We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“quiet accommodation nr Queenstown”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Queenstown Frankton Road
Ranked #43 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Reviewed December 19, 2013

Good accommodation, good breakfast selection, ideal location for touring around the area being between Queenstown and the airport at Frankton. Frequent local bus service with stop nearby. Staff friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank valmalcornish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goldridgeresort, General Manager at Holiday Inn Queenstown Frankton Road, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2013

Dear Valued Nelson Guest, thank you very much for your positive feedback. Guests are welcome to use our complimentary shuttle service, but the bus stop is located only a few hundred meters from our resort, so it gives another transport option to town. Glad to see that you enjoyed your room and resort facilities. Hope to see you again soon! Best Regards. Penny Clark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (406)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

251 - 257 of 406 reviews

Reviewed November 6, 2013

If you're looking for a stopover that's close to the airport as well as to the city centre, then this place is probably a good compromise. The decor is a bit dated and the room is quite small, but the lake view is pretty nice. Quite clean and not noisy even though the resort is quite close to the road. Wifi is not that great, though: each person is limited to 30 minutes which has to be used at one go. If you're staying longer in Queenstown and want to relax in a cosy room, then perhaps you should consider elsewhere.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank a_scot_irish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goldridgeresort, General Manager at Holiday Inn Queenstown Frankton Road, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2013

Dear Valued Singapore Guest,
Goldridge is 4k’s from the airport and 4K’s from the town centre with a shuttle service to town in the morning and evening that is complimentary.
Our Wi-Fi connections are free for 30mins on each appliance each 24hrs and you can log on and off each day until you have used up the thirty minutes. Sorry to hear there was a misunderstanding. Our guests are enjoying our Wi-Fi so much we are going to have 30 of our superior rooms with free Wi-Fi in the very near future. Trusting you enjoyed the remainder of your stay in New Zealand. Kind regards Penny Clark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

The room we had great views over Lake Wakatipu and lots of space. The decor was a little dated in the sleeping area but it didn't bother us - the bathroom was lovely. We paid, 100NZ$ and we were very happy.

We arrived after a day of kayaking so were very happy to hear that their was a spa onsite. It lived up to expectations with a wonderful spa/sauna facilities.

Reception staff were very helpful and left the laundry open for us later than advertised so we could go for dinner and collect our drying later on in the evening.

Would stay again for sure.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Becksm1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goldridgeresort, General Manager at Holiday Inn Queenstown Frankton Road, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,
We are very lucky we have great views overlooking Lake Wakatipu and the Remarkable Mountain range. Well done for taking advantage of our hot spa and sauna after a day’s kayaking, a lovely warm way to finish the day! We look forward to welcoming you back when you have the opportunity to come this way again. Best Regards Penny Clark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Queenstown seemed to offer plentiful accommodation at very reasonable prices but the Goldridge Resort – effectively an hotel – was specially recommended to us. The room shown to us had super views over Lake Wakatipu and ample space. The furniture and decor was dated (especially the bathroom) and a little worn but was acceptable. The bar and dining room also offered a comfortable ambience and 180° views over the Lake. At the price we paid, 120NZ$ we were very satisfied. Unfortunately, the breakfast staff were conspicuous by their absence…..no-one appeared for about 30 minutes whilst salvers were gradually emptied; they were there (somewhere) but chose not to serve their customers! A real let-down for the hotel. Reception staff though were very helpful on both arrival and departure.

Room Tip: Rooms are of a good size with great views just dated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JandJFarnhamCommon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goldridgeresort, General Manager at Holiday Inn Queenstown Frankton Road, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Dear top contributor. We love our 180 degree views of Lake Wakatipu and the Remarkable Mountains. Our team work hard to keep the hotel clean and we update at every opportunity with 15 rooms just getting new curtains yesterday. We are busy refurbishing bed linen in 20 rooms in the coming month. We also pride ourselves on our friendly efficient staff that appear to have deserted the front line on Saturday. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. Penny Clark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

The best part of this hotel is the view! It is simply amazing - looking out over the lake and mountains was like a postcard. The room was simple, clean and comfortable. Really enjoyed the spa and sauna facilities - great after a day skiing. The location made it very handy to town. It is also great value for money compared to other hotels in Queenstown - we would return here and recommend it to others. We really enjoyed our stay :-)

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a lake view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joc186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goldridgeresort, General Manager at Holiday Inn Queenstown Frankton Road, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Dear Valued Guest, we are pleased you enjoyed the mountain sparkle dust we sprinkle most mornings before you pull those new curtains back. Watching the TV in the spa is also a great pass time when you have a relaxing moment after an exhilarating day in Queenstown. We look forward to welcoming you back. Penny Clark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

On the road out of town but only 5 minute drive to Queenstown. Bit hard to find due to lack of signs but this was normal in New Zealand . Large well equipped rooms but limited parking as it a bus tour hotel. Had dinner there both nights & the meal was the special of the night good food and service at reasonable pricing. Staff found a coffee plunger for us as we are both coffee drinkers and had ground coffee with us. Laundry and Wi Fi on site.Best Rooms are at the back no view but no road noise either. Would stay there again.Staff were very good.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rogergary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goldridgeresort, General Manager at Holiday Inn Queenstown Frankton Road, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Thank you Roger for this positive response. Finding us from town is certainly challenging and one needs to start looking for signage at 3.5 km and the road Goldfield Heights. Our parking facilities enable coach drivers to park coaches and stay with us themselves. We are not really designed to cope with lots of groups. Great to see our staff accommodated your need for a caffeine fix. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to New Zealand.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We stayed here two nights and had a lovely big room with a great view over the lake. It was a bit hard to find initially as the sign is on a hill around a bend, and it's not near the centre of Queenstown but they do have a shuttle bus which was very handy as it saved us trying to find a carpark in town during the day. The curtains and artwork are a bit dated but the room was clean and the beds very comfortable with electric blankets (we had 2 queen sized beds in our room). The shower was nice and hot and it was good to have a towel heater in the bathroom. Overall we enjoyed our stay here. It was nice and quiet and good value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for a superior lakeview room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geev123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goldridgeresort, General Manager at Holiday Inn Queenstown Frankton Road, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post this review. The shuttle bus is very helpful to get to town and it also helps to get you back if you have had a night out! We have just ordered the fabric for the new curtains for our superior lakeview rooms which will replace our 1994 versions!! Our housekeeping team is doing a great job. We are pleased you appreciated the cleanliness. Hope you get a chance to come back and visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
3.1 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#27 of 58 in Queenstown
1,437 reviews
2.3 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites Queenstown Remarkables Park
1.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sherwood Queenstown
Sherwood Queenstown
#35 of 58 in Queenstown
277 reviews
0.8 mi away
Oaks Shores
Oaks Shores
#37 of 58 in Queenstown
813 reviews
1.6 mi away
Copthorne Hotel & Apartments Queenstown Lakeview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Queenstown Frankton Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Queenstown Frankton Road

Address: 594 Frankton Road, Queenstown 9348, New Zealand (Formerly Goldridge Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range: $105 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Queenstown Frankton Road 3.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Goldridge Resort is a beautiful spacious 75 room property with restaurant and bar that welcomes you to enjoy the ultimate Queenstown experience. Located on a prime 5.5 acre ridge, looking over Lake Wakatipu with views of the Remarkable Mountains, just minutes from the airport and 4kms into town, it’s an ideal location for your southern experience and the perfect base from which to explore the essence of our beautiful alpine resort ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, IHG, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Queenstown Frankton Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Goldridge Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing