We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A room with a view”
Review of Butterfli Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Butterfli Lodge
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Checked in for 1 night, stayed for 3.... On the outskirts of town, so quiet, but only a 5 minute walk in. Superb views of lake and mountains, with BBQ decks etc. clean, comfortable, good showers and kitchen, with friendly helpful staff.

Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (101)
There are newer reviews for Butterfli Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

61 - 67 of 101 reviews

Reviewed May 6, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights. Slightly out of town, but only 5 minute walk in. Double room w/o bathroom for 67 dollars then 62 for the 2nd night.
Cindy, the manager, was very friendly. Booked skydiving and Nevis bungy through her. If you book through her (same price as direct) you get free wifi.
Room was comfortable and clean, French windows opening out to a view across the lake and hammocks. Two bathroom/toilets on our floor. Warm lounge with log fire. Decent kitchen. Picnic benches on the veranda with a stunning view.
Off street parking. Resident cat.
Would highly recommend - homely atmosphere and friendly staff.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DocMarkL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2012

Great location, & our triple room(double & 1 single) was very clean & comfy! Short walk to town away from the hustle & bustle of Queenstown. Staff not all that friendly. Kitchen busy! Remember to name & date all your food as they like throwing unmarked food out! We had our food unmarked & found it either in the bin or with someone else's names on it! Well worth the stay!

Room Tip: Mark your food that goes in their fridge or pantry!
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosewise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2012

We stayed for 4 nights at Butterfli Lodge. Very commercial orientated running hostel quite a walk to the heart of Queenstown, but with a nice view on the lake.

Unfriendly staff, for the Internet they made me paying 5 NZ $ for 100 MB using my own Notebook. Rooms are simple, but very clean. Don´t get those rooms on the basement, they are very dark and tight.

All rooms have shared bathroom, there exist only 3 bathrooms in total, which are always busy in rush-hour. Check out time is 10 AM, we wanted to take a shower at 9:30 AM, we could not, bathroom was busy by cleaning staff writing SMS (and not cleaning). The other bathrooms were busy by other guests. This was the reason we could not check out on time, giving the key to the reception at 10:05 AM and having breakfast for 15 minutes. Cleaning our teeth afterwards in the shared bathroom upstairs brought us into trouble with the staff. They warned us in a in a rude way that we would have to pay for another night.
Traveling 1 month in NZ we stayed in perfectly hostels and met lovely people. Butterfli Lodge is definitely a place I do not recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zhenia_Mario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2012

We stayed in a double room in the Butterfli overlooking the lake in Queenstown, its a really friendly down to earth place - its quiet and the views over the lake are stunning. Great place to be based for a stay in the are and good value.

Room Tip: rooms at the front downstairs have a small deck overlooking the lake with hammocks,
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoESouthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2012

My family & I consisting of my parents & aunt+uncle stayed here for 2 nights (wish we could stay longer! aaargh, next time we'll stay for a week!) Feb 28 & 29. Honestly, I was quite worried before checking in cause their Website was not so flashy (don't judge a lodge by its website!). However once we found & checked-in @ Butterfli Lodge, I realized just how beautiful the location was. Butterfli Lodge is located on top of a hill facing the mountains & Lake Wakatipu (was it the Remarkables & Cecil Peak?) without any houses or trees obstructing this view. The view is simply PRICELESS. We really couldn't have asked more for the price we paid. My parents & aunt+uncle were in the double rooms facing the lake ($68 per room night), I ended up hanging out at their room & the hammock outside more than my own room. I was in the 4 share room on the other side of the lodge. My mom & aunt kept remarking how cosy & homely the lodge was. The lodge manager, Cindy, was a very helpful & nice person. The lodgers staying here seem to be equally nice folks. The kitchen was well equipped & stocked with lots of spices. Location: Short walk to the town. Take note that if you buy activities/rides through them (eg. Gondola, jetboat ride & etc.), you get free Internet vouchers (in our case, each of us bought the Gondola ride+1 luge & each received a 50MB Internet voucher. Suggestions: None, it's really clean there, perhaps putting a TV in each of the double rooms? :p Recommendation: I strongly recommend Butterfli Lodge to any traveler (family, couple or single) heading to Queenstown.

Room Tip: Request for the 2 double rooms or twin room fronting the lake. It's a view to die for!
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arlzev R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2012

a friend and i spent 4 nights in queenstown, the longest of any city on a 3 week tour, and loved the butterfli lodge. the ONLY minor negative is that it is about an 8 minute walk into town down a big hill and back up it (which was a little tiring late at night!). so if you want a central central spot, this might not be it.

because it was a little set back, though, and up on the hill, it was extremely quiet and peaceful and provided absolutely breathtaking views of the area. we had the downstairs 2 twin room, which had a little patio and opened to the driveway, which was nice for unpacking and exiting without going back through the house.

the kitchen is a decent size and clean and the living area is welcoming and cozy, complete with a fire place. while the laundry is outdoors, it's right near the kitchen and by that point in the trip, we were happy to have the ability to do it!

the bathrooms, though shared, were always clean. i felt that people were respectful of others and didn't leave a mess. (that probably says something about the type of people the hostel attracts!)

if you do stay there, there's a five-star hotel (can't think of the name right now) right next to it... very chateau-looking... anyway, the bar features floor-to-ceiling glass windows overlooking the lake/mountains... great spot for a sunset drink on the way into town!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jool12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.1 mi away
Esplanade Queenstown
Esplanade Queenstown
#41 of 57 in Queenstown
98 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pacific Jemm
Pacific Jemm
#57 of 93 in Queenstown
4 reviews
0.1 mi away
YHA Queenstown Lakefront
YHA Queenstown Lakefront
#15 of 93 in Queenstown
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Alta Apartments
Alta Apartments
#41 of 93 in Queenstown
118 reviews
0.1 mi away
LakeRidge Queenstown
LakeRidge Queenstown
#13 of 93 in Queenstown
156 reviews
0.0 mi away
Highview Apartments
Highview Apartments
#10 of 93 in Queenstown
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Butterfli Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Butterfli Lodge

Address: 62 Thompson Street, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 93 Specialty Lodging in Queenstown
Price Range: $62 - $68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Butterfli Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing