenstown)(Great Value!)
$229
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$162
$153
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Swiss-Belsuites Pounamu Queenstown(Queenstown)(Great Value!)
$169
$111
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa(Queenstown)(Great Value!)
$108
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside(Queenstown)(Great Value!)
$118
$112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Azur(Queenstown)
$1,081
$832
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (316)
Filter reviews
316 results
Traveler rating
232
64
15
4
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
232
64
15
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsyogurtnew zealandgreat hostsbreakfast was excellentmilford soundcooked breakfastrooms are smallspent two nightsminute walk from the centrebed and breakfastfirst morningboutique hotelshared balconysmall fridgecomfortable bedste anauquiet location
Filter
Updating list...
154 - 159 of 316 reviews
Reviewed August 29, 2013

This tastefully designed chalet with 7 rooms is a gem in Queenstown where accommodation prices are high especially for downtown hotels. You do not need to stay downtown as Chalet (well known locally) is only less than 10 minutes walk away and most rooms have the gorgeous lake view and free parking at the porch or lawn.

Alex, the owner, cooks breakfast like chef in high end cafe. The cutlery, table setting and food presentation is high end and elegant. There are 4 choices of breakfast set plus a small buffet of bread, cereal and fruit. They are all tasty and fresh from my 3 nights stay here.

The room itself has very comfy soft bed and fixtures and lightings are all of quality and subtle. The balcony coridor has table and chair but lack privacy as the upper floor rooms share it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlexMcca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

The Chalet Queenstown was our first stop on our 2.5 week vacation in New Zealand in March, 2013. It was a great introduction to the hospitality and beautiful scenery that we experienced throughout the south island. The location, though up a hill, is within easy walking distance of the botanical gardens and central city. We did not need a car during our stay in Queenstown. The bedroom was very nice, the beds moderately comfortable, the shower adequate though not a lot of water pressure. We loved the deck off of our room overlooking the city and the lake. The breakfasts were outstanding, though the seatings tend to be separate and not particularly conducive to interacting with the other guests. Alex is an excellent, welcoming host with good information about the city. We left our bags while off to an overnight in Milford Sound, and returned for a cup of tea before heading north.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bamen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

Unique location and ambience of Chalet Queenstown are unbeatable at the adventure land of New Zealand. Chalet Queenstown is a Cozy, fresh, and beautifully designed B&B. Hospitality is at it’s best! Much of this is thanks to hard working owner Alex and his team. We stayed in fairly roomy family room with a balcony and large bathroom. Our room was attractively furnished, with a comfortable bed. Balcony was offering sweeping lake views, as well as the vista across the Queenstown city rooftops, extending all the way to surrounding mountains. Our room’s balcony was the most idyllic place to enjoy a breeze at twilight and a glass of pinot noir from Nevis Bluff, Central Otago. Complimentary gourmet breakfast was served every morning. We were offered free parking and free wi-fi access. Some of near by attraction includes Steamer Wharf, Ski fields like The Remarkable, Coronet Peak… Short river extreme jet boat ride, Kawarau bridge bungy jumping and piece de resistance Central Otago’s tasting rooms of wineries like Amisfield, Carrick, Blad Hill, Peregrine, NorthBurn Station, Mt. Difficulty, Kawerau Estate and Chard Farm, where portfolio includes must of exquisite Pinot Noir.
PS: Alex (the owner) Thank you so much for posting my post cards. ~ love bro ☺

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank CheerfulElement
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We stayed here for one night and would highly recommend it. The host, Alex, was very accommodating and the room itself was lovely - we were lucky enough to have a room with an incredible lake view. The bed itself was extremely comfortable - this was by far the most comfortable bed/pillows we slept on. We also had free wifi and there was parking available. The breakfast was very good. The chalet is also really centrally located - just a 7 minute walk from the main shopping/restaurant area in Queenstown. Excellent all round!

Room Tip: Ask if a room with a lake view is available.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Artkeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

There can be no better host than Alex! Very nice guy who shares great tips and helps with your planning. He was great with the kids too. He also cooks fabulous breakfasts! Loved everything about this BNB. Very modern and clean and most of all, strong wi-fi!! Beds are strong and firm too. There are two of the most friendly and lovely dogs around which helped add to the warm and homey atmosphere.
I will definitely recommend this place. It is walking distance to town and if you drive up the residential area, you have great views of the lake.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Penciltoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews