We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than Expected”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Queenstown Frankton Road
Ranked #44 of 57 Hotels in Queenstown
Reviewed February 26, 2014

My partner and I spent 4 nights here in a lakeview room, it was absolutely amazing. Bedroom was spacious & clean with an amazing view to wake up to. We rented a car for the duration of our stay so it was nice getting in and out of town, only a 5 minute drive. Goldridge had everything required, prompt room services, spa & sauna as well as buffet breakfast. Great customer service from all staff members. We were able to use the dvd player with a range of dvds to chose from if we wanted a night in. Will definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ASMA1508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goldridgeresort, General Manager at Holiday Inn Queenstown Frankton Road, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

Dear Goldridge guest, thank you very much for this great review. Fantastic to see that you enjoyed your stay at the Goldridge. We look forward to seeing you in the future. Best Regards, Penny Clark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (403)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Queenstown Frankton Road
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

241 - 247 of 403 reviews

Reviewed February 23, 2014

The hotel is clean and offers a spectacular view of the lake and mountains. We had a car otherwise I would be concerned about getting to the city center on foot. It's not too far but the road is busy. I'd suggest you order a room in advance, hard to get a deal close to weekends when even the most expensive rooms are taken. Price ranges 100-130 US.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarinaWorldTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goldridgeresort, General Manager at Holiday Inn Queenstown Frankton Road, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

Thank you Marina for posting this warm review. Great to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Goldridge Resort. We do have a complimentary shuttle vehicle that takes you to town in the morning and early evenings and also picks you up when pre-arranged. It’s a great service if you combine it with a one way walk along the walking track beside Lake Wakatipu, with lovely spots to sit and enjoy breathtaking views of the lake and the Remarkables mountain range. Best Regards, Penny Clark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Upon arriving at our accommodation we were welcomed with a smile and found the Receptionist very friendly and helpful. Nice rooms and a great view. I would recommend staying again in the not so distant future.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goldridgeresort, General Manager at Holiday Inn Queenstown Frankton Road, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

Thank you Amy for this positive response to the resort's facilities and services. We look forward to seeing you in the future. Best Regards, Penny Clark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014

Between Queenstown and Frankton so unless you are on a coach trip a car is essential. Good rates and the rooms were fine. Clean and tidy and helpful staff. They have a tennis court and a nice indoor spa pool . We also found the room rates very reasonable for this time of year.

Room Tip: The lake view rooms have the better aspect. The views to the Remarkables are captivating. Our room o...
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goldridgeresort, General Manager at Holiday Inn Queenstown Frankton Road, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014

Thank you Martin for this positive review. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Goldridge. It is great to be able to share this with the team. We hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards, Penny Clark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014

PROS
* Friendly staff
* Get a lake view room - it's stunning
* Outside of town so away from all the backpacker idiots
* Clean and modern

CONS
* We were kept awake by the loud Koreans in the next room - while we were there large tour groups in coaches came and stayed, which tended to ruin the ambience.
* You need a car to get into town - a problem if you plan to enjoy some of the local pinot / sav blanc. There is a free courtesy shuttle that runs until 9pm.. this sounds late but in QT it's still light till after 10pm. We got a local bus from outside the hotel, which meant a 30min wait. Taxis to the hotel from town are $18.
* The bed kinda sagged in the middle

Room Tip: Without a room facing the lake this place would not be worth staying at.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kinablu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goldridgeresort, General Manager at Holiday Inn Queenstown Frankton Road, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Dear Goldridge guest, thank you for choosing to stay at the Goldridge resort and for your feedback. We do have a great view but sometimes guests stay in the courtyard rooms because they want a budget priced room, are only staying one night and are literally just sleeping and moving on. We are close to the airport and for an early flight this is excellent value. Connectabus give a great service running from 7am every 15 minutes until 8.00pm when they revert to every 30 minutes until 11.00pm. Our reception are happy to offer a timetable so you can minimise your wait if it is after our shuttle service has finished. Thanks for telling us about the bed we are waiting on some new ones coming so we will be fixing that problem very shortly. Best Regards, Penny Clark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

my friends and i stayed there for 5nights -our biggest mistake in whole NZ trip. Firstly, we were served by very unfriendly receptionist who gave us no smile at all (coz we are Asians????). there was Very LIMITED car spaces so most of the cars were parked along the sides of the road. The room was very small and the bathroom was hideous. Only shower curtain between the shower and the toilet.
we had so many troubles with the room and I even still remember what room number was.
My friend got scratches over her arms after sleeping 1 night. came out that there was a sharp spring came out from the mattress. the boys came and just put a blanket over the top for temporally (for extra 4 nights???) also her bed was placed on the uneven surface/carpet and terrible odour kept coming from the carpet between the bathroom door and her bed, so we had to put thick extra blanket on the floor. One of the light bulb in the bathroom also got burned out. A boy came in with 5 different bulbs but non of them worked so he told us that he will come back with the right one as he needs to buy one. we had to leave so told him to lock the door. When we came back, the room was locked but nothing was done. no new light bulb. same mess as it was before. he never come back. we let the receptionist again but nothing happened until we checked out. We had to use a microwave once and as our room didn't have any kitchenette, we asked the receptionist if there is anywhere we can heat up our food and the answer we got was just one word. "NO".
Unfortunately it was the busiest time of the year so they couldn't change the room. But None of the problems was solved properly in 6days and we were so disappointed with the customer service and performance.
it nearly ruined our NZ trip.
P.S: Free WiFi means only 30mins per day. after that u have to pay $3 per an hour or sth like that.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank annajhlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goldridgeresort, General Manager at Holiday Inn Queenstown Frankton Road, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Dear Anna,
Thank you for taking time to offer feedback about your recent stay at the Goldridge Resort. I am sorry that your experience was not up to our usual standards. I will be following up with all staff to ensure this does not happen again. Kind Regards, Penny Clark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is not in downtown however if you have a car that's a good place to stay. Rooms with lake view are amazing. Don't save 20 dollars and book one or upgrade yours. Despite of rather negative reviews about room condition I found my room quite tidy and well equipped. Also the room was absolutely clean.

Stayed: January 2014
Thank Mishataratysha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goldridgeresort, General Manager at Holiday Inn Queenstown Frankton Road, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Dear Goldridge Guest, Thank you for taking the time to comment on our superior rooms after your recent stay with us. Our superior rooms offer breath taking views and you can relax out in the garden or from your own balcony. Along with our breakfast special package you can enjoy our superior rooms having full breakfast for 2, a great value add for our guests. This package is available on our website. We hope to welcome you back to the Goldridge Resort in the future. Kind Regards, Penny Clark.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
3.1 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#27 of 57 in Queenstown
1,427 reviews
2.3 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites Queenstown Remarkables Park
0.1 mi away
Sherwood Queenstown
Sherwood Queenstown
#39 of 57 in Queenstown
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown
0.8 mi away
Oaks Shores
Oaks Shores
#38 of 57 in Queenstown
803 reviews
1.6 mi away
Copthorne Hotel & Apartments Queenstown Lakeview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Queenstown Frankton Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Queenstown Frankton Road

Address: 594 Frankton Road, Queenstown 9348, New Zealand (Formerly Goldridge Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range: $101 - $231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Queenstown Frankton Road 3.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Goldridge Resort is a beautiful spacious 75 room property with restaurant and bar that welcomes you to enjoy the ultimate Queenstown experience. Located on a prime 5.5 acre ridge, looking over Lake Wakatipu with views of the Remarkable Mountains, just minutes from the airport and 4kms into town, it’s an ideal location for your southern experience and the perfect base from which to explore the essence of our beautiful alpine resort ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, IHG, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Queenstown Frankton Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Goldridge Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing