We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Breathtaking mountain and lake views” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Spinnaker Bay Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Spinnaker Bay Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Breathtaking mountain and lake views”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2012

This is our third stay at these apartments over the last decade. The views, location (we enjoy being away from the busy part of town and the walk into town) and the space are what brings us back. As we are aware that each apartment is individually owned and furnished we particularly requested one that had been recently renovated. The kitchen, bathroom, carpets etc were in good condition but the furnishings were certainly not current and were lacking, and seriously it had the ugliest lounge suite!! This was disappointing given our request; we viewed another apartment (no. 7) which was being cleaned and it was fabulous - tasteful and current; doesn't make sense that the standard can vary so much but the rate is constant.

The usual managers were away (May is very quiet in Queenstown) so things were lacking in that department also. Our apartment did not get made up one day although we put out the sign albeit in the middle of the day, but there was no instruction to have the sign out by a certain time. Also we had an urgent plumbing problem on the last night and were unable to raise management. We were financially compensated when we paid our bill but would have preferred a good night's sleep.

If one had been allocated unit 7 and under usual managment the rating could easily be a 5; but with our experience this time around I can only give it a 3. However, the rates were good for this off-season period.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Backhammer09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    21
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
59
30
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2012

We travelled with another couple and stayed for 7 nights at Spinnaker Bay. It suited us perfectly with 2 double rooms and 2 bathrooms. The host was very friendly and helpful. The kitchen had everything we needed, including dishwashing liquid and fresh tea towels every day. The view was glorious and there was a heater and woodfire. Very pleasant walk into town and even a garage for our hire car. We are definitely planning to stay here again. We absolutely highly recommend this property!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robbyt19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2012

We stayed here with a large group and the 3brm units were perfect. Management happily offered to have two single beds in each bedroom.

Sure, the decor is a little tired. But everything was in perfect working order and spotlessly clean. The free WiFi was a bonus, especially for those of us from overseas.

The complex is an easy 15 minute walk to town via the lakefront. (Yes, there is a steep driveway up to the road, if you choose to walk that way.)

Would recommend for those looking for good quality, clean, affordable accommodation.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KiwiTraveler77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2011

We stayed at Spinnaker Bay for 3 nights, with another couple. The 2 bedroom apartment was very good in terms of space, views, service and comfort. Beds were great and having 2 bathrooms was excellent. Cooking and laundry facilities were also more than adequate. Papers were delivered each morning and the apartment was serviced daily. The views across the lake were nothing less than spectacular and the long spring evenings allowed us to enjoy them for many twilight hours. The stairs and steep site could be a problem for anyone a little unsteady on their feet, and the 15-20 minute walk into the centre of Queenstown wouldn't be for everyone - a flat and pleasant-enough walk once you got down to lake level. We were pleased with our choice for the most part and would have loved the time to make use of the sunny courtyard and barbecue.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank richos2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2011

6 days at these apartments were not enough - two levels, quiet, loved the wood fire - views morning and afternoon over Lake unbeatable - walked to CBD once - but then used the car - 5 minute drive. Friendly host. Certainly will be first choice in queenstown next time. Discounted price was right.

Room Tip: every apartment would appear to have great views.
See more room tips
Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank john b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2011

It was really a home away from home. Clean, Tidy and well presented, the apartments overlooking the lake was just splendid. Hope to come back again in Jan 2012

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vgirinz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rotorua
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2011

We stayed in the Lakeview 2bdrm 2 bathrm apartment...was spotless...and well maintained...everything worked well.We were late arriving on day 1 and had let them know they had kindly heated the rooms for us....lots of heating options and storage options...spa was lovely....very spacious and great that there are 3 tvs that can go on different channels...You can even have a undercover garage.People were lovely and lots of stock of loo paper,rubbish bags etc and dishwasher and laundry...pool was closed for repair on day 1 but our son used the next day it was great also.Got for $250 a night off wotif...great price for great apartment.Also we went for a morning wal everyday around the shores of Lake Wakitipu...right outside our apartment.
Amazing views from the apartment...5 mins to town in the car. Free Wifi as well.
Perfect..

Room Tip: Depends on yur requirements
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank debzrotorua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.7 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
1.1 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
0.1 mi away
Pounamu Apartments
Pounamu Apartments
#14 of 57 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#22 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,000 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Del Lago
Villa Del Lago
#1 of 57 in Queenstown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oaks Club Resort
Oaks Club Resort
#34 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spinnaker Bay Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spinnaker Bay Apartments

Property: Spinnaker Bay Apartments
Address: 151 Frankton Road, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 90 Specialty Lodging in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Spinnaker Bay Apartments 4.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Spinnaker Bay Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing