We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Was worth the Wait”
Review of Trelawn Place

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Trelawn Place
Brisbane
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Was worth the Wait”
Reviewed September 21, 2008

After visiting Trelawn in 1996 by Chance on recommendation from the Queenstown Info Centre as a newly married couple, we vowed to bring our friends back . Finally 12 years on 2 Kids a mortgage and Dogs we are back with our friends and it was worth the wait. Trelawn has changed with the addition of a new cottage and it is even better than we remember. Something that hasn't changed is the warm and friendly welcome and atmosphere that we experienced 12 years ago. Our hosts Nery and Michael have accommodated our every need. Our friends can't help but be in awe of the place. The views are simply breath taking with the only break in the silence being the squeals of delight as the Shotover Jets screams past the property . The children found Trelawn to be cosy and the food to be delicious they also took the two resident corgies for a walk along the goat tracks overlooking the Shotover river or maybe the dogs took them my advice come and see for your self you will not be disappointed ! Suitable for couples singles families

  • Liked — The location and the hosts
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank karenarcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    20
    2
    3
    6
See reviews for
49
53
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
belfast
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2008

We booked Cherry Tree Cottage at Trelawn Place directly via email, for a 2 night stay in July. It was my husband's birthday so I didn't mind paying the £100 per night BB price. On arrival we were greeted warmly by the hosts and felt optimistic. The cottage had a beautiful view and looked exactly like the internet images.

However the accommodation smelt of the owners corgis as they had direct access to the cottage, and was generally dirty. This included the beds, kitchen and bathroom area. I did try to clean the areas we used and tried to brush the hairs off furniture, including dog hairs in the toaster (!) and dandruff off the bed but felt uncomfortable overall.

Breakfast was to be included, but we were informed that no this was extra, once we arrived for breakfast the following morning. We left after one night.

A really beautiful property with welcoming hosts, but needed a good clean/airing. This was our most disappointing accommodation in New Zealand in 3 weeks.

  • Liked — The view was stunning.
  • Disliked — The dirty cottage.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank robmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2008

We stayed at Trelawn's cottage for 7 nights during our honeymoon, and were absolutely delighted with the accommodation - it was even better than we'd hoped for.
The cottage itself was roomy and well-appointed with luxurious fittings and decorations. The stone exterior, underfloor heating and large gas fireplace made the cottage nice and warm, even when it was cold outside.
The owners were friendly and made us feel very welcome.
The location was amazing - a secluded site looking out to Coronet Peak over the Shotover river, but only a short drive to Queenstown.
The outdoor spa overlooking the river was a nice touch, especially when it started to snow - magic.

  • Liked — No expense spared - top notch
  • Disliked — Can't think of anything
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank mongo27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2008

Two friends and I stayed at Trelawn Place last month for three nights. It's one of the very few places I've stayed which, having booked it via the internet, actually more than lived up to the pictures and description.

The setting -- five mins by car from Queenstown -- is superb and convienent, with beautiful vistas and an equally beautiful garden. The "Cottage" we stayed in was lovely: well furnished and cozy, and with the added bonus of a washing machine and dryer.

The proprietors, Nery and Michael, couldn't have been kinder and more helpful, directing us to the best restaurants and sight-seeing trips. The fully-cooked breakfast they provided was delicious and generous.

Their guestbook shows that they've had many repeat visitors over the years -- and no wonder. We'll certainly be back.

  • Liked — its beautiful location; charm; and the helpfulness of the proprietors
  • Disliked — hard to say: nothing really
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank MaryLizzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2007

We had an excellent stay at Trelawn Place. We felt right at home...actually a lot better than home!! Wish we were still there under the stars in the hot tub with a glass of "Savi-B". For anyone who appreciates gardening, you can skip the botanical gradens and just enjoy Trelawn Place. All this and great restaurants in the area plus plenty to do in this picturesque part of the world. The view from Trelawn was exceptional. Super hosts! A++

Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank Glenelia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SE Pennslyvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2007

We have just completed a 3-night stay at this wonderful B&B. The scenery is just spectacular as are the grounds with beautiful garden landscaping throughout the property. The site overlooks the Shotover river from a high bluff affording a very beautiful photo opportunity (just one from many focal points within the grounds). A hot tub is perfectly situated to allow users to view the river/mountains from on high. We are from the Philadelphia, PA USA area and would heartily recommend Trelawn Place to anyone looking for a delightful getaway in a close-to-perfect location (it may be of interst to note that The Lord of the RIngs trilogy was filmed in this region).
The city of Queenstown is a 15-20 minute drive away allowing access to a myriad of tour companies throughout the area including a very nice three-hour steamship lake cruise on Lake Wakatipu to the high farm country for tea and a tour of the farm and, of course, the famous and exciting jet boat trip on the Shotover River is another option.
Michael and Neri, our host and hostess were very accommodating and helpful in arranging things to do and places to dine in the area. They attended to our every need and couldn't have been nicer in detailing their property and other points of interest. From a woman's point of view, the rooms are charming and well appointed. Our bath had a fabulous tub, separate shower and vanity. The flowers in bloom and landscaping rival any flower show, in fact, while we were here, a Garden Club visited for tea. But best of all welcomes was the fun we had with the friendly critters - they greeted us properly and kept us well supplied with affection.
All in all, beautiful photos and memories to last a lifetime.
I would love to send photos with these comments, but will have to wait to send some when I get back home.
Dottie & Dick

  • Liked — location and photo ops
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank rrk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2007

Had a wonderful 2 nights stay here as part of my honeymoon and would loved to have stayed longer. We stayed in the cottage (very cosy when the woodstove is on) and the hosts were very welcoming, including the cats and dogs! Such a peaceful & beautiful location yet such a short distance from the centre of Queenstown. I'm looking forward to my next visit one day.

  • Liked — Everything!!!
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LizB26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.8 mi away
Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel
Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel
#25 of 58 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
2.5 mi away
Whistler, The Chancellor - Queenstown
2.4 mi away
Coronet View Accommodation
Coronet View Accommodation
#47 of 58 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Canyons Lodge B&B
The Canyons Lodge B&B
#30 of 90 in Queenstown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
0.6 mi away
Queenstown TOP 10 Holiday Park
14.3 mi away
Kinross Cottages
Kinross Cottages
#3 of 44 in Queenstown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trelawn Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trelawn Place

Property: Trelawn Place
Address: 35 Watties Track | Arthurs Point, Queenstown 9348, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 90 Specialty Lodging in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Trelawn Place 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Trelawn Place is a country home 5 minutes (4km) drive from central Queenstown. 11 Km from the Queenstown Airport. (20 Minutes). We offer luxury self contained accommodation in our very popular Cherry tree house, our honeymoon cottage that can sleep four people and our garden apartment can sleeps three. All in a very private location,we are very popular for weddings. Nery and Michael are well traveled hosts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Trelawn Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing