We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You're very own condo”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Spinnaker Bay Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Picton, New Zealand
2 reviews
“You're very own condo”
Reviewed November 30, 2013

The place was clean to the T, the receptionist always friendly and helpful. Staying made me feel at home, everything I need is available. We were able to leave with our clothes already wash and ready for the next leg of our journey of the South Island. There's a walkway to go to town by foot, just a short 20 minute walk and get the exercise, leading to Queenstown Garden. Definitely a place to stay.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Eileen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    22
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
60
32
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013 via mobile

Stayed two nights. The apartment could not have had a better view of the lake and mountains and was nicely equipped. Judy ( manager ) was very helpful and friendly. Advised us to choose the jet boat which toured lake and lower part of river, which we enjoyed very much, but having caught a glimpse of the canyons further up the Shotover river, we slightly regretted not doing the Shotover jet instead/as well.
Walk into town from apartment is 25 mins if you go right round the lakeside park, but if you time it right, you get beautiful sunset views towards the end of walk.
Would stay there again.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lozweir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We have stayed at Spinnaker Bay many times over the years and it never fails to deliver. Very comfortable apartments, amazing views and excellent hosts.

Although a bit out of the central area of Queenstown it is a very pleasant and easy 15/20 minute walk along the lake edge into town.

We stayed with family visitors from the UK recently and they were very impressed. We had 2, two bedroom apartments between 6 of us and we were very warm and comfortable. Very good kitchen facilities meant that we could cook and dine in whenever we wanted. The New World supermarket just up the road in Frankton was a convenient source of supplies.

Room Tip: All apartments have great views, just pick one with the number of bedrooms to suit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnlock2591
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

The apartments are located a short walk out of town, not that you can make it without hailing a cab. Great proprietors, they were very helpful. Plus a great view across the lake at the mountains that lacked fresh snow.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndrewSwann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 7 nights in a three bedroom apartment at Spinnaker Bay. The owners were wonderful and so helpful for us.
A little dated but it felt just like home for the week. Warm, cozy and beautiful views all day everyday!
Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Renae G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

My family of five 2adults and 3 children stayed at Spinnaker Bay Luxury Apartments for 3 nights in July. It was truly luxurious with plenty of space and fantastic views from the lounge and the bedrooms . It was warm and cosy with a nice powerful shower, heated towel rails, spa bath and electric blankets. Although we probably didn't need it we got the log fire going too. It was a 20 minute walk into town along side the lake which we didn't mind at all because it was such a pretty walk.
The kids loved the pool (although I would have preferred it a little warmer) but the view of the mountains and lake from the pool was amazing. would highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gasiorowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Our stay in Queenstown couldn't be better. The owners were lovely and very helpful. The view from the apartment was breathtaking. It had a well equipped kitchen, which was good as we both had dietary requirements and were able to easily make up our own food. We liked the location as we were able to walk out our front door right onto the lake. Certainly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2sinclairs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.3 mi away
Villa Del Lago
Villa Del Lago
#2 of 58 in Queenstown
540 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pounamu Apartments
Pounamu Apartments
#11 of 58 in Queenstown
1,380 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Garden Court Suites & Apartments
1.4 mi away
Highview Apartments
Highview Apartments
#10 of 90 in Queenstown
315 reviews
0.6 mi away
Caples Court
Caples Court
#5 of 90 in Queenstown
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spinnaker Bay Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spinnaker Bay Apartments

Property: Spinnaker Bay Apartments
Address: 151 Frankton Road, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 90 Specialty Lodging in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Spinnaker Bay Apartments 4.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire and HRS so you can book your Spinnaker Bay Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing