We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean and comfy, value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Queenstown Frankton Road
Ranked #44 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Clean and comfy, value for money”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We got the lake view double room. Has a beautiful outlook of the lake and the snow capped mountains. The room was VERY CLEAN. The sheets were crisp and like brand new. The room was cleaned daily. They even tidied up some of our stuff that was on the floor. We got the accommodation on special with breakfast included. Breakfast was yummy. Good selection. (4 types cereals, fruit, preserves, usual bacon, eggs, hash brown, sausages, croissants etc..) Staff were attentive, helpful and friendly. They have a spa bath which we didn't end up using but staff told us that it was available anyway if we want it. There is a tennis court which we did use. Upon indicating to the staff that we wanted to play tennis, they set up the net immediately and provided us with rackets and stuff. Hard to fault the place. We booked our ticket online and the conditions indicated that you cannot change booking but as our schedule changed suddenly, we rung them and requested for the dates to be moved earlier and they readily changed it for us. No dramas. No extra cost. For a budget price, i think we got a really good deal. The only thing that I picked up when we were staying there was that the radio alarm clock wasn't working but since we requested a wake up call it didn't really pose a problem to us and the bathroom door was hard to shut. It's also a bit far from the city centre but we weren't too bothered about it as it only took about 5-10 mins drive. If you want to go drinking in town though, might be inconvenient as will be needing a taxi. That's it. Overall it was a positive experience. We would be staying here again. definitely.

Room Tip: rooms on upper floor with balcony. corner room away from stairs. -- just specify preference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cin262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    156
    81
    31
    15
See reviews for
72
183
24
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Had a lovely couple of nights in Queenstown staying a Goldridge resort. Room was clean, serviced every day. Breakfast more than adequate with lovely views of the lake. Room had super view of the lake so very happy with the special deal. It's location half way between Frankton and Queenstown was made easier with public bus, cost of $6 return into town. Hotel shuttle doesn't run all day so not so convenient after 11am in the morning.

Room Tip: Get a lake view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JesKay62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

while it may not be the most strategically located to the city centre, Goldridge resort compensates that with awesome services, friendly staffs who're ever willing to help and attend to your queries, a great view from the room (especially if you get the lake view rooms) and definitely cozy and clean rooms that would definitely make your stay enjoyable. stayed here for 3d2n while travelling to queenstown with my brother and thoroughly enjoyed our short stay in this resort - got the lake view room at an offer too! fret not about getting around, the resort provides a shuttle and even if you don't drive, public buses are available (almost) at quite regular timings (bus stops could be easily found just in front of and across the resort). highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miss-hund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

The interior of the room is fairly old and lacks the up to date look and gadgets. However it is extremely warm, clean and the view is amazing. The breakfast is very good for the special deal that we paid. Nothing flash but everything is provided - cooked breakfast, continental, good selection of tea. The counter staff are friendly and helpful. There are also plenty of partings. It's about 5 minutes drive into town or a good scenic walk ( not recommended when its icy as the resort is on a hill and walking down the main road can be a bit of a mission on iced pavement.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bluegreenred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DUBBO
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

The Goldridge is outstanding value for money at one of New Zealands amazing places - Queenstown.

The family rooms are large enough for a group of 6. Easy access into town or Frankton. The staff are very friendly and always willing to help, book tours.

We are already booked to go back in 2014.

Room Tip: You will be spoily for views. The family rooms are great for groups.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anthonyo1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 8, 2013

It was my second stay here, and I specifically requested an upstairs corner superior lakeview room. Upstairs rooms have a balcony with superb views, and are very quiet. The staff are very friendly, and eager to help. Breakfast was included in our stay and was a never ending full cooked breakfast buffet. We ordered room service and the food was delivered promptly, steaming hot and tasty! The room is a good size, with 2 queen beds but a little soft for my liking. The hotel is a little out of town, further out than walking distance, but there is a shuttle available in the evenings if needed and ample free car parking. I think the views make it worth staying here!

Room Tip: Ask for an upstairs superior lakeside view room, they have a balcony with the best views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auckland
Level Contributor
92 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Rooms very tidy nice view from lakeside room great value accommodation included full breakfast staff very helpful and friendly made you feel very much at home sat by the fire watched telly and had a nice . Nice meal at dinner . It is a little out of town so need transport but away from the crowds in town so quite nice

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank PUMPKIIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
2.3 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites Queenstown Remarkables Park
3.1 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#27 of 58 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,352 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sherwood Queenstown
Sherwood Queenstown
#39 of 58 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#20 of 58 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,072 reviews
1.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown
1.5 mi away
Pounamu Apartments
Pounamu Apartments
#11 of 58 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Queenstown Frankton Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Queenstown Frankton Road

Property: Holiday Inn Queenstown Frankton Road
Address: 594 Frankton Road, Queenstown 9348, New Zealand (Formerly Goldridge Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Queenstown Frankton Road 3.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Goldridge Resort is a beautiful spacious 75 room property with restaurant and bar that welcomes you to enjoy the ultimate Queenstown experience. Located on a prime 5.5 acre ridge, looking over Lake Wakatipu with views of the Remarkable Mountains, just minutes from the airport and 4kms into town, it’s an ideal location for your southern experience and the perfect base from which to explore the essence of our beautiful alpine resort ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Queenstown Frankton Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Goldridge Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing