We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic but good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Queenstown Frankton Road
Ranked #43 of 59 Hotels in Queenstown
Reviewed May 6, 2014

We stayed two nights and found the room suited us. Price was very good for Queenstown. Room was basic but clean. Good bathroom facilities. Disappointed no sky TV as this is considered basic nowadays. Electric blanket didn't work. Needed in Queenstown at this time of year. Obviously not checked. Found parking similar to another review. Parking space when we arrived but cars everywhere when we came back later. Had to park aroung back in front of rubbish skip.
Good basic middle of the road accomodation. And yes will use again

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank no1witch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goldridgeresort, General Manager at Holiday Inn Queenstown Frankton Road, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2014

Dear Goldridge Guest, Thank you for choosing to stay at the Goldridge. I’m pleased to read you were satisfied with your room. Certainly housekeeping failed to pick up the electric blanket fault and for this we apologise, we now have the team being very diligent, so thank you for bringing this to our attention at the beginning of winter. Sky TV is available in our lounge and bar area so we do hope you avail yourself of this service on your next stay with us and don’t forget we offer free Wi-Fi in our superior rooms during your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back. Best Regards, Penny Clark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (411)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

238 - 244 of 411 reviews

Reviewed May 2, 2014

Clean, comfortable and provides all the basic facilities. The wifi was a slight disappointment, as it was a limited supply but advertised as free. The free shuttle into town would be a handy option in peak season, but in off-peak season parking is manageable in the city centre anyway.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Monique4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goldridgeresort, General Manager at Holiday Inn Queenstown Frankton Road, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

Dear Monique, Thank you for your time to post this review. I’m glad to hear you had a comfortable stay and apologise for any confusion regarding the WiFi. We do provide free unlimited WiFi in all our superior rooms. Otherwise there is an option of 250MB free WiFi per stay in our standard rooms. Every attempt is made to ensure this information is highlighted on all booking sites (including our own) to avoid misunderstanding. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Best Regards, Penny Clark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2014

Stayed in a lake view room for one night. Loved the view and found the room to be clean, spacious and comfortable. The shower was average, it did the job. When we arrived, there was parking space outside our room but we went into town and returned later in the evening and there was cars everywhere and no space to park close to our room. Other than that, had an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NiamhH2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goldridgeresort, General Manager at Holiday Inn Queenstown Frankton Road, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2014

Dear Goldridge Guest, Thank you for this warm review. I’m glad to hear that you found your room comfortable and enjoyed your stay at the Goldridge. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Best Regards, Penny Clark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

Honestly this motel felt more like a hostel. Have stayed in many youth hostels which are much nicer. Room was relatively clean but felt dated. Walls were very thin and could hear everything in the room next door. Think the mattress on the bed was from the 1960's - been a long time since I've slept on a bed you can feel the springs through. On a positive note there was a nice view of the lake and a track you could walk into town in about 45 mins. The hotel also offered a free shuttle service each hour if you wanted.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank summerdreams365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goldridgeresort, General Manager at Holiday Inn Queenstown Frankton Road, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2014

Dear Goldridge Guest, we appreciate your feedback about your recent stay. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the view, the Frankton track is one of the most popular tracks in Queenstown. The property does still have some rooms that need a makeover. This an ongoing project which we do in the quieter months of May and June. This means we are awaiting some more new beds and linen along with heaters for the superior bathrooms. Our public areas are also about to start a revamp. All very exciting for the property, so we hope on your next visit we can meet your expectations. Best Regards, Penny Clark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2014

The location was convenient for getting to the city and the airport. We got a last minute deal online but I still feel like we paid too much. The room was dated and cheaply built, and the bathroom terrible. Our bed was quite springy and uncomfortable. We had a room overlooking the tennis courts which was fine except the walls did not provide much sound barrier for the kids playing outside at eight am. Parking is also very limited and most people in our section put their cars along the driveway in any way that could fit.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MRC-WJF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goldridgeresort, General Manager at Holiday Inn Queenstown Frankton Road, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2014

Dear Goldridge Guest, Thank you for your time to post this review. YES we agree the bathroom could be so much better so we are pulling it out this month and replacing it with a new one.It is a little quieter in Queenstown at the moment and an ideal time to fix a problem area. So in future our budget rooms will have new bathrooms so we appreciate your bringing this to our attention. Best Regards, Penny Clark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

The room and location was ok, but one thing i was really unhappy is I didn't get my room served, which I asked for it. No one came to clean my room, no clean towels. Receptionist don't care customer's complains!!!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RuiRay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goldridgeresort, General Manager at Holiday Inn Queenstown Frankton Road, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

Dear Goldridge Guest, Thank you for taking your time to offer feedback about your recent stay at the Goldridge. I'm very sorry to hear of your room service experience. I can assure that this was not up to our usual standards. I will be following up with our housekeeping staff to ensure they cannot miss a room in the course of their duties, to ensure it does not happen again. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. Kind Regards, Penny Clark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Stayed at the Goldridge Resort on our last night in Queenstown coming from Dunedin before heading back home (to Australia). We stayed in a double room which had one double bed, and two single beds. This was good enough for a family of two adults and two children. The room was clean but the bathroom was a bit tired. The room had a good view of the Lake Wakatipu. We arrived at 11:30pm and service from the reception was good. There was also free wifi of 250MB per two users but you can ask for more wifi if you need to. The hotel is not very close to the CBD but it is close enough to the airport.

Room Tip: Rooms on the lakeside are good enough.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kapresto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goldridgeresort, General Manager at Holiday Inn Queenstown Frankton Road, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2014

Dear Goldridge Guest, Thank you for your time to post this review. I'm glad to hear you had a comfortable stay. We operate a 24 hr reception service which gives our guests opportunities to arrive late when catching a plane the next day. Our resort is 4k's from the International Airport and also 4k's from the town centre with a complimentary shuttle service to town in the morning and evening. We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you back at the Goldridge next time you are in town. Best Regards, Penny Clark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
3.1 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#26 of 59 in Queenstown
1,469 reviews
2.3 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites Queenstown Remarkables Park
0.1 mi away
Sherwood Queenstown
Sherwood Queenstown
#35 of 59 in Queenstown
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Swiss-Belsuites Pounamu Queenstown
1.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown
1.8 mi away
Heartland Hotel Queenstown
Heartland Hotel Queenstown
#36 of 59 in Queenstown
650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Queenstown Frankton Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Queenstown Frankton Road

Address: 594 Frankton Road, Queenstown 9348, New Zealand (Formerly Goldridge Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Family Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range: $116 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Queenstown Frankton Road 3.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Goldridge Resort is a beautiful spacious 75 room property with restaurant and bar that welcomes you to enjoy the ultimate Queenstown experience. Located on a prime 5.5 acre ridge, looking over Lake Wakatipu with views of the Remarkable Mountains, just minutes from the airport and 4kms into town, it’s an ideal location for your southern experience and the perfect base from which to explore the essence of our beautiful alpine resort ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Queenstown Frankton Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Goldridge Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing