We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Stay”
Review of Chalet Queenstown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chalet Queenstown
Ranked #4 of 44 Queenstown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 21, 2012

I stayed two nights at the Queenstown Chalet.
This is a very good accomodation closed to the city center(5-7 minutes to go there a more than 10 minutes back).
Alex is very convivial host and do not hesistate to advise you if needed.
The breakast is very good.
I really enjoyed the stay.

Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
1  Thank hennemilie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (293)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

163 - 169 of 293 reviews

Reviewed April 14, 2012

Had an excellent stay at the Chalet! It capped six weeks in New Zealand and was certainly one of the best places we stayed. Decor, rooms, views, the staff were all outstanding ... and a huge breakfast to boot. Just out of the centre city so you don't get all the noise and traffic, yet an easy walk into town. Thoroughly enjoyed our visit!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2012

Excellent accommodation and whilst a good walk from the town centre - don't take the car as parking a nightmare - Alex is a most convivial host and a few minutes walk is worth the effort! Thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christopher M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2012

Spent 3 nights here and what a superb place it is. Chalet Queenstown calls itself a B & B but to my mind is a small boutique hotel. Great decor, friendly welcome and service with nothing too much trouble for the owner Alex. The bedrooms are spacious, fabulous beds and a great breakfast. Walk into town is about 5-10 mins, bit longer coming back as uphill. We came on our friends recommendation and were not disappointed. Would definitely come again.
Thanks Sandra & Vince

Room Tip: We were in room no 6
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2012

Ok. I was spoiled because we had just spent 4 nights in the Historic Stone House. The upstairs room we were given (#1) was small. We had trouble moving around the bed with our luggage and a small chair pulled away from the small table provided. Also, our room made me feel like I was in a fishbowl. Upon entering the unit, the drapes were open on the sliding door and the bank of windows over the bed. I looked upon the windows of homes on the streets surrounding the Chalet. Didn't really feel like I could leave the drapes open because I felt exposed. Also, there was a lot of traffic noise from Frankton Road which is the main road into town and the Chalet is just off that road. The room and bath were very clean. We did enjoy the excellent breakfast that was provided. There was an assortment of cold dishes but you could also order a hot meal. The Chalet is also a little further from the town center. We only stayed the one night and I don't think this would be my first choice for an extended stay.

Room Tip: You'll have a lake view from room #2. But, room #1 and room #2 are affected by the traffic nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank durangodawgs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2012

Alex is a great Host, excellent location, room nice and clean. Lovely view of the lame and mountains . You will be at home.

Room Tip: Ask for the corner rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank galat29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2012

A big thank you to Alex for making us most welcome when we stayed here for 5 nights in Feb for our honeymoon. Room was spotless, with great views. The breakfast spread was plentiful, and the eggs and bacon were spot on! The walk in to town takes about 5-10 mins depending which route you take (down Frankton road or Stanley street), but not to far away for it to be a problem. All in all a great place to stay. Would we come again- YES! Cheers Alex. James and Sarah from York, UK.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jbrown1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.3 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#19 of 58 in Queenstown
3,201 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Dairy Private Hotel
The Dairy Private Hotel
#2 of 58 in Queenstown
903 reviews
0.6 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pounamu Apartments
Pounamu Apartments
#11 of 58 in Queenstown
1,420 reviews
0.2 mi away
Scenic Suites Queenstown
Scenic Suites Queenstown
#23 of 58 in Queenstown
900 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Queenstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Queenstown

Address: 1 Dublin Street, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Queenstown
Price Range: $179 - $243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Chalet Queenstown 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only 5 minutes walk to central Queenstown, Chalet Queenstown is a boutique Bed and Breakfast/Inn accommodation. Renowned worldwide for its perfectly appointed rooms and fabulous breakfasts Chalet Queenstown is the perfect place to enjoy all Queenstown, the adventure capital of New Zealand, has to offer. All seven guest rooms have private shower ensuites and balconies with the centrepiece of each room being King or Twin beds, covered in luxurious feather duvets, crisp white linens and capped off with a choice of pillows and a charcoal comforter. A sumptuous continental style buffet and freshly prepared a la carte breakfast is offered each day. With an emphasis on locally supplied goods, diversity and flavour are our focus. Cafe quality presentation has guests reaching for their cameras before they take their first bite. Chalet Queenstown also offers guests free onsite parking, along with WiFi access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chalet Queenstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chalet Queenstown Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing