We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recent Stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Eichardt's Private Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Eichardt's Private Hotel
Ranked #21 of 57 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Recent Stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

This hotel is very exclusive and has an absolute majestic feel to it. The staff were amazing and an all round wonderful experience, would higly recommend anyone wanting a piece of luxury in the middle of Queenstown to stay here.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eichardts, General Manager at Eichardt's Private Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Dear Joanne B,

Thank you for posting a review of your stay at Eichardt’s Private Hotel. I was pleased to see you enjoyed your stay and thank you for recommending Eichardt’s. I appreciate your lovely comments - and I agree the hotel is very majestic, and it was great to see you enjoyed the service from our team here in Queenstown. Thank you and we look forward to seeing you again at Eichardt’s

Kind regards,
Chris McIntosh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    15
    7
    4
    4
See reviews for
54
155
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

We loved everything about Eichardt's! The architecture,
the location, the beautiful suites with amazing views, the bar with its delicious cocktails and tapas and the wonderful service by every staff member. We'll definitely return. Olga en Kevin

Room Tip: All the rooms are magnificent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eichardts, General Manager at Eichardt's Private Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Dear Kevin D,

Thank you for reviewing your stay at Eichardt's Private Hotel. I was pleased to see you had a fantastic experience with Olga whilst staying with us. It was lovely to see you enjoyed the service from our team of wonderful people here in Queenstown in both the bar and the hotel. Thank you and we look forward to seeing you again at Eichardt's.

Kind regards,
Chris McIntosh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

Eichardt's was a truly magnificent property, felt like we were the only ones there. Service was attentive, the suite was beautiful and tasteful and the bar made the best cocktails and wonderful tapas. Great location on the lakefront, cannot say enough good things about this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Luke G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eichardts, General Manager at Eichardt's Private Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Dear Luke G,

Thank you for reviewing your stay at Eichardt's Private Hotel. It was a pleasure to have you with us for the two nights and I'm pleased you enjoyed your break away in Queenstown. I appreciate your kind comments regarding the cocktails in Eichardt's Bar and the service you received from our dedicated guest services team. Thank you and we look forward to seeing you again at Eichardt's.

Kind regards,
Chris McIntosh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

We had a really nice relaxing time in the bar with great wine and tapas. Garry was really friendly and had a real personable approach. I definately recomend the pork. the hotel and bar are conveniently located in the center of town with easy access to all the activiteies Queenstown has to offer. Duncan

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Duncan_crawford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eichardts, General Manager at Eichardt's Private Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Dear Duncan_crawford,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your experience at Eichardt’s Private Hotel. I am pleased you enjoyed your time with us. We are exclusively positioned on the prime waterfront location in Queenstown, and we strive for excellence in all areas of the hotel and bar. I will be passing on your feedback to Gary. Thank you and we look forward to seeing you again at Eichardt's.

Kind regards,
Chris McIntosh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

The impeccable service and ambiance of Eichardt's Private Hotel made our stay the most enjoyable experience in the 45 years of international and national travel. Until last week I thought nothing could challenge the experience of sleeping in a swag in the outback under infinite celestial stars. The friendly warmth and attention to detail etches the experience at Eichardt's as unforgettable . Thank you, Rhonda Renwick

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Rhonda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eichardts, General Manager at Eichardt's Private Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Dear Rhonda R,

Thank you for reviewing your stay at Eichardt's - your review was absolutely lovely and I will be passing your feedback onto the staff. Thank you for your kind words and we look forward to seeing you again at Eichardt's

Kind regards,
Chris McIntosh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

I have a family of four (3 and 5yo) and sometimes I feel that beautiful hotels are not too happy to have kids.. but Eichardt’s Private Hotel was the most welcoming, caring, refreshing service I have ever experienced. We stayed in the two bedroom private residence 20 meters from the main hotel with magnificent views of the Lake and activities.

As the mother I felt like ten Aunties (and uncles) were taking care of my needs, and my family. Without a doubt, we had the most rejuvenating holiday we have ever had with children. I knew I was in heaven when they gave me the take out menu with no numbers (as they ordered it and brought it to the suite), brought a pack of my favourite tea to my room, and fixed the room twice daily.. but there are 100 little things, small details, which make this the most exceptional holiday experience.. The breakfast, the tapas were world class.. and there was nothing missing.
I had a tour into the private bedrooms suites in the Hotel and they were luxurious. I wish I was there now.

Room Tip: If you have lots of snow gear stay in the bottom Private Units.. but the top floor has uninterupted...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Juliette W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eichardts, General Manager at Eichardt's Private Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Dear Juliette W,

Thank you for reviewing your stay at Eichardt’s Private Hotel. It was a pleasure to have your family at Eichardt’s and I am pleased that you all enjoyed the service in the apartments from our fantastic guest services team. All of our staff are dedicated to ensuring our guests have an absolutely brilliant stay with us during a visit to Queenstown and I will be passing on your comments to them. The lakefront apartments are a lovely space to stay in and the views are gorgeous! Thank you and we look forward to seeing you again at Eichardt’s

Kind regards,
Chris McIntosh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

From the moment I contacted the hotel to make an enquiry, to the time we paid the bill, the whole experience was second to none. The staff were warm, attentive but discrete, the hotel is exquisitely decorated (the bed linen, open fire within the room, bath and luxurious bath products, soft slippers and home made biscuits = STUNNING) and the food made it difficult to find a reason to leave the hotel (so we didn't)! We loved the whole experience. We also recommend tapas in the bar downstairs overlooking the amazinf view. We will definately return and book for longer! Thank you to the team at Eichardt's Private Hotel for such a wonderful night in Queenstown.

Room Tip: The lake view suite is a must! Indulge.....it is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samantha C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eichardts, General Manager at Eichardt's Private Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Dear Samantha C,

Thank you for reviewing your stay at Eichardt's. The guest services team are dedicated to providing the very best service and we are fortunate to be in an absolutely stunning building in the very best location possible! I was pleased you enjoyed our home made biscuits - nothing beats the real thing - and that you enjoyed the luxury amenities we provide. As an in house guest in the hotel you are welcome to enjoy our tapas in the bar, parlour, or in your suite. Thank you and we look forward to seeing you again at Eichardt's.

Kind regards,
Chris McIntosh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
0.1 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#22 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,999 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
0.1 mi away
The Spire Hotel Queenstown
The Spire Hotel Queenstown
#10 of 57 in Queenstown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
0.3 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eichardt's Private Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eichardt's Private Hotel

Property: Eichardt's Private Hotel
Address: Marine Parade | PO Box 1340, Queenstown, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#20 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
#20 Family Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Eichardt's Private Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HM Magazine (Australia) Best New Zealand Hotel 2014. World Luxury Hotel Awards Best boutique ski hotel 2013 and 2014 Eichardt's Private Hotel provides fine accommodation in five luxurious Hotel Suites, four Lakefront Apartments, and the Eichardt's Residence, all located in the historic district on a premium lakefront position at the heart of Queenstown's cafe and restaurant precinct with some of the finest international shopping labels an easy stroll away. The Hotel reflects contemporary provincial elegance, its modern features in perfect harmony with the distinctive antiques and luxurious furnishings of this New Zealand icon. The Lakefront Apartments, just a few paces away from Eichardt's Private Hotel offer stunning views of Lake Wakatipu and nearby mountain ranges. The Residence, located on an elevated position, a few minutes walk from the hotel is set over three levels and offers three suites, each with large ensuite, movie theatre, full European kitchen, and three lakefacing balconies. Queenstown's premier lakefront address offers a welcoming and stylish environment for sampling mouth-watering creations and timeless cocktails. Eichardt's Bar oozes the warmth, comfort and style of this beautiful old hotel with amazing views of the lake and surrounding mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Eichardt's Private Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eichardts Private Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing