We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (128)
Filter reviews
128 results
Traveler rating
97
20
2
3
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
97
20
2
3
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshotover riverthe main housetreehouse cottageenjoyed the hot tubspa tubwonderful hoststwo nightsnerycorgipropertyaccommodationsupermarketsuitcaseslaundry
Filter
Updating list...
90 - 95 of 128 reviews
Reviewed January 22, 2011

We rarely stay in the same place twice, but this was our third trip to Trelawn and we loved it! Each time it seems to get better, and Nery and Michael are marvellous hosts.

The location cannot be beaten: staggering beauty involving mountains and the Shotover River. There is a zen-like sense of peace in the abundant sunshine, yet the excitement of Queenstown is only 5 minutes away. It was a wrench to leave - but we'll be back!

Quentin & toni

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank QuentinHeim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2011

Beautiful location, just out of Queenstown, gorgeous property and the valley is lovely and quiet... when there aren't jet boats travelling down the river every 5 minutes. Admittedly, we went the day after new years so maybe the boats aren't as regular normally but if you're thinking of having a wedding their, keep it in mind.

Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Stefan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2011

I'm generally of the belief that if you don't have anything good to say, don't say anything at all. But, I found the 4.5 star rating on Trelawn to be so far from our experience, I need to warn other travelers. We stayed at the Cherry Tree Cottage for 2 nights in Dec 2010. The owners were lovely when we arrived and when we first saw the cottage, it exceeded our expectations vs. the photos on the website. However, after settling in, we noticed that this place was incredibly dirty. My husband phrased it perfect - it was like going to visit Grandma. But, now we were paying over $400 per night for said visit. A few notables: I put on the robe to notice someone else's hair on it, the sinks still had dirt in them, when we got into the lovely big spa tub we ran our fingers on the inside of the tub to find a whole layer of dust and scum, and the convection oven had loads of food particles left from other people. The place is beautiful, but needs regular and professional cleaning which it obviously doesn't have. We felt so uncomfortable here, we considered forfeiting our second night. I didn't read all the reviews which I should have since there are others quoting the same thing. There are MUCH better values to be had in Queenstown (try Rees apartments or Central Ridge Boutique Hotel).

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MDB82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trelawn, Owner at Trelawn Place, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2011

Sorry you were so disappointed with our servce and Cherry tree house.
As you were on your honeymoon we try to give people as much prvacy as possible. If there was anything you wanted, you only had to ask.
We have replaced the bathrobes.
Kind regards
Michael and Nery

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2011

We used Trelawn as the location for our wedding having only seen on-line and reviews. The place is staggering and the hosts, Michael and Nery really could not have done more to make things go perfectly. The hard work they put into the place is obvious, but also the little things that surprise and delight (like the hot tub, and the beautiful gardens, and the heaters at night in the garden) are wonderful.

Also, they worked incredibly hard behind the scenes and did countless things that we are not even aware of and they do not expect thanks for - but I know they did.

The location is second to none - it is just like it is in the photographs, or even better.

With respect to the comments about dogs they were never intrusive and if ever a bit nosy quickly coaxed away by Michael. To be honest I'm not a dog person but they didn't offend me at all, and they actually added even more character to the place.

And with respect to the comments about the Shotover Jet; again it really is not that intrusive - they pass by only occasionally but regularly and the quiet between them is complete, the breaks frequent and long and the occasional squeals of delight always made me giggle - even during our wedding ceremony!

The rooms are all absolutely spotless, very comfortable, well equipped and characterful. The grounds are beautifully kept and the lawn wonderful. Do yourself a favour and make a stay at Trelawn, if you are having a wedding even better (you can trust Nery and Michael and their sub-contractors completely), this location and these hosts will make for a truly unforgettable day.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michaelevans60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2010

We stayed five days and were delighted in all respects, that we chose to stay at Trelawn Place.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DandE17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews