We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely a beautiful place to stay”
Review of Trelawn Place

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Trelawn Place
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Trelawn would be at the top of my list in regards to accommodation in which I have stayed.
Not only for the spectacular views,beautiful gardens and very clean accommodation but mostly in regards to the fantastic hosts that Michael and Nery are.Nothing was to much trouble and I will most definitely return in years to come.I stayed in both the Cottage and the Apartment.My next trip I will be requesting the Cherry Tree House which looks directly down over the Shotover River and has a lovely spa bath.I also enjoyed the company of the animals as it was for me a home away from home.I highly recommend Trelawn for your next visit to Queenstown

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank honor l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trelawn, Owner at Trelawn Place, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Thank you Honor, it was fun having you to stay. We look forward to meeting you again in the future.
If you can twist Rex's arm to came and ski Coronet. I'll gladly show you around the mountain. I'm sure the skiing will come to you quite quickly. All the best with the house hunting.
Michael and Nery

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (124)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 124 reviews

Reviewed January 13, 2013

Having booked into Trelawn Place we were utterly disgusted with the dog hair and dog pooh smell that wreaked in all areas of the place.

We arrived and were welcomed in the main room of the house where the smell of dog pooh was really overwhelming. The older corgi had a rear end that was smeared with faeces, to make it worse, there was dog hair everywhere!

The place has beautiful views and gardens, but it seems somewhat neglected when it comes to the house itself. The bed linen smelt musty, the taps leaked and the shower was filthy. Our bed spread was covered in dog hair! It was truly shocking to have to pay almost $400 per night!

Perhaps the owners need to start paying close attention to hygiene. The place needs to be renovated and cleaned, to charge such extortionate rates for a dirty and unkempt place is beyond belief.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank DrIH906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trelawn, Owner at Trelawn Place, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write regarding your concerns. We are extremely sorry that you were disappointed with your stay in the Cherry Tree house.
As you are obviously not dog people, I am surprised you choose a dog friendly property, although as you would have seen from the previous review, we don't allow any dogs inside the Tree house.
As our most popular and frequently used unit, it is hard to imagine it smelling stale and if you had told us about the dripping tap it could have been fixed ,now we will never be able to identify the offending tap.
Perhaps there was something else entirely on your mind that caused you to write that unfavourable report.
We apologize for your inconvenience and wish you happy traveling.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Trelawn is a lovely property set high on a cliff above the Shotover River with great views. We stayed in the Cherry Tree Cottage for 2 nights and loved the huge, private deck looking over the river. We had our two dogs with us, and really appreciated that they were allowed to stay and could wander the property freely. Dogs aren't allowed inside this cottage, which worked fine for us as they even provided a lovely kennel that our dogs slept in. They have several other units where pets can be inside if that's what you need. There are lots of great walks for dogs (and people) and no worries about traffic, etc. If you are looking for a getaway with your well-behaved canine family, this is the perfect spot!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flyingkiwi29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

We found Trelawn Place in a Google search for 'Queenstown Wedding Venues' and from our initial email about availability Nery was soo helpful and welcoming. We selected Nery's option 1 wedding package, and what a wonderful day and long weekend we had. Our party included family members from all corners of the globe and we were able to arrive and be accommodated according to our arrival times in Queenstown. We used all of Trelawn's accommodation options and the place was fantastic for the children to run around. Nery and Michael had just that week adopted a new puppy and Lucy became a favourite, along with Rusty. I think the poor dogs have had a rest since the children left!! Daniel and I wanted a simple, relaxed wedding day with our families, and we certainly had this at Trelawn. Nery and Michael are perfect organisers and the cake and flowers were all Nery's own work - A1! Marina the photographer they organised was brilliant and we took away a lovely photobook as a memento of our special day.
The setting and the location of Trelawn is perfect and we were lucky that the weather cooperated and our whole 4 day stay was lovely. The Cherry Tree house has the most wonderful spa bath - such a treat! We will most definitely be back!!

Room Tip: If you have children with you - choose the Cherry Tree house, Cottage or the Apartment
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nat J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

We had a glorious and fun wedding here last month and it went off without a hitch. A great time was had by all and I can see Trelawn being perfect for anything from a very formal to a very casual occasion. The accommodation was comfortable, the decor a little aged. The biggest disappointment was that when booking we weren't told of the additional fees we were expected to pay after the event. I suggest when discussing your requirements you don't attempt to run with a verbal agreement like we did but insist on a written quote so you can't be hit with excessive hidden costs that you won't be told about. Then you won't be left with a bill that takes the shine off an otherwise excellent day!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chuckie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We recently got married at Trelawn, our guests all stayed there for the weekend. We had the most amazing weekend. Trelawn is absolutely stunning. It has the WOW factor. The accomadation, breakfasts and Nery and Michaels hospitality are A1. What great memories we all left with, not to mention the photos which are spectacular.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Jenny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012

We found Trelawn on Trip Advisor and I'm glad that we listened to the reviews from other happy customers. We loved the quite beautiful grounds, comfortable beds, open fires and great service.

It felt like a home away from home. We had our 5 year old with us and the picture perfect 2 bedroom cottage was great for that added privacy and space. We enjoyed the warm spa every afternoon overlooking the shotover canyon and amazing views of the beautiful mountains. There is a supermarket only 5 minutes away so it was great having our own self contained kitchen we could prepare our own meals.

Every day Michael and Nery ensured our cottage was cosy and warm by turning on the towel warmers, stoking the fire and heating up the spa... which we enjoyed daily with a wine after a hard day skiing.

The location was perfect as it is easy access to the ski fields and only a short drive into Queenstowns restaurants and nightlife.

We would highly recommend Trelawn to anyone and we have already booked again for next year. We stayed in the Cottage which has 2 bedrooms, but for those wanting a bit more living space or romantic setting the Treehouse is an fantasitc option as it has an indoor spa and private BBQ deck overlooking the Shotover Canyon. We have decided to try the Treehouse on our 2013 visit and will give an updated reivew then.

Thanks for the memories Michael and Nery.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anraeel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trelawn, Owner at Trelawn Place, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2012

Thank you for your kind words, we enjoyed having you stay with us as well, we look forward to your visit next winter. Thank you for the photos of the cottage , we hadn't thought of showing the fire going in a photo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
3.1 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
0.2 mi away
http://www.thecanyonslodge.com/
3.3 mi away
Highview Apartments
Highview Apartments
#8 of 93 in Queenstown
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
2.9 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#19 of 59 in Queenstown
3,280 reviews
3.8 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#25 of 59 in Queenstown
1,501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trelawn Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trelawn Place

Address: 35 Watties Track | Arthurs Point, Queenstown 9348, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 93 Specialty Lodging in Queenstown
Price Range: $261 - $315 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Trelawn Place 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Trelawn Place is a country home 5 minutes (4km) drive from central Queenstown. 11 Km from the Queenstown Airport. (20 Minutes). We offer luxury self contained accommodation in our very popular Cherry tree house, our honeymoon cottage that can sleep four people and our garden apartment can sleeps three. All in a very private location,we are very popular for weddings. Nery and Michael are well traveled hosts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Trelawn Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing