We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect accommodation for a group”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Spinnaker Bay Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 5, 2012

We stayed here with a large group and the 3brm units were perfect. Management happily offered to have two single beds in each bedroom.

Sure, the decor is a little tired. But everything was in perfect working order and spotlessly clean. The free WiFi was a bonus, especially for those of us from overseas.

The complex is an easy 15 minute walk to town via the lakefront. (Yes, there is a steep driveway up to the road, if you choose to walk that way.)

Would recommend for those looking for good quality, clean, affordable accommodation.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KiwiTraveler77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (131)
There are newer reviews for Spinnaker Bay Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

108 - 114 of 131 reviews

Reviewed December 4, 2011

We stayed at Spinnaker Bay for 3 nights, with another couple. The 2 bedroom apartment was very good in terms of space, views, service and comfort. Beds were great and having 2 bathrooms was excellent. Cooking and laundry facilities were also more than adequate. Papers were delivered each morning and the apartment was serviced daily. The views across the lake were nothing less than spectacular and the long spring evenings allowed us to enjoy them for many twilight hours. The stairs and steep site could be a problem for anyone a little unsteady on their feet, and the 15-20 minute walk into the centre of Queenstown wouldn't be for everyone - a flat and pleasant-enough walk once you got down to lake level. We were pleased with our choice for the most part and would have loved the time to make use of the sunny courtyard and barbecue.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank richos2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2011

6 days at these apartments were not enough - two levels, quiet, loved the wood fire - views morning and afternoon over Lake unbeatable - walked to CBD once - but then used the car - 5 minute drive. Friendly host. Certainly will be first choice in queenstown next time. Discounted price was right.

Room Tip: every apartment would appear to have great views.
Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
3  Thank john b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2011

It was really a home away from home. Clean, Tidy and well presented, the apartments overlooking the lake was just splendid. Hope to come back again in Jan 2012

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vgirinz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2011

We stayed in the Lakeview 2bdrm 2 bathrm apartment...was spotless...and well maintained...everything worked well.We were late arriving on day 1 and had let them know they had kindly heated the rooms for us....lots of heating options and storage options...spa was lovely....very spacious and great that there are 3 tvs that can go on different channels...You can even have a undercover garage.People were lovely and lots of stock of loo paper,rubbish bags etc and dishwasher and laundry...pool was closed for repair on day 1 but our son used the next day it was great also.Got for $250 a night off wotif...great price for great apartment.Also we went for a morning wal everyday around the shores of Lake Wakitipu...right outside our apartment.
Amazing views from the apartment...5 mins to town in the car. Free Wifi as well.
Perfect..

Room Tip: Depends on yur requirements
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank debzrotorua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2011

Loved the heated indoor pool. There is so much space in these apartments with comfortable furniture, large flat screen TV and now free wifi. A fully equipped kitchen with the all important dishwasher. A log fire and underfloor heating for the colder weather. This is our second visit and the property has improved since our last time with new outdoor furniture. The shrubs and trees have been pruned to improve those gorgeous lake views. A new management team in place who are friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TakaheDunedin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed staying at these luxury units. Great views over the lake and a pleasant 20 minute walk into the centre of queenstown. The units are very well equipped. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.2 mi away
Pounamu Apartments
Pounamu Apartments
#11 of 58 in Queenstown
1,403 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oaks Club Resort
Oaks Club Resort
#34 of 58 in Queenstown
464 reviews
0.6 mi away
Oaks Shores
Oaks Shores
#39 of 58 in Queenstown
802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Villa Del Lago
Villa Del Lago
#4 of 58 in Queenstown
551 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
0.6 mi away
Central Ridge Boutique Hotel
Central Ridge Boutique Hotel
#8 of 58 in Queenstown
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spinnaker Bay Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spinnaker Bay Apartments

Address: 151 Frankton Road, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 92 Specialty Lodging in Queenstown
Price Range: $234 - $392 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Spinnaker Bay Apartments 4.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
15 very spacious apartments set in peaceful secluded surroundings with amazing views of Lake Wakatipu and the surrounding mountains. Located just a 20 minute walk along the lakefront from the town centre of Queenstown. There are one bedroom, two bedroom and 3 bedroom apartments that are serviced daily, and there is a choice of either a super king bed or 2 single beds in each bedroom. These all have many of the comforts of home including fully self contained kitchens, laundry facilities and a spa bath. There is free wifi and we provide many complimentary household items to make your stay more enjoyable. Underfloor heating in some areas and the wood burner fireplace are nice treats on the cold winter evenings. You can also enjoy the heated indoor swimming pool or relax in the sauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Spinnaker Bay Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing